Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的評價和反饋

4.8
766 個評分
172 個審閱

課程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

熱門審閱

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

篩選依據:

126 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 150 個評論(共 167 個)

創建者 Johanne P

Sep 12, 2019

Excellent explanations. I felt that the concepts are well explained. The additional reading and video materials were on point. Highly recommended.

創建者 Sumanth R

Sep 14, 2019

I was surprised by both the intensity and depth of material covered in this course. At the same time I think the pace of course was manageable within the recommended hours. Looking forward to my next courses on this subject.

創建者 Pham C K

Sep 14, 2019

Very easy to follow the videos and complete the assignments.

創建者 SURYA S B

Sep 15, 2019

excellent content

創建者 Onkar I

Sep 22, 2019

Amazing course!! Prof.DeBrock is a highly experienced professor who teaches critical micoreconomics concepts in a really easy to understand and intuitive fashion.

創建者 Anthony C j

Sep 16, 2019

Loved the class!

創建者 Andrew J

Sep 18, 2019

Great class and Even better instructor

創建者 Artem A

Sep 06, 2019

Great course!

創建者 Mariano S C

Oct 04, 2019

great, to the point and fast pace

創建者 Subhadeep G

Nov 14, 2019

Very well covered session. Great course to make your Fundamentals strong.

創建者 Andras I

Nov 24, 2019

Great course! Professor DeBrock almost makes it seem too easy, very engaging and charismatic presenter. After the course I had a bit of feeling it might be missing a few things, I've read a couple of books to realise that his way is more coherent and logical. So I highly recommend it!

創建者 Joshua F

Dec 02, 2019

Very good start to my iMBA!

創建者 Nguyễn V Đ

Oct 14, 2019

ok

創建者 V.V.L.N. S

Oct 31, 2019

This is a good course. I liked it.

創建者 Vòng N L

Nov 01, 2019

Good

創建者 Phạm V T

Oct 22, 2019

Very well

創建者 Phạm T M T

Dec 04, 2019

good

創建者 Jacques P P

Dec 09, 2018

Nice warm up module for further analysis of consumer and producer behavior.

創建者 Erasmo A S R

Jan 02, 2019

Excelent!!!

創建者 John S

Feb 28, 2019

Peer review took awhile for Module #4, alittle stressful as the deadline looms. Not a infrastructure issue, even emails to individuals were barely successful, need to improve on my part to do it earlier or how to influence peer reviews.

創建者 Eric M L E

Mar 08, 2019

Very interesting material and well-delivered and understandable / accessible. Not entirely sure of it's real-world applicability just yet.

創建者 Mauricio P B

Jun 09, 2016

Very interesting course. Thanks Professor Larry DeBrock!!

創建者 Bob H

Mar 09, 2017

Really liked the peer review process.

創建者 Clare P

May 23, 2016

It is well organized.

創建者 Bruno J L A S

Jun 21, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and definitely recommend it. The instructor was great. I am removing one star because I feel that it needs a little bit more of real problem solving and a small amount more of mathematical derivations.