Chevron Left
返回到 地图和地理空间的革命

學生對 宾夕法尼亚州立大学 提供的 地图和地理空间的革命 的評價和反饋

4.7
182 個評分
64 條評論

課程概述

Learn how advances in geospatial technology and analytical methods have changed how we do everything, and discover how to make maps and analyze geographic patterns using the latest tools. The past decade has seen an explosion of new mechanisms for understanding and using location information in widely-accessible technologies. This Geospatial Revolution has resulted in the development of consumer GPS tools, interactive web maps, and location-aware mobile devices. These radical advances are making it possible for people from all walks of life to use, collect, and understand spatial information like never before. This course brings together core concepts in cartography, geographic information systems, and spatial thinking with real-world examples to provide the fundamentals necessary to engage with Geography beyond the surface-level. We will explore what makes spatial information special, how spatial data is created, how spatial analysis is conducted, and how to design maps so that they’re effective at telling the stories we wish to share. To gain experience using this knowledge, we will work with the latest mapping and analysis software to explore geographic problems....

熱門審閱

PH

Apr 28, 2020

Well organized course structure and comprehensive reading materials.\n\nI have used 30% of the knowledge I learned from this course in the past two months in my work.\n\nRecommended.

DA

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

篩選依據:

1 - 地图和地理空间的革命 的 25 個評論(共 64 個)

創建者 Kenneth B

Apr 06, 2017

I thought the course had good overall information and provided an online mapping tool using ArcGIS despite access and technical issues which I recorded in the forums. I felt getting rushed at the end of the course for the major map project and peer review and final exam all in the last week. The map project itself should be Week 3, peer review Week 4, then final exam Week 5. All students should use the same ArcGIS Online too for the final map project, instead of allowing everybody a free-for-all to use whatever map tool they wanted to including images. I was steered to be more lenient in reviewing submissions of simple PDF or image map without interactive content. This made for an awkward and rushed peer review with little time to address access or technical issues. The final map project should be standardized for all students using ArcGIS Online for an equal playing field and applied learning.

創建者 Peng H

Apr 28, 2020

Well organized course structure and comprehensive reading materials.

I have used 30% of the knowledge I learned from this course in the past two months in my work.

Recommended.

創建者 Saurav G

May 03, 2018

Great course , completely covers all the fundamentals and provides interesting insights properly. Recommended to all geospatial enthusiasts.

創建者 Chris M

Jan 05, 2018

The course itself was good and an interesting take on an element of GIS and cartography not necessarily covered in other GIS modules, sadly I must mark it down quite heavily as the final peer graded assignment is poorly constructed, Its marking guidelines have no structure at all and encourage a completely personal objective grade from the reviewers.

I have undertaken GIS courses from the University of Cali. Davis and the marking criteria are clear and concise, fair and unambiguous, giving the person studying a fair chance at a quality grade based on effort, this sadly is not the case for this course exam.

創建者 Katie B

Jun 22, 2020

This is a very nice introduction for folks who don't know anything about GIS and its applications--the course will introduce you to some of the basic terms and concepts of GIS and mapping. There are different mapping assignments each week that introduce you to different ways to engage with digital mapping. The directions that walk you through the mapping exercise are very clear. There were small discrepancies between some of the directions and the webpages because this class was created over five years ago and the host of the webpage (who is different from the instructor) has updated it since then. But, that doesn't impact what you are quizzed on. The course will also introduce you how to analyze maps, and how this field is applied in today's world. This course is great for total beginners, like I was.

創建者 David R

Mar 09, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. It was carefully structured and presented in a light-hearted way, without dumbing down. The labs were interesting and introduced this old geographer to new ways of mapping and presenting information to learners.

Will be using story making maps with my adult learners and hope to build on the experience.

Great course, great ideas, well presented. A fabulous experience and really cheered me up!

