Chevron Left
返回到 灾难预案

學生對 匹兹堡大学 提供的 灾难预案 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,423 個評分
420 條評論

課程概述

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

熱門審閱

CH

2017年1月30日

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL

2020年10月7日

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

篩選依據:

26 - 灾难预案 的 50 個評論(共 421 個)

創建者 John R E L

2020年10月8日

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

創建者 Nicole W

2020年6月22日

The information is interesting; however, the way in which it is presented is rather dry and boring. There are much better MOOCs out there that illustrate the importance of planning a course to engage the learner. This course fails to do that. In addition in order to complete the class, there is a peer reviewed assignment. It seems some participants will score you low with no explanation even if you follow the rubric. I took this course due to the current issues in the United States. Sadly, I realized that it really is not worth the effort due to the subjective nature of grading.

創建者 Chris B

2016年3月17日

Very baisc, and uninteresting

創建者 ANKUR S

2021年10月14日

Great, learning experience, Fully operational, Useful content, easy learning, updated all timeline on time.

創建者 John T T

2021年11月1日

A-W-E-S-O-M-E

創建者 Bradley A P

2022年1月7日

Curriculum and presentation were largely on target. Perhaps a little on the basic end, but the course was intended as an introduction. I have some previous training for some of these skills, including backcountry camping, wilderness first aid, and incident management, and these areas were covered well.

創建者 Damian N

2020年4月18日

There is political propaganda on a Required Reading, this and another "facts" that are myths like the twinkies expiration dates. Some good advices but the course need some revision

創建者 Benjamin M

2020年4月13日

Course is incredibly basic- if you have any survival background I am sorry to tell you that you probably won't learn much new and will be disappointed by the material. The lessons themselves are incredibly bland (Instructor Beach basically is just talking in front of a plain blue background the entire time- don't be fooled by the intro making it seem like he is out and about showing you practical scenarios), the material is outdated and does not include modern technology/alternative energy sources (i.e. when discussing light batteries are essentially the only recommended source of power when in fact you can easily and cheaply obtain more reliable methods like crank, shake, solar- even rechargeable lithium batteries you could charge via a USB solar pack connected to portable solar panel!). If you have absolutely no experience with disaster and zero knowledge of preparedness then this course might be for you. Unfortunately it was a major let down for me and material that should be relevant and interesting I found to be too basic to even really be considered a good refresher...

創建者 Lindsey F

2020年5月1日

I do not trust peer evaluations. My assignment was thoroughly researched, well explained and clearly structured. I utilized EIGHT (8) references and even managed to format my HTML references in MLA style. A peer reviewer gave me 3 and 1 across the board without even bothering to read my assignment.

創建者 Igor K

2020年4月28日

This is definitely a needed course for all those, who were panic-buying toilet paper! The international perspective video was interesting, but the rating is given due to non-academic approach and very poor production value throughout.

創建者 Michelle P

2020年4月16日

This course was interesting but seemed to be overly anecdotal and based on opinions

創建者 Chasta P

2021年5月12日

outdated

創建者 Michael-Scott G

2020年5月26日

waste of time

創建者 Chun K T

2022年5月5日

Great course for those who are interested in disaster preparedness. The topics covered basic of the disaster preparedness, survival techniques, medical assistance, international aid, example of Japan 2011 great earthquake and tsunami etc. The instructor and invited guest speakers are very experienced in providing disaster assistance with a vast amount of on-the-ground examples, this is very helpful for the student to understand the actual situation in the disaster scene.

I attended disaster preparedness courses about a decade ago, and I found this course is very helpful in the revision of my knowledge as well as practical examples of the actual ground situation and solutions. As climate change and extreme weather events have been a serious threat to everyone on earth, I believe everyone should really learn how to cope with these new normals and be more well-prepared for the disaster. This will be a good start for those who wish to learn in detail about disaster preparedness.

After the courses, do remember to prepare your Home Kit, Jump Kit and Covid Kit with your prepared assignment.

