Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,155 個評分
515 條評論

課程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level, which requires that society develop some allocation mechanism to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based, meaning that the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market-based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. To understand this process, businesses construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and consider supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. You will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve and producer behavior as captured by the supply curve • Define equilibrium and explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium • Explain elasticity of demand • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

熱門審閱

KS
2019年9月11日

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

FP
2017年5月12日

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

篩選依據:

426 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 450 個評論(共 510 個)

創建者 Ruhim R

2020年12月19日

good

創建者 Quang T V

2020年12月13日

good

創建者 Selman S

2020年12月1日

good

創建者 Nguyen H M S

2020年10月27日

Good

創建者 KISLEW A Y H

2020年10月24日

nice

創建者 SARANYA M

2020年10月1日

Good

創建者 Tuyên L T L

2020年9月19日

Good

創建者 Ananthasagaram S

2020年7月29日

good

創建者 SIDDIQA R

2020年7月27日

Good

創建者 Maheshwari

2020年5月25日

Good

創建者 OSAMAH A Y A

2020年5月19日

good

創建者 Ngo M T

2020年3月24日

good

創建者 Phạm T M T

2019年12月3日

good

創建者 Nguyệt L V

2019年11月1日

Good

創建者 Cheihlun C Y

2019年2月9日

Good

創建者 sudindra

2017年6月12日

good

創建者 Aman K s

2021年1月30日

Na

創建者 Nguyễn V Đ

2019年10月14日

ok

創建者 Fazil M A

2019年5月10日

g

創建者 Adler J

2017年12月2日

G

創建者 Subrat G

2017年2月15日

V

創建者 Kira

2020年2月8日

Content was informative and not too difficult, but I do have a lot of Algebra, Geometry, and Calculus background. I didn't like the peer reviews as much. They are fun to do, but waiting for grades from peers gets cumbersome and you usually have to beg for reviews. On top of that, you're too subject to the peer's understanding of the content. On one of the assignments one of the peers clearly had no clue about content, didn't read the professor's criteria for grading, and graded well in the wrong. Fortunately, the lowest scores are dropped. Otherwise, I would've raked the peer over the coals with support. I personally wish they'd drop the peer-reviewed assessments, but still plan on working towards an mba. Some level of calculus required might be good too or at least a middle school refresher of slopes.

創建者 Elizabeth L

2017年8月7日

Overall, I thought the course was really well done. I thought the lectures made the material very easy to digest, both in terms of presentation and amount of time allocated to each lecture. I found the additional readings very helpful (except for McAfee). However, I found some of the assignment and quiz questions confusing, in that they did not provide enough detail about what the question was really looking for in terms of a complete answer. Otherwise, I learned a lot and plan on taking the next course in the series.

創建者 Melvin P

2017年9月26日

A good introduction of microeconomics, but I feel that the content of this course leans towards the theoretical and it didn't have any depth on the various topics (this is coming from someone who studied engineering and took some courses on finance and accounting). I must applaud Prof. Larry DeBrock to be a great lecturer. His enthusiasm and use of real world examples (even if they lacked depth) captured my attention throughout the course.

創建者 Daniel K O

2018年6月15日

Larry does a great job explaining concepts and making them relatable to every day life. The occasional "field trips" give a real world perspective on how economics plays a hand everyday in the world around us. The only issue comes in the peer reviews where you can end up on the short end of the stick and not have anyone review your assignments for the week at all.