創建者 Finn

Feb 26, 2020

The best GIS courses and nicest teacher! You will receive tons of knowledge and resources for self-learning. GIS is my major and thanks to Prof.Robinson, I know more about it and I‘m inspired by him. You will also have a lot of fun here because the class are easily accepted by newcomers. I am sure that you will enjoy the humorous study atmosphere. Highly recommend it!!

創建者 Alejandro V J

Aug 24, 2020

It looks simple and easy to learn because it is simple and easy to learn. However, I still learned a lot and appreciated more what GIS and spatial analysis do for our daily life. Dr Anthony Robinson is a very good teacher and he was able to put across important, technical terms in a relatively easy manner. He was a bit funny too. Highly recommend.

創建者 Artem L

Apr 07, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and the details and fun way of interactions in the video and the great reading material. As i was engaged with another GIS course, I followed the tutorials quickly through as I was practising on the ArcGis software rather the online toolkit. It indeed helped me to develop a GIS Map part of the MIT challenge for Covid-19

創建者 Chen W

Feb 03, 2017

Love the knowledge, the humor, the inspiration. Overall, Dr. Robinson has taught us a great deal about how to make great maps, how to leverage location info (many sorts) and how to link info together to reveal interesting and insightful findings. I am very grateful I have taken the course and looking forward to being able to make use of it.

創建者 Dylan F

Feb 07, 2017

Instructor really made this course. If you want to learn about map theory and WHY maps are interesting and important, you need to check out this course. Dr. Anthony Robinson did a commendable job keeping the material compelling and the class a worthwhile venture. I can only hope he will hold more courses in the future.

創建者 Prokofev A D

Jun 13, 2020

This is just a great course. Excellent presentation of quite complex material with easy language and cool examples. I believe this course is a great opportunity to learn very useful mapping skills and learn about the current application of geospatial technologies.

創建者 Asako Y

Mar 06, 2018

An excellent introductory course that covers basic theories and concepts about mapping and engages you with a useful map creation assignment during the last week of the course. Lectures, videos, and texts and a list of resources all useful.

創建者 Ricardo G

May 31, 2017

I had some previous training on GIS, but still I have found this course interesting, enlightening on some aspects , instructive on many others and, above all, very well organized and designed for distance learning. Totally worth the time.

創建者 Nevena Y I

Oct 11, 2018

I liked this course. I gained new knowledge every week and I solidified the old ones. I recommend it to other students. I enjoyed these weeks a lot. Thank you very much for the new knowledge, it was a great course.

創建者 Gustavo E R G

May 21, 2020

Un curso muy completo para iniciar y entrar en el mundo del analisis espacial y de los SIG's. Más allá, es un curso que motiva a las personas a que se interesen en estas herramientas para los problemas del hoy.

創建者 Deleted A

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

創建者 Cody S

Feb 09, 2019

This was a great introductory class to geospatial thinking. I really like how the class is set up, the content is easy to digest and explained in an exciting manner.

創建者 NIKOLAS S R P

Feb 26, 2020

This course has shown that it's possible do so many things in the webGIS workspace. There area some free tools that can help us in simple maps.

創建者 Danny C

Jul 26, 2017

Great introduction to GIS, and geospacial concepts. I would definitely recommend it to someone trying to get a feeling for what GIS is.

創建者 Colette

Apr 02, 2019

Very interesting course and has a workable timetable with a worthwhile end project which cements the knowledge and learning.

創建者 Luayi S A G

Nov 17, 2017

Is a very important course that illustrates Geospatial RevolutionIt also shows important facts about maps

創建者 Muhammad A B

Jul 01, 2018

its change my old style work now i am working with advance way after complete this coursera.Regards

創建者 carly w

Jun 10, 2018

So amazing!! Would 100% recommend for anyone with an interest in Geography and Geospatial analysis.

創建者 wesam

Sep 21, 2017

Very good Basic course for GIS

good information, good ordering of material

I advice to enroll