Chevron Left
返回到 Global Financial Markets and Instruments

學生對 莱斯大学 提供的 Global Financial Markets and Instruments 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,916 個評分

課程概述

Get a running start in the high-stakes world of financial investment! This first course is designed to help you become an informed investor by providing you with the essential concepts for long-term success in managing money. You’ll start by learning the role of financial markets and financial assets in a well-functioning economy. From there, you’ll learn about the wide range of financial instruments available in major asset classes, their features and valuations. You’ll explore how financial markets actually operate in the real world, focusing on how and where securities are traded and how various market types differ from one another in practice. You will also learn the basics of algorithmic trading, dark pools, buying on margin and short selling. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: • List and distinguish the different financial instruments available to an investor • Compare global financial markets • Explain the features of equity, debt, and derivative instruments • Define traditional and alternative asset classes • Discuss different trading venues and mechanics of securities trading • Discuss the current trends affecting today’s financial markets This course is designed to be accessible for students of all knowledge levels and gives you the actionable foundation needed to manage money in a post-crisis world. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction & Review of Elementary Finance Tools This module introduces the Investment and Portfolio Management Specialization, which is made up of four courses. This module discusses how the first course, Global Financial Markets and Assets, is organized. It outlines the different stages of the investment management process, which guides the focus of the Specialization. It also reviews basic finance concepts and tools such as time value of money, computing returns, discounting and compounding. Topics covered include: • Familiarize with the organization of the class • Meet the professor and your peers • Explain the investment management process • Review elementary concepts in finance • Compute present value or future value of a single cash flow • Compute present value of future value of a stream of cash flows • Define an annuity or perpetuity • Apply time value of money tools to solve basic mortgage, loan or retirement problems ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Financial system & financial assets: fixed income securities In this and the next two modules, we cover the key institutional features of financial markets and instruments. We ask the following questions: Why do financial markets exist? What role do they play? What are financial assets and how are they different than real assets? How does it all come together? Basically, this is where I hope you will get to see the big picture of the entire financial system and how it comes together. Module 2 focuses on fixed income securities. We'll get started with a review of basics of bond valuation. You will learn about short-term money market instruments, U.S. Treasury securities as well as corporate bonds. After module 2, you will be able to describe fixed income securities, be familiar with their institutional features, and identify their cash flows. Finally, you will learn how to value fixed income securities such as Treasury bills, zero-coupon or coupon-bonds and compute yields. Topics covered include: • Explain the roles of financial markets • Distinguish between real and financial assets • Define and explain money market instruments, zero-coupon and coupon- bonds and features • Identify the cash flows associated with fixed-income securities • Define and explain bond market features • List the different types of Treasury securities and explain pricing and quoting conventions • List and define other long-term debt instruments such as corporate bonds, mortgage-backed securities, sovereign debt • Find the value of a zero-coupon or coupon-bonds ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Financial system & financial assets: equity securities and derivatives In Module 3, we continue our overview of financial markets and instruments. We next focus on two other major asset classes: equity securities and derivative instruments. You will learn about how equity differs from fixed income securities, the cash flows associated with stock and preferred stock and how to find the value of a share. You will also learn about option strategies. After completing module 3, you will be able to describe all major asset classes, including derivative instruments such as options, forwards and futures. You will be able to explain how these differ from each other and their payoffs. Topics covered include: • Distinguish between equities and fixed income securities • Define and explain the features of equity securities • Identify the cash flows associated with equity securities • Explain dividend discount model • Find the value of a share of common stock or preferred stock • Define and list different types of derivative securities • Explain option payoffs • Distinguish between a forward and futures contract • Explain forward and futures payoffs • Identify traditional and alternative asset classes ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Organization of financial markets and securities trading In this module, we discuss how financial markets actually work. We will talk about different trading venues and the mechanics of securities trading. I will emphasize a lot of terminology and the latest trends in securities trading to familiarize you with the institutional workings of financial markets. After this module, you will be able to compare different trading venues, trading mechanisms, and be able to explain different types of orders, including transactions like margin buying and short- selling; you will be familiar with the language and terminology you need in order to become an informed practitioner of investments. Topics covered include • Explain the roles of corporations, households, government, and financial intermediaries in the financial system • Explain price discovery process • Define different type of orders • Distinguish between dealer vs. auction markets; different trading platforms • Explain margin buying and short-selling transactions • Understand the current trading environment such as algorithmic or high frequency trading, dark pools etc....

