Chevron Left
返回到 发现 DNA 中的隐藏信息(生物信息学 I)

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 发现 DNA 中的隐藏信息(生物信息学 I) 的評價和反饋

4.4
808 個評分
187 條評論

課程概述

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

熱門審閱

JL
2018年7月29日

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

DD
2019年9月10日

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

篩選依據:

126 - 发现 DNA 中的隐藏信息(生物信息学 I) 的 150 個評論(共 182 個)

創建者 Dhivyaprakash N

2020年9月26日

It was very tough and worth attempting it because I have given many numbers of attempts in all the quizzes but at every attempt, I could rectify my mistakes.

創建者 Estefania E

2017年6月28日

A good course and introduction. Some of the computer graded homework assignments need better explanations for the desired result set, to avoid frustration.

創建者 Немытько В А

2021年2月8日

Основной курс находится на Stepik, здесь же непродолжительные лекции которые полностью повторяются и раскрываются на Stepik что немного странно.

創建者 Igor K

2017年8月18日

Very interesting lectures and practical assignments. But in my opinion the capstone project is not too interesting for "computer" people.

創建者 ALF

2020年5月1日

The course was great. I would recommend it to anyone interested. There are a few things to fix, especially on the external toolkit.

創建者 Shabnam S

2020年5月14日

Some of the Stepik material needs to be updated and put in more clear and simpler language. Otherwise, great learning curve!

創建者 ARUNESH N

2020年6月8日

The programming assignments could have been described more appropriately otherwise the course material was quite great.

創建者 Juana S L

2018年4月22日

I couldn't finish successfully last question but I don't know why. I believe I understand the meaning of the question

創建者 Cagdas U

2019年1月4日

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.

創建者 Максим

2017年3月6日

Есть недоработки, но вместе с комментариями других учащихся, можно разобраться в сути заданий

創建者 Nghia L

2020年8月15日

Some parts are written in a way that is very hard to understand, but overall good course

創建者 TeriLynn S

2018年7月9日

The two platform format is quite complex. But the material is excellent!

創建者 Jack C

2020年1月5日

The course was very informative, but at points it was very confusing.

創建者 Aditya B

2016年8月5日

Very well explained for both biologists and computer scientists.

創建者 정문필

2020年5月7日

Best lecture to dive into Bioinformatics first time!

創建者 Iqra A

2020年8月3日

Not made for a biologist but for a programming man.

創建者 Shiv H

2018年9月28日

Good Course but at times difficult to understand.

創建者 Nikhil Y

2020年4月19日

it was an amazing course!!

創建者 Meng Z

2019年3月4日

The course is great!

創建者 Todd T

2017年11月9日

E

創建者 Evgeny T

2017年2月9日

To be completely honest, I was expecting more from this course. One big setback is that the course material does not really go into biochemical fundamentals of what is going on, and instead jumps straight into algorithms. This might work for someone with enough background in biology who needs to learn to code. I, on the other side, have already had some exposure to software development and algorithms, but when Pavel mentions gene expression and transcription I have a very vague idea what he is talking about.

創建者 Wesley R

2020年10月11日

Course was easy to follow and the explanations made sense from the instructors about half the time. The other half, the coding sections and pseudocode would be horribly confusing. The sections about random motif finding and gibbs sampling were particularly frustrating. I would say some coding experience is necessary to do well in this course in a reasonable timeframe.

創建者 Hugo A M A

2020年6月11日

It´s too dificult. It says that this course is for beginners, and during the course they assume that we know Python or any other programming language. I passed the first week of bioinformatics 1, but I gave up with the second week. I recommend first doing the course "Biology meets programming".

創建者 Paula T I P

2020年4月19日

You need an intermediate/advanced level in programming to be able to do the honours track, if you can't do it the course is completely useless because you can only read about how to code without being able to do the coding.

創建者 Osi A

2020年4月28日

An interesting course that i would have love to study but with no computer programming knowledge, studying this course has been very difficult and not encouraging