Chevron Left
返回到 用于基因组数据科学的命令行工具

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 用于基因组数据科学的命令行工具 的評價和反饋

4.2
335 個評分
91 條評論

課程概述

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

熱門審閱

GG

May 11, 2017

Great course. The last exam is a little bit tricky, specially when some commands are large and confusing. But with the help of forums, you can still find the right answers.

JJ

Jun 23, 2018

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

篩選依據:

51 - 用于基因组数据科学的命令行工具 的 75 個評論(共 89 個)

創建者 Michael G

Jul 22, 2018

There could be more resources provided and the lecture at the beginning of module 4 should be placed at the beginning of the course. Because the overview of molecular biology serves as background for the entire course.

創建者 李俊宏

Mar 03, 2019

This course is reasonably difficult. The assignments are quite fulfilling and well organized by virtual machine. I hope the slides could be more detailed because it too simple.

創建者 Sara C

Oct 18, 2016

Th lecturer could be a little more engaging and the materials used during classes, if made available would help following it better, by replicating the examples being shown.

創建者 Andrew J D

Aug 27, 2018

Very informative course. Only downside is that the example datasets/scripts are not provided (which I tend to find to be useful for learning informatics).

創建者 Gonzalo C S

Feb 06, 2017

It was a useful course. A pity that the instructor makes so many mistakes when speaking, which makes sometimes a bit confusing to follow.

創建者 邵文

Jun 15, 2018

The speaker's accent and inaccurate subtitles sometimes make it difficult for me to understand.

創建者 Erik K

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent Introduction to Command Line Tools used in High Throughput Sequencing Analysis.

創建者 Vassil D

Jan 09, 2017

More in-depth explanation would be better. Reasonable projects, overall. Well structured.

創建者 Thiago C S

May 15, 2019

Some questions were way too specific and out of scope from real practice.

創建者 Geoffrey K

Apr 22, 2019

A worthy introduction to the problems facing computational biologists.

創建者 Qianhao L

May 12, 2018

Could have more tools introduced, for instance SNP calling tools.

創建者 Xing Y

Oct 02, 2018

The course is good but not "self-contained"...

創建者 Pir N A

Nov 21, 2019

I like the course too much,

創建者 普嘉杰

Feb 20, 2017

this is a useful course

創建者 Wenting W

Sep 11, 2017

Useful course.

創建者 Kasper T K

Nov 21, 2017

Great course, the instructor does a great job in introducing the students to some off the important sequencing analysis tools. Some of the lectures are although a bit bland, where the instructor reads the entire contents of a slide for format files or program options, this is sometimes quite useless as you can read that yourself by... simply reading the slides.

Forums were not always very useful, sometimes solving error messages were supported by referring to the manual page, instead of actually bothering to look through the code for providing more constructive feedback on what goes wrong in a given example.

Instead, examples should be given which elaborates on the effects on chosen different parameters - like "If you want to make a local alignment, use the bla.bla option. However, beware that when using this, more errors are prone to be assigned...bla.bla.".

For the format, interesting columns in the format files in general are interesting, when looking for e.g. "amount of unique genes" etc.

By doing this, we would be helped better into understanding questions of the quizzes, while also delivering an even deeper understanding of the formats and tools.

創建者 Onur S

Feb 20, 2018

I really struggled to complete this course. The extent of coverage of the topics is quite good, however this is a applied course and application part is lacking A LOT. The biggest drawback here is that the instructors demonstrations are not accessible to learners. This limits the learning experience so much that you get stuck even at the easiest question in a module exam. Some questions in the exams really require the learner to think and do google searches to figure out a strategy to answer the question (this is a good thing, though). However, it can be very easy to get bogged down and lose focus while figuring out what's going wrong. It is advised to visit discussion forums before taking module exams. I think you should not expect to master the presented tools after finishing the course, but you will still get a decent understanding of them

創建者 Emil C F

Feb 03, 2020

Great inclusion in the specialization. I never knew anything about shell until now and I feel like I can use a lot of things from the course in my day-to-day data treatment/processing tasks. I am only giving 3 stars because I spend about 40-50% of the time troubleshooting technical things. The CentOS Vmbox is a great idea but that hardly worked for me (it interfaced weird with OSX and I could get it to understand my keyboard layout, shared folders did not work either) and was a source of frustration. One suggestion for the course would be to help the student verify the initial data set before completing all the analyses on it ... e.g. in the reading section mention the length of the output or similar. Twice I filled out an entire exam "correctly" but had the wrong initial output. You don't learn a lot from that but it does take a long time.

創建者 Robert D

Jan 18, 2020

Overall, the content of this course is great. Much of the content I began using in my job (genomics biotechnology company) immediately - literally within 24 hours of learning. It accelerated my ability to accomplish tasks by a huge amount. I would give 5 stars just for the content, but I gave 3 because the exams are outdated and out of context. In Week 3, some of the content on the exam was not discussed in the course, and the last exam in Week 4 had many red herrings. You can figure out what you need to actually do by reading the Discussion Forum for Week 4, but the course material should be updated so that students don't waste their time on unneccessary activities.

創建者 José A C E

Aug 04, 2019

I considered this course was condiserably harder than previous courses from the Genomic Data Science specialization due to lacking instructions and exams asking about concepts not reviewed in class, for instance, soft/hard links distinctions, the use of cuffcompare, a clear distinction between mate reads and paired reads, a thorough explanation of the use of CDS vs exon in gtf files. At the other hand, the difficulty possed by this course made it satisfying.

I would really like the course team and support to consider add complementary readings in order to help the understanding of topics not intensely reviewd in the videos.

創建者 Igor L

Jul 11, 2018

Very interesting material, but presented in a very dry manner and without going into too much detail. You do have to have some background in Linux and Biochemistry of DNA and RNA, otherwise it could be very hard to understand. Also, the last test deviates somewhat from what is presented in Week 4 lecture. Be very careful and read the questions with alertness before answering them

創建者 Raymond F

Aug 14, 2017

Presentation was less lively than the others. Exercises prone to errors unrelated to the course objectives. A lot hof hints based on questions that are repeated a lot on the forum should be incorporated or stressed more in the exam instructions.

創建者 Tom S

Oct 14, 2018

The theoretical lectures are ok, but the practical ones are a bit slow. Could have been more scirpt based from the beginning. The Exams are quite different from what is explained in the lectures I think. Especially in week4.

創建者 shipra v g

Apr 09, 2017

I would prefer the lecture command line notes too in presentations or any other files in each week modules. It was difficult for me to understand her way of teaching and I felt the lectures didn't flow correctly.

創建者 Ian P

Jul 12, 2018

I would have liked a better overview of the analysis process, less on details of command line parameters. there were several errors in the slides. The assignments were tedious and not very instructive.