Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的評價和反饋

4.5
10,222 個評分
2,282 條評論

課程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

熱門審閱

VC

2020年5月16日

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS

2020年5月5日

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

篩選依據:

2051 - Data Science Math Skills 的 2075 個評論(共 2,281 個)

創建者 Marcos G

2021年11月4日

T​he final week, covering Probability, was pretty mediocre. A very strong weeks 1 and 2 start with a pretty steep decline towards the end. I picked up this course as a demonstration of core data science math skills. I already knew most of the concepts so I didn't have much difficulty, however, if you're looking to pick this course up purely to acquire these new skills, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

創建者 Patrycja J

2020年5月12日

Lessons 1-3 are ok. Everything is explained well and you can make the tests easily. 4 is very difficult and despite many trials, I was not able to make it. And because of chapter 4 I suggest you rather take another course.

There is also a technical problem, because the formulas are displayed in java script, so it is not easy to understand how the formula looks like, if you do not know the script :(

創建者 Phyllicia A M B

2020年6月19日

The lectures are very short and simple. Sometimes the explanations are not explained thoroughly. Students without background on the subject will find it difficult to apply the concepts in actual problems like in the quizzes. I hope you can improve your content, discussions, and quizzes so students without background in advance math can enjoy your course. Thank you!

創建者 Sina P

2021年5月18日

The course was useful and well designed. Trainees can achieve a noticeable background of data science and gain a good vision about what data science is. However, It would make the course more comprehensive if the trainers provide some real life example questions especially when talking about the mathematical rules and formulas during the course.

創建者 Brannon C

2020年5月11日

Helpful overview and review if it’s been a while since you taken stats and probability. But really needs more practice problems with explanations to practice through the workflow on the last two weeks. The formulas and calculations get pretty intense. They have printable handouts that go with all videos that were very helpful.

創建者 Raymond S

2019年9月21日

Keep in mind that this is meant to be an introduction to some of the math topics used in data science, it is not a comprehensive course. The course needs to include worksheets with practice problems for the students to practice. The instructors do not use enough real-world examples to demonstrate how the theory is applied.

創建者 ACHRAF T

2020年4月25日

je pense qu'il manque quelque définitions ,par exemple , pour dire que la probabilité d'un événement est égal à la somme de probabilités d'intersections de cet événement avec d'autres ,mais en fait on peut dire cela sauf si les autres événements forment un système complet d'événements. mais en général ça reste utile .

創建者 SAYAN B

2020年4月18日

The course videos for the topics for Week 3 and 4 are not well explained. Even some of the questions in the quiz are not written in proper format. Please look into this and make changes to the course. Otherwise the syllabus of the course is well designed and the probability questions are of quite high standard!

創建者 Jeffrey A B

2019年6月22日

Felt like the first 3 weeks were pretty good but the probability section needs a lot more detailed explanations and examples to make the information clear. For those that are already OK with this subject, it's probably fine but for those that haven't had much background in probability, this part was lacking.

創建者 Jennifer H

2021年7月11日

The math went from extremely easy in weeks 1-3, to very challenging (with insufficient explanations) in week 4. I watched the videos from weeks 1-3 on 1.5x speed, but even going back to normal speed for week 4 was not enough. I had to find external resources to provide additional explanations for week 4.

創建者 Scott M

2020年8月16日

The first half was planned and organized. The second half seemed haphazard. Examples were a little hard to follow. Quizzes were fine and seemed to test the material presented. I have only taken three other courses (4 total) and this one seemed a little rushed and the second half was created on a whim.

創建者 Danilo C

2018年1月17日

First 2 weeks of the course is amazing, very good didactics. The second teacher does not use very good examples, and the thing starts to fill like old math classes, but overall is good. I will need to redo the last 2 weeks because i fill that I will not remember most of it so easy as the first 2 weeks.

創建者 Saurabh K

2018年5月27日

Good for high level understanding of few of the concepts. But last week 4 tutorials are covered at very high level , it was quite difficult to understand probability topic without referring to other online tutorials. I wish more examples could be given in the tutorials to strengthen understanding.

創建者 Margaret S

2017年7月25日

The class is good. However, the second half of the class zips through concepts that need a lot more explanation than is provided. Moreover this class would benefit from an optional tutorial on how to input factorials into a calculator as the answers on the exam go to the 8th decimal place.

創建者 Glory J

2021年6月6日

The course was okay. Some fundamentals like logarithms was clear to me. However, they did not do a very good job in explaining the probability section like Bayes' conditional probability and binomial theorem in a clear and concise way like it was done with the other topics

創建者 Nicolás M

2021年5月3日

While it is a good course overall, and the first three modules are excellent, the final module on probability has poor explanations. To understand and complete this module I had to review other sites and come back, following recommendations from many other students.

創建者 Elizabeth C

2021年1月14日

Didn't like it. It helped me cover some of the concepts I have to know as an aspiring data scientist and the problems are good though tricky, but the explanations were confusing. I often find myself watching Khan Academy videos then coming back to do the questions.

創建者 Aasiya S

2021年7月28日

The course could have been better, since majority concepts were not explained elaborately especially module 4. Will not recommend if you really want to learn something. Tests and assignments were good as they were not direct questions but based on application.

創建者 Taruna J

2020年8月6日

Some concepts have been explained beautifully, which made things easier to understand. Some concepts (probability) I earlier understood so very well, but now I am confused with the teachings from this course. I don't really like how it has been explained.

創建者 Nitikorn S

2020年5月22日

The first half is really well explained. However, the second part could be improved with a more detailed explanation rather than introducing the equation and jump straight to the problem. Also, I think the quizzes in the latter part are (too) difficult.

創建者 KRISHNAMURTHI R

2020年5月22日

Concepts are not clearly explained in the video sessions. I had to seek some other you tube videos to get the concepts with clarity . Some of the Practice quiz feedback are not fully explanatory and required more outside reference to clear the doubts .

創建者 Sahar A

2020年12月31日

It was a good review for me. However, I expected the course curriculum to be more advanced, considering the course title. It was mostly some basics. But good if you want to have a review on some probability subjects that you may have forgotten.

創建者 Chris

2019年11月8日

You guys need to give better practice examples and scenarios in Weeks 3 and 4. That being said, I think the courses you presented give a nice foundation. I'm going to practice on my own time finding problems of the subjects you've spoken about.

創建者 Gregory B

2020年5月5日

The course has issues later on - there is inconsistent notation, no provided worksheets, formula sheets, documentation, or summaries of any kind. At first this isn't a problem when the course is simple but is much more problematic later on.

創建者 Saeed M

2020年9月2日

As a whole: very useful review of the themes.

However:

Quite a few Latex statements spread around the quizes.

Probability could be explained a bit more thoroughly. I had to look up external sources to get a better grasp of the subject matter.