Chevron Left
返回到 Electric Industry Operations and Markets

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Electric Industry Operations and Markets 的評價和反饋

4.8
735 個評分
192 條評論

課程概述

This is a two week course. In the first week you will learn about the core activities that the Industry executes to bring electricity to customers. We will review what electricity is, how it is generated, how it is transmitted, how it comes into buildings, and how consumption of electricity instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. You will learn to: Define what electricity is; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; Describe how electricity is generated, transmitted and distributed; and Summarize how the consumption of electric energy instantly feeds back on the transmission and generation of electricity. In the second week, the course shifts to the markets that drive Electric Industry operations. You will learn about the various costs of the electric industry’s core activities, how electricity is priced, the various ways that electric markets are structured, how these market structures determine which power plants are dispatched to produce electricity when, and how recent changes in generator fuel prices, generation technology, market regulations, and environmental regulations are transforming both Electric Industry Markets and Operations. You will learn to: Describe the main cost components to the electric system; Compare the costs of different types of power plants; Interpret the retail pricing of electricity; Explain the different types of electric markets and understand how they operate to dispatch electric supply to meet demand in real time; and Explain why and how the electric industry is regulated....

熱門審閱

DJ
2020年8月10日

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

SL
2020年5月5日

Great course with a superb faculty. Learnt a lot about the industry and market regulations of electricity.\n\nWould really recommend this course to all who are interested in electric industry.

篩選依據:

1 - Electric Industry Operations and Markets 的 25 個評論(共 188 個)

創建者 Alex T S

2017年12月11日

A lot of the content in the week 2 lessons is subjective and is only relevant to the United States. Although it is useful information it does not have any benefit for a person who isn't in the US.

創建者 Hugh M

2018年7月10日

The professor really has put thought into his course structure - it pays off as a student. He goes through everything from a to z in this space in a logical fashion, answering a lot of unanswered questions I have.

創建者 LABOUÉ P

2020年4月25日

Excellent course, clear, interesting and providing a very good overview of the Electric Industry Operations and Markets. Very useful for people willing to work in this sector and those curious to know more about it.

創建者 Cody N

2017年7月23日

Fantastic class! I was impressed by the high quality of peer-graded submissions, and I believe the instructors/course creators deserve a lot of credit for that outcome.

創建者 Amin A M

2020年4月22日

One of the best introductory courses to the electricity supply industry, and I have been through quite a few! Gives you the technical bits without being unnecessarily complex and gives a concise overview of markets.

創建者 Maureen M

2019年9月20日

This course does a great job of touching all relevant topics in the industry. It is very easy to comprehend for people who have little to no experience.

創建者 Chee Y N

2020年6月7日

The course material is good. and I enjoyed it However, I found that way too many people were cheating in the peer review assignment of this course. For example, my own assignment was downloaded by another student, and submitted it as his own. I hope coursera take plagiarism seriously.

創建者 Daniel P

2020年4月20日

The course is very complete for those who are starting in this environment. A more in-depth course would be fine, leaving the electrical foundations aside and focusing on economic dispatch and the operation of the electrical market with examples.

創建者 Alexis A B M

2020年1月8日

Excelente curso, muy buena introducción a la operación y manejo de los diferentes tipos de mercados eléctricos de los EEUU, pero los fundamentos sirven para comprender cualquier tipo de los que se manejan a nivel mundial.

創建者 Daniel J

2020年8月11日

Content was easy to follow and digest - it was a good refresher course for me as I've been in the industry for some time, but within the IT discipline. Learned some new things along the way too.

創建者 Charle M L C

2020年7月15日

Understanding the concepts of Electricity Market in its relevance and complexity made me realize how it is even more important that electricity will be delivered even to farthest hinterlands.

創建者 Asad M

2018年1月8日

This course is very helpful for me and for all those who study electric industry operations and markets. The professor explained it very well and its a one of the best course i have taken

創建者 Fahriesa I S

2020年4月12日

This course is really having a good side for my future career as i try to reach a physicist engineered application for my career, this is really recommended for everyone.

創建者 黃泓溥(Huang, H

2018年8月30日

The Course is just Amazing!! All thanks go to the instructor and the team who made it. A good reference guiding me to walk through the major topics in the industry.

創建者 Rodrigo G A M

2017年9月2日

Muy buen curso, permite conocer de manera general las operaciones de la industria eléctrica y contextualizar los distintos tipos de mercados que existen en E.E.U.U.

創建者 Asad U R

2018年11月6日

Course was an awsome experience for me, i have learnt alot about electric industry. i learnt how power generates, how it tranmits and how its distributes.

創建者 Edgar V

2017年7月24日

The course presents a broad set of topics required to have a basic understanding of the electricity market, using clear explanations and audiovisuals.

創建者 Alex G

2018年2月20日

Very good overview of the industry, and as someone working in an ESCO, still managed to fill in some gaps in my knowledge. Highly recommended!

創建者 Kevin R C

2019年2月28日

Very detailed, insightful and well designed course. I enjoyed doing this and I am thankful for the skills I gained as a result.

創建者 Meena T

2018年8月27日

This is an excellent course. However, it needs to be updated to reflect current and future market developments and regulations.

創建者 Evaggelos T

2018年8月21日

A very nice lesson I suggest to those who want to attend it will learn many new knowledge they do not know so far....

創建者 Ubaldo S

2020年4月6日

Good introductory course to the Electric sector !!! From the Physics basics to the market basics.

創建者 Po W M

2018年9月4日

A short and sweet course. I have actually learned quite a lot in the peer review assignment.

創建者 ananjan p

2020年3月6日

It was a really good course but I think that the energy scenario of the entire world could have been explained in short instead of only USA. But a very helpful course otherwise.

創建者 Abdul R S

2020年6月5日

a nice course