Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的評價和反饋

4.5
10,206 個評分
2,280 條評論

課程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

熱門審閱

VS

2020年9月22日

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

RS

2020年5月5日

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

篩選依據:

151 - Data Science Math Skills 的 175 個評論(共 2,280 個)

創建者 Alex A

2020年6月13日

I was looking for a math class to refresh my math skills in preparation for getting into the field of Data Science and I am very glad that I found this course. It was well taught and very clear. Thank you so much.

創建者 Sree B

2021年5月12日

This course really gives me the very good understanding about the basic concepts which are necessary in the field of Data Science. A must try course for all beginner level who are keen in learning Data science.

創建者 Suparit S

2020年7月19日

The course provides comprehensive basic math skills for the ones who might have forgotten all the maths they have learnt. Highly recommended for ones who wants to restart the math skills with clear intuition!

創建者 Yasir M

2020年7月13日

It was a good basic level course of math design by Duke University.I just say thanks to all of this course team and especially thanks to coursera for providing such a amazing opportunity to learn more skills.

創建者 Hemali V

2020年9月13日

It is an amazing course for everyone who want to learn Maths. after learning this basic math skill, i am capable to perform basic algorithms for Machine Learning.

It is very helpful course for me, Thank you!

創建者 John M

2021年9月21日

Excellent refresher on somewhat basic mathematical concepts, starting with assumption of zero knowledge and preparing the student to tackle higher level courses in probability, statistics, and data science.

創建者 Miguel b

2021年12月23日

G​reat Course! Review of introductory concepts, getting a little more challenging towards the las weeks. It was worth and it should not be scary. The intructors of the course are superb and easy to follow.

創建者 Eloisa R

2020年7月8日

If you have previous background is easier, but in Baye's theorem it was a little hard to understand it. Overall, it is an excellent course, but a little more explanations in Baye's theorem could be better.

創建者 Muhammad H

2020年6月26日

The course was really great. You could include some more offline practice questions with solutions for better practice at least 10 for each topic. Otherwise explanations were easy to understand and follow.

創建者 Thomas G

2022年3月5日

Very good instructors, good technical quality the presentation. The refresh of basic math concepts is helpful und the brief introduction to Bayesian statistics is one if the better that I've seen.

創建者 Guido T G

2020年11月17日

If you want to review and engage knowledge this course its a good reason for start the apllication of maths. The course have for you a good material and very good questions for real deep learning

創建者 Weicheng(Will) H

2020年8月12日

For the part of Bayes' theorem, I think the explanation is no clear or through enough. Maybe more break-down is necessary. And the other parts are really good. I really enjoy taking this course.

創建者 Nikisha E

2021年1月3日

I want to thank my educators for this wonderful job that they are doing.i have learn so much from you guys and i want to thank you all for your kind support in this data science maths skills.

創建者 Abu I M S A

2020年10月18日

This is a great course, many things are basic but I have learned those a long day ago. Some explanations are from different perspective than conventional. However, definitely a great course.

創建者 veer

2020年7月21日

A great foundation course for anybody whoose tryna find their feet in the excitng and vast world of data science,i learnt so many new things..it was truly an enriching experience.Thank you!!

創建者 Altynay O

2020年7月7日

My first course on Data Science and was happy to share this experience with Duke University. The course was informational, very resourceful and hopefully beneficial for my future endeavors.

創建者 Kensuke I

2020年4月30日

Good learning overall.

Some part are pretty easy, which I remember learning in junior high,

but some theorems are hard to apply.

Now I want to use these theory in real world and data science!

創建者 Elisa M d M S C

2022年1月11日

Uma grande e boa revisão de conceitos importantes para Data Science. Último módulo pobre em explicação para quem vem sem base em probabilidade, mas sintético para quem precisa só revisar.

創建者 Bayu W

2020年7月9日

I learned basic math of data science from based to Bayes' theorem. Lecturer explained material clearly and easy to understand. It helps me to start my journey in data science. Thank you.

創建者 KESHA R

2020年7月6日

The instructors for this course have a very calm, awesome demeanor. They are very confident and efficient in their methodology overall. This course has reawakened my desire for learning.

創建者 Alieldin R

2019年10月14日

The course was very good and well thought of, a great refresher for very important concepts, the instructors are very good at simplifying the material and making it very understandable.

創建者 salim m

2020年12月25日

This course gives a basic foundational math needed for machine learning at high level. I loved this course as the instructor kept it interesting problem solving quizzes gives hands on.

創建者 Syed A Z

2020年4月27日

An excellent course to learn, Thanks to to Instructor and Duke University and Thanks "Coursera" for this online platform for giving us the flexibility to learn as per learners comfort.

創建者 Lymeng C

2019年3月2日

I don't quite understand the last chapter about probability. Please use more examples like in quiz to demonstrate the concept one by one. Thanks for making education free to all of us.

創建者 Bharani J

2021年1月11日

The Topics were clearly articulated. The quizzes tested the understanding. One suggestion i would say is to have solutions provided to the last quiz on Probability. It was challenging