Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的評價和反饋

4.5
9,054 個評分
2,048 條評論

課程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

熱門審閱

AS
2019年1月11日

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
2020年5月5日

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

篩選依據:

1976 - Data Science Math Skills 的 2000 個評論(共 2,028 個)

創建者 Syed S W

2020年5月21日

The initial modules are insightful and helpful. But I had a lot of problems going through the material in week 4. The instructor struggles to make the content engaging and the videos often end up sounding very monotone. There's a big gap between the material discussed and the questions asked in practice.

創建者 Jansen M A

2020年12月31日

The course is fairly easy and unchallenging. It's like an introduction in maths for high school students. I was expecting harder maths related to data science and/or machine learning, but this is just a review of high school maths. Not entirely a waste of time, but disappointing.

創建者 Tanmay A

2020年5月28日

baye's theorem and the binomial addition to it should have been explained broadly, this is a multi country based program , people from different country access it. hence each and every formulae and colocations should be explained better and write-in a better way.

創建者 Michael Q

2017年4月7日

Very rushed presentation. Blows right through a lot of fundamental concepts without a deep enough explanation or enough practice material (especially in the last two weeks). I feel like completing this class will require supplementation with better instruction.

創建者 Enrico L

2020年5月30日

I was attracted by the syllabus (substance) but I found the presentation of the teachers quite disturbing (form); bad calligraphy, some mistakes, poor explanations. Anyway I completed the course and it will be useful as a general introduction to the topics.

創建者 David S

2020年5月26日

The probability section left many serious gaps in information compared to the test. I had to take the exam multiple times, and even after restarting half of the class twice. I'm not usually one to have to do this for a class.

創建者 Hitesh D

2020年6月21日

Video lectures were not very clear. It looked like these lectures are for revision and not for learning it first time. Baye's Theorem is yet not clear to me... I just mugged up some formulas which i will eventually forget.

創建者 Sandeep M

2020年5月21日

The weeks 1-3 although elementary were explained well but the change of professor on the last one really did nothing. There were far better tutors on youtube teaching the same things he did more clearly.

創建者 Jayprakash C

2020年9月1日

Concepts not covered well enough, just for the sake of teaching. Pure time waste. Bayesian Theory was not taught up to the mark, I had to refer external resources to understand it well.

創建者 Gaurav A

2020年5月25日

the video learning was good, but the quiz questions were at a very different difficulty levels. I would just like to say that this was supposed to be an beginner level course.

創建者 E M

2017年7月27日

This course is very short. I've completed it in about 4 hours. Nothing was told about linear algebra, statistics, optimization. It is not enough even to learn Data Science.

創建者 Ashraf S

2019年1月17日

This course dos not contain enough examples which needed to train and practice ,PDF is not clear enough and does not contain any problems to practice.

Thanks

創建者 Amanda G

2021年3月26日

The second professor isn't great. I don't think it's his fault, but a lot of information was crammed into 2 weeks and I had to do a lot of self-teaching.

創建者 Saleem G

2020年4月30日

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

創建者 Maria K

2020年11月21日

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

創建者 Jomon K S

2020年5月11日

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

創建者 Esaú C

2020年4月25日

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

創建者 Vaibhav J

2019年2月10日

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"

創建者 Hubert W A E

2021年4月12日

It was too short, I think they must add additional mathematics course to make this program complete for Data Science needs

創建者 Xose C

2020年4月6日

You'd spend lots of time checking other sources as they do not explain things in detail. They assume many things.

創建者 Peter G

2018年3月4日

I enjoyed the first 2 weeks. Weeks 3 and 4 were harder to follow. Too few examples, particularly in week 4.

創建者 Andersson F R A

2020年5月17日

A pesar de que el curso es básico, la parte de probabilidad no está muy bien explicada.

創建者 Nayaung L

2020年6月30日

The last probability course is really horrible It should be changed or make it easier.

創建者 vivek a

2020年4月12日

The course name should be Bais Mathematics instead of Data Science Maths Skills.

創建者 PRASAD K

2020年5月23日

Concepts from Probability up to Bayes' Theorem could have been explained better