創建者 JOSEPH I

2021年8月2日

I DIDN'T ADD THIS ON MY PREVIOUS SUBMISSION. IN THE AMERICAN RED CROSS FIRST AID THEY TEACH YOU TO USE WHAT EVER TO DO AN EMERGENCY TREACHEOTOMY IF IT INCLUDES USING PART OF A PEN THERE IS NO REASON NOT TO USE IT. SUPPOSE NOBODY IS AROUND AND THE PERSON CAN NOT BREATHE ??? WHAT DO YOU DO PRAY TO GOD AND HOPE FOR THE BEST ? YOU NEED TO DO WHAT EVER IS NEEDED IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION GIVEN THE FACT THAT ALL OTHER RESOURCES ARE EXHAUSTED. DO YOU DO IT ? IN MY EYES YOU BET YOUR ASS YOU DO IT. IF YOU DO SOMETHING LIKE THIS WHEN OTHER OPTIONS ARE AVAILABLE IS IT WRONG ? YEA IT IS AND I DO AGREE WITH THE INSTRUCTOR. THAT BEING SAID IT IS MOST IMPORTANT TO EVALUATE EACH SITUATION FOR WHAT IT IS AND OPTIONS AVAILABLE AND TAKE IT FROM THERE. I HAD TO CLARIFY THIS IT HAS BEEN BUGGING ME. OVER ALL THE COURSE IS VERY INFORMATIVE EVEN FOR THOSE WHO KNOW MORE THAN MOST. TY !

創建者 Jesselle M S

2020年11月2日

What stuck me the most in this course is that I need to learn to be aware to the degree that I must not lose all my senses when I tend to focus on one sense because it may lead me to be "blinded" by other stuff that I also need to be aware of. Second, I need to be flexible not only in the time of disasters but almost on all unexpected situations. This challenged my critical thinking and immersed me well like how it would feel during those overwhelming times. I'm excited to share my learning with my family, friends, and even my workmates. Thank you University of Pittsburg for this course!!

創建者 C A N

2020年5月3日

Disaster Preparedness course content in my opinion was complete. Adequate lectures duration.The invited guess speakers were not just any body but experts with down to earth practical examples for students not only to understand but conceptualize. The end of every subtopic quiz was a good summary.The section I enjoyed most was to write on 'Home Disaster Preparedness and Jump kit'. This has open my brain and changed my dressing code since one is living in a world where any situation can arise at any time.Most of us depend on God or our supreme being but must do our part.

創建者 Angelica J

2020年11月5日

This course shed a little more light in how we should perform during emergencies. In disaster situations, government response may take a while therefore, every member of the family, of the community should be able to fend for themselves until help arrives. Making the Family Preparedness Plan reminded me that this activity not only binds the family together, it also reinforces our resolve to not be a burden to the government by doing our civic duty of being self aware and self sufficient on our road to resiliency.

創建者 DIBYA J P

2020年6月16日

The instructor seemed very humble and the making discussions type video was really helpful. Apart from that, I had some expectation about disaster in other countries because in this course, there were more context on USA. Moreover, India also has experienced lots of disaster especially cyclones. Even Nepal also experienced earthquake, belonging to third world country. If this had been added it would have been more informative.

創建者 Julia B

2020年7月13日

I really enjoyed this. I was able to help my family and friends especially since I live on a hurricane active land. I never got bored and it was super informative. I want to become a meteorologist and help people and our instructor is very easy to understand and talks slowly and has slideshows if you want to see what he is talking about. I am getting great grades on my tests! I love this course! I highly recommend!

創建者 JUN M B

2021年4月16日

Very informative. It kind of rekindled my days in the forest surviving with just what is available. Though some of the techniques are more advance than what is available in my country it's almost similar. I hope to again enroll in another class to further equip me, add more knowledge and know-how imperative to any survival situation or in the event of a disaster

創建者 Harikara B S

2020年7月1日

Excellent Course Objectives of survival requirements and details to know about how to face disasters.

We Normally Prepare all these kinds of plans however preparing for self and family is a good one with lot of informations are learned through this course.

Thanks to Professor Mr.Micheal Beach for conducting such very informative session.

創建者 syed f

2020年7月13日

This is a great course. Everyone should no what to do in a disaster. When I starred this course I got that I know very little about things to do in a disaster. This is a course tells you to prepare things in a scenario of survival necessity. I highly enjoyed this course and hope to learn more about disaster preparedness in the future.

創建者 Paulin A A A G

2020年9月30日

I learned a lot from this course and opened my eyes to the importance of preparing ahead and having the right attitude towards disaster mitigation, response and rehabilitation. The course is an eye-opener for the necessity of the whole of society approach when it comes to disaster. Prof. Beach did an excellent job!

創建者 Fatu T

2021年5月11日

The course helped me to understand the psychological readiness and preparedness during a disaster. I was thought how to manage my time well, to always be alert especially leaving in a prone disaster area. I was thought survival skills. This will help me in my upcoming job i will be appointed for. Thanks