Chevron Left
返回到 From Disease to Genes and Back

學生對 新西伯利亚国立大学(Novosibirsk State University) 提供的 From Disease to Genes and Back 的評價和反饋

4.7
212 個評分
39 條評論

課程概述

Human genetics explores the genetically determined similarities and differences between human beings. This scientific discipline encompasses a variety of related fields such as molecular genetics, genomics, population genetics and medical genetics. Study of human genetics can help to find answers to questions regarding the inheritance and development of different human phenotypes. The field of medical genetics is quickly growing and dynamically developing thanks to the new technologies such as the next-generation sequencing. Most human diseases have a genetic component. This genetic component varies by disease. Some rare diseases appear to be completely determined by the genome, whereas more common diseases arise from a complex interplay of many genes, the environment and chance. The understanding of how our genomes contribute to disease susceptibility offers the prospect of large gains: it may guide disease diagnostics and prognostics and help in developing new therapies. The overall goal of this course is to describe how the researchers find genes responsible for different diseases and how this information is used to better understand and fight these diseases. You will learn about current approaches for finding single genetic variants underlying monogenic (Mendelian) diseases and sets of variants responsible for more complex, multifactorial ones. Furthermore, you will learn how the identification of these genetic variants makes it possible to understand how the affected biological pathways lead to disease development. During the final week of the course, we will talk more about clinical applications of the genetic findings. Upon completing the course, you will be able to: - give examples of monogenic and complex disorders - recognise patterns of Mendelian inheritance of monogenic diseases; - understand and describe principles and methods of gene mapping ; - describe the main steps and principles of genome-wide association studies (GWAS); - give examples of modern technologies that are currently used to find variants underlying human diseases; - discuss the approaches to finding causative variants underlying complex disorders; - discuss the possibilities and areas of application of genetic findings....

熱門審閱

PF
2020年12月3日

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

AP
2020年6月29日

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

篩選依據:

1 - From Disease to Genes and Back 的 25 個評論(共 39 個)

創建者 Mohamed N S M E

2020年2月1日

Very informative course. It was most fruitful in week 4 about genome wide association studies (GWAS).

創建者 Farbod E L

2018年9月27日

Highly recommended!

An interesting, up-to-date course with eye-catching and well designed videos.

創建者 Dayan V

2020年4月13日

It is a complete course for specially biotechnology and genetics. Not only the medical and biological aspect is explained but also the mathematical: how to understand and calculate genetic information/data. Im about to enter to the university so I do not have any higher education, however it was actually not that difficult if you study every day!

創建者 lcy9086

2019年11月7日

this is a fairly hard course(especially for week 4) I would not suggest anyone who is not studying in this field to take it. More help and clearer illustrations are definitely needed to complete this course and understand the material

創建者 amoulay

2021年3月27日

This is an amazing course. Weeks 4 and 5 were a bit f a challenge but overall, excellent work. My only wish is that the course should have a real practical example of GWAS study to takes students through the many steps of the computational and statistical analysis. Perhaps something to think about for a future edition of the course.

創建者 Yujuan G

2018年4月3日

This course is well organised. The course materials are new. I've learnt many of the concepts in this course years ago. I feel many of my knowledge is outdated. This course is a great refreshment and add-on.

創建者 Patricia A F

2020年12月4日

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

創建者 RA H

2019年10月3日

Loved the course though I believe there´re some topics that could be explained in a better detail as in the case of population genetics and estimations of some math calculations but in general the course is really great, remarkable lecturers. Recommended.

創建者 PRACHI S O

2020年5月24日

Very Interesting subject!! All the professors explained it in a very simple way, easy to understand. Quizzes before and after session and weekly are very useful - must to attempt to understand where we are.

I strongly suggest it for Biological Science students interested in Human Genetics. Thanks a lot to all professors!!!

創建者 Чуйко Э А

2018年11月24日

Очень классный курс. Прям видны огромные старания, которые стоят за этой работой! Годнотаааа. Просто огромное спасибо авторам курса за прекрасный материал! Даже после прохождения курса будет полезным возвращаться к нему. И отдельное спасибо за огромное количество дополнительного материала! В общем 10/10, мастхев.

創建者 Thennakoon M D D

2020年7月26日

Such a excellent and informative course!!!!!!!I have learnt new concepts in deep.They are very useful for my studies.I would like to thank to all the lecturers and coursera for giving me this golden opportunity.Again thank you!!!

創建者 Diego

2020年9月18日

Realmente un curso muy informativo y muy interesante, aunque no son necesarios conocimientos previos recomiendo que la persona que tome el curso tenga conocimiento básico de biología molecular y Genética

創建者 Esra Y

2019年10月24日

It was really helpful for me to refresh my memory and learn additional information. It helped me a lot in order to study in order and to cover all the topics that I should review.

創建者 Anuradha P

2020年6月30日

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

創建者 Eric B

2021年4月5日

This is an excellent course, very clear. I was not expecting that much of coverage and depth. Easily worth the 5 star ratings

創建者 JOHN Q

2017年12月30日

Fun and interesting course. Great review of material I had forgotten, sadly.

創建者 Томилин М А

2019年12月16日

ТОП What a great course, thanks all the cousemakers for such a nice work.

創建者 Zaeem Z

2020年3月26日

this is extremely good course and it was very helpful for my research

創建者 Mishaal F

2020年10月10日

the entire journey was filled with lot of knowledge, thank you

創建者 Hrushikesh L

2020年8月9日

Nice introduction to genetics behind complex diseases

創建者 Tanisi R

2020年8月9日

amazing course. very informative and well explained.

創建者 Ruddhi S M

2020年6月30日

Loved it, gained lots of knowledge. Thankyou .

創建者 Julia F C

2020年7月22日

Excelente curso,temas y docentes!!

創建者 BLANCA M R V

2021年5月1日

Very good and complete

創建者 Shivani S

2020年3月25日

Awesome course !!!