熱門審閱

OY

2022年4月17日

The subject was simplified for beginners in the field of financial market instruments. Instructor explained all the details very clearly. Overall I had a very positive experience with the class

AI

2020年6月17日

Global Financial Markets and Instruments is a MUST. Excellent instruction! I truly appreciate the opportunity to receive this course from such a prestigious University - Rice University.

篩選依據:

351 - Global Financial Markets and Instruments 的 375 個評論(共 385 個)

創建者 Alice L

2022年1月7日

It does provide a brief introduction to financial instrument and industry. However, the professor was making a lot of mistakes in the presentation, and the teaching was doubtful. For example, her definition for bid and ask is contradicting from all definitions on Google, and her illustration for maintenance margin and margin call were insufficient and contradicting with the logic of the answer key to the quizzes. The quizzes were also insufficient in explaining where certain number comes from, and are likely wrong in its calculation. Practicing questions are more important than understanding the basic concepts, and such problems are frustrating and disappointing.

創建者 Benjamin B

2017年1月1日

The material was interesting, but it lacked in sufficient practice resources for the mathematical portions. Also, instructor support / feedback to student questions was lacking. I found this course adequate if it was free, but not worth $79 for the amount of resources I was given to practice what we learned. This is highlighted by the fact that the weekly quizzes didn't show you the solution when you missed a question, so you were left guessing (instructors don't respond to student discussion questions) if the videos didn't address that specific question type.

創建者 Lingfei S

2018年6月1日

It is such a disappointment for this one. Maybe it just could not fit my aim.

It teaches more about calculation instead of how to invest. I think maybe the title was wrong, it is more in finance calculation instead of investment itself, or how to become a smart investor.

And the worst part, is even for the basic calculation part, there are errors..... Finance is such an elaborate job. I could not make the balance sheet balanced if I got one little mistake during the calculation or recording process.

Basically and logically, I lost my trust for this course.

創建者 Rose C

2021年3月8日

I was looking forward to refreshing my knowledge in this finance course. It seemed like mistakes are made, and instructions are pretty confusing with repetitiveness and contradicting information. I am so sorry. I love to complete this, but this class is definitely not for me. Perhaps I am not smart enough to detect the mistakes or errors the instructor could have made. If I am smart enough, what's the point of attending this course then? I'm frustrated and disappointed.

創建者 Dmitry O

2021年1月18日

very inconsistent with ease at the end and difficult beginning of the course. lots of wasted time for formulas which never been used in real life and manual calculation. not university course for sure by knowledge. cheap: all articles by Dr O asking for subscription, not good. If its part of the course add it for free, tons of information in inet which is free.

sorry

創建者 Efi L

2020年5月15日

In my opinion, the course material can only be used as a quidance for further reading from sources and text books which you have to find because it is not an in depth course of the subject . A text book accompaning the material would be extremely helpful or even detailed handouts.

創建者 Mark K

2021年2月16日

The professor can do a better job of showing her work. She often skipped from the problem setup to the answer without solving for the respected variable first before substituting the variable for the number. Once this happened, I was lost.

創建者 Leonard S

2020年12月21日

outdated content based on 2015. professor makes calculation mistakes in videos. very difficult to follow the limited material and how it relates to the questions. video quiz questions are raised before the relevant content is presented

創建者 Alex P

2020年5月17日

While course provides a good general direction, lecture videos are full of mistakes, handout material is useless and you have to complete the missing material by searching through other online resources

創建者 Jonathan M

2021年6月11日

I​nconsitent formulas where used in the solutions. These formulas were also not explained in the lectures which intentionally does not setup the students for success for those questions in the Quizes.

創建者 Michael B

2020年5月27日

So many equations left with "you can solve that" or not fully explained. Most of the teaching was done like a classroom that you dread with writing on the chalk board and so many miscalculations.

