Chevron Left
返回到 英语写作 I

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 英语写作 I 的評價和反饋

4.6
374 個評分
102 個審閱

課程概述

You will gain a foundation for college-level writing valuable for nearly any field. Students will learn how to read carefully, write effective arguments, understand the writing process, engage with others' ideas, cite accurately, and craft powerful prose. Course Learning Objectives • Summarize, analyze, question, and evaluate written and visual texts • Argue and support a position • Recognize audience and disciplinary expectations • Identify and use the stages of the writing process • Identify characteristics of effective prose • Apply proper citation practices • Discuss applying your writing knowledge to other writing occasions...

熱門審閱

JR

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

HL

Apr 13, 2017

Great experience, nonetheless, I would say that it is more about applying your writing to different contexts rather than improving it. There is some of that, but not that much.

篩選依據:

1 - 英语写作 I 的 25 個評論(共 101 個)

創建者 Jonathan I L A

Oct 11, 2018

The contents of the course are not bad, but the peer review system is an absolute failure. If you enroll into this course get ready to get absolutely no useful feedback. It is ridiculous that the course is called English composition and yet 70% of my peers were unable to speak or write english properly. I'm not an english native speaker but I consider that my english is decent enough to do my assignments properly, that's why it is so frustrating that I spent time reviewing carefully other people's texts only to get absolute crap in return either by people who can't speak english, or by english speakers that are so lazy that they can't make a little effort to give you any sort of useful feedback. So don't waste your time. You can find all the knowledge that this course offers in other sites without having to waste your time with dumb or lazy peers.

創建者 Mathew F

Dec 09, 2017

I am so very disappointed and angry with Coursera. The peer review and grading methodology must seem good as a theory but in practice, it has been an absolute fail. Add to that, the inability to have my work graded promptly - especially when it's turned in on time - but also add in the impossibility to get someone to respond to my questions or concerns. My peer reviewers seem to be unable to comprehend the basic fundamentals of the English language. It is very frustrating to receive feedback that is inaccurate with nothing objective to add. This happened not once or twice but over and over again. I've had my wife (who has several degrees and writes as a profession, along with my GED teacher, to review my work and they are baffled right along with me as to why my peers fail my work assignments. If this is the best Coursera can do - you have a failing model. My experience has taught me not to bother with purchasing a course either. This has been a HUGE waste my time and energy.

創建者 Paola B

Apr 01, 2018

Hard work and worth it! Grateful for the opportunity. Fully recommend it for anyone who is serious about learning to write clearly and improve their prose.

創建者 XiaoYan W

Nov 15, 2017

I don't recommend this course because it is not well constructed. There is obvious mismatch between what is taught and what is tested. For example, in week 5, the content is about annotated bibliography, but the assignment is a case study and the evaluation questions consist of how effective introduction and conclusion are. It confused many students.

The class offers only links to online sites on how to write a case study. There are plenty of business classes devoting the entire class on how to write a case study. How can the teacher in this introduction to writing class expect new student to write a case study without at least a lecture on what it is, what it consists of and how to write it.

Furthermore, it is only a week later (in week #6), there are lectures on introduction and conclusion. Shouldn't they been taught in week #5 if students are asked to evaluation others' works on introduction and conclusion in week #5?

There is fundamental issue (Chronology between lectures and assignments) in this class and it should be reviewed and corrected before given to the public. It is only one of the two classes I took in coursera as tests. I would say "buyers beware". Don't be fooled by the universities.

I suggest the provider to review the course material and improve quality. Because at current offering, it is below standards. It is confusing, like confused writing to readers or students.

Sincerely,

Amy

創建者 Lucia B

Jun 21, 2018

Helpful, informative, and engaging! I've always been at the top of my classes in English, but this is helping me sharpen my skills even more and apply them to my life.

創建者 Deborah S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course. I learned so much about writing and it opened up new possibilities for me. The lectures were interesting and Dr. Comer presents her information in an open and enjoyable manner. I wish there was an English Composition ll course.

創建者 noam17

Apr 07, 2018

excelente

創建者 赵洁

May 26, 2018

going through 10 weeks study, I learned a lot., this course is quite helpful. though I am major in biological science, I still learn a lot from this class, especially in other fields. thanks~

創建者 Effrosyni P

Jun 19, 2018

Interesting course, introducing writing for different purposes and encouraging participants to offer and receive valuable feedback. Challenging assignments, enchanting journey! I gave 4 instead of 5 stars because of the structure: the order of lessons, videos etc is rather inconvenient. Great pieces of advice are left for the end, after all assignments are completed (had they been put in the beginning, we might have had an opportunity to actually reap the benefits and improve our writing). Also, make sure you watch/read everything a week has to offer before you move on to the assignment (the stuff following the assignment is the most important).

創建者 Al-Da

Nov 25, 2018

This course was amazing! It taught me how to write assignments, how to peer-asses, how to write in academic style, how to cite, and taught me about all citation schools. It was fun, challenging and a great experience. I was able to discover my abilities in writing, which I was very unsure about. It provided me with all that I need, to start my first college year full with confident.

The tutor was very well-acknowledged, and she was so nice.

Thank you Denise Comer, and I hope that you would make another course, about another aspect of writing.

創建者 Viet T

Mar 20, 2019

So great, thanks so much.

創建者 Ada Y G R

Apr 07, 2019

This course is a marvelous and resourceful tool to improve writing skills! :)

創建者 Michelle H

Apr 08, 2019

Great Course!

創建者 JimmyChan

Mar 17, 2019

Amazing course, it makes me more active to write essay.

創建者 Xiaoyun Y

Mar 10, 2019

I love the way Dr. Comer is presenting. It is warm and full of knowledge. This is a course fundamental for all of the college students and I have learned a lot about English writing thourgh it. It seems to me like I were still in college. Thank you Dr.!

創建者 Esequias F d S

Mar 11, 2019

Very important course

創建者 Mustapha E A

Oct 04, 2018

It's really an academic course, I do enjoy on the course ☺☺☺☺☺

創建者 Linta M

Nov 20, 2018

I really liked this course. It was very beneficial for my academic writing.

創建者 Nataliia

Feb 09, 2017

Amazing course with lots of tips

創建者 Douglas A F

Nov 22, 2016

Although it is supposed to be a basic course, it deals with fundamental topics that everyone should be aware during the writing process. It helped me a lot, mainly in what concerns with revising the work and making drafts

創建者 Hugo E G L

Apr 13, 2017

Great experience, nonetheless, I would say that it is more about applying your writing to different contexts rather than improving it. There is some of that, but not that much.

創建者 ayala s

Aug 26, 2016

great teachers! great lessons! I just hope to get feedback :)

創建者 yungtien h

Sep 23, 2016

我覺得老師教得很好 但是我太久沒有學英文課了 英文單字恐怕自己寫不出來 :) :) :) 絕對無法交作業 先旁聽看看 會覺得很恐怖

創建者 Paulo D T

Jan 20, 2017

Very nice!

創建者 Shikhar S

Jun 26, 2018

One of the best of its clan. Thanks Coursera for providing this.