創建者 Nathan T

2017年7月11日

Brief highlight of topics, with no proper demonstration of formulae derivation. Examples are often brief and the practice questions are often much harder than the actual examples given.

創建者 Wang J

2021年3月6日

The handwriting of the instructor is not so good. It's not easy to follow. I think it'd be better if the instructor use Powerpoint slides and avoid a alot of handwriting.

創建者 Boyi Y

2020年5月10日

Quite a few types in lectures and quiz solutions. The typos discredit the lecturer in a sense even though she is actually very knowledgable.

創建者 Peter B

2021年4月22日

Disappointed with the fact some videos have mistakes. I didn't find the notes helpful and had to use the internet to pass the tests.

創建者 Fabián V

2020年7月23日

Aprendí mucho pero no es los suficientemente claro, no están bien hechas las traducciones, y los paper están todos en ingles, mal ahí

創建者 Jean

2017年1月15日

Some calc and formulas are not clear otherwise the course allowed to have a general overview on financial instruments and trades

創建者 John B

2022年5月21日

Course does cover the basics, but has some dead links throughout the quizzes and 'handouts'. Needs to be cleaned up.

創建者 Lou V

2020年5月23日

Repeated math errors, some corrected, some not. Terrible instruction.

創建者 Himanshu P

2016年12月12日

way too many peer reviewed assignments.

創建者 Sahan G

2021年1月16日

Insufficient examples or analogies

創建者 Ethan D

2017年7月10日

I didn't enjoy the lectures

創建者 A. C V G

2022年4月6日

If you buy a course or you pay for online education, you would expect updated, correct, and well-structured content. There are several reasons why this course get's only 1 star: - There are errors in the "calculations" which have not been corrected for 4 years (many students criticized that in the notes) - There are no slides with correctly defined formulas but the lecturer writes them down with inconsistent variables and explains everything on the go instead of giving some definitions and background information - as many students wrote in the forum, I also had to look stuff up on Investopedia. - The point before makes it very hard for beginners. I have a degree in business information systems and just had to look up some correct formulas on Investopedia as it was not correctly written by the lecturer. For people who are new to finance, this will be a hard one. They have literally no idea what the lecturer is talking about (also stated in the forum). - The voice of the lecturer is just too squeaky for me and I can't listen to that for hours

Summary: I canceled the course and took another one which was way better structured, easier to follow, and way more entertaining.

創建者 Ka C S C

2021年1月14日

This course is horrible. I was expecting to acquire some finance basic skills before starting my first finance course in uni, but this has done little for me. I'm okay with the fact that no one is answering learners' questions on the discussion forum because there could be no obligation for Rice University to do so, but the content itself is absolute disappointment.

Despite her spectacular skills on writing in mirror, the lecturer jumps around concepts too quickly and I often have to find certain information on google, as these are not being covered in videos but will appear on quizzes, which is really frustrating and annoying. She probably thought she had explained the concepts well by using synonyms. For example, the slides say this is a conventional way, and she'll say 'so it's typical, it is what it is, right?'. Most of the time, she doesn't tell us what par values, market values and face values are. I get that this could be quite elementary, but as a student who haven't learnt anything about Finance, this course has done nothing -- Googling is probably more efficient and helpful than this cramped content. Hence the 1 star.

創建者 James L

2022年3月26日

T​his was intended as a refresher. It was not worth more than the time it should take someone to read this review, sadly.

I​t was taught so poorly, that I am less confident than when I began, and wonder (aloud) if Rice consider this to be a marketing or a demarketing exercise.

K​ey concepts are introduced by a teacher not only stumbling over the introduction of the concepts leading to fundamental financial equations, but presenting erroneous formulas!

I​NTRODUCED! You only have the opportunity to make a first impression once.

D​isheartening for a teacher by training to see the antithesis of the desired outcome as the initial model of these concepts.

P​articularly given that it would have been all of about an hour to "re-shoot" the episodic confusion from the lecturer.

I​ proceed with Rice quite tentatively following this course, intending to cherry pick learning tasks, effectively further diminishing the value proposition of such courses.