Chevron Left
返回到 数据产品开发

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 数据产品开发 的評價和反饋

4.6
2,232 個評分
416 條評論

課程概述

A data product is the production output from a statistical analysis. Data products automate complex analysis tasks or use technology to expand the utility of a data informed model, algorithm or inference. This course covers the basics of creating data products using Shiny, R packages, and interactive graphics. The course will focus on the statistical fundamentals of creating a data product that can be used to tell a story about data to a mass audience....

熱門審閱

SS

2016年3月3日

This is a great introduction to some of the many ways to present your data. It's probably the easiest course in the specialisation but shows off an impressive array of widgets and gadgets.

RS

2018年11月18日

This course was amazing, it could definetly be more deep in each of the subjects, but gives you so much practice in tools that are very useful in the day by day of a data scientist

篩選依據:

301 - 数据产品开发 的 325 個評論(共 415 個)

創建者 Samir G

2017年2月7日

V

創建者 Deleted A

2015年12月16日

In general, an excellent course, taught by competent professors. I believe that in the main this course does very well in achieving its objective of knowledge transfer. However, having experienced it, there were parts where the professor was demonstrating a topic using a video presentation showing him operate a process or screen sequence on his computer. These aspects, like virtually all the material on this course, are of a technical nature and contain many important details. As such, to help complete and re-enforce their learning, students require something like a sequence of slides that they can print out and retain for revision and future reference. In certain parts, the provision of the printable screenshots in the form of slides was absent.

An important theme of the course and Data Science in general is "Reproducible Research". What I'm arguing for here is, "Reproducible Learning Materials" covering a complete course, not only parts of it. Admittedly, it was only a very small proportion of the course that suffers from this defect. But I would not like it to become the norm in the future. As a suggestion, it could be possible to author a lecture using HTML so as to combine the verbatum lecture text with every slide/screenshot image embedded in its right position within the lecture.

I notice Coursera courses have also moved away from the weekly lists of individual lectures together with their links to .txt, .mp4, etc. files. The new presentation keeps you submerged within the flow within each week's series of lectures. One has to 'click out' in order to watch your progress and then re-enter the lectures at a resumption point. I prefer the previous navigation structure in order to access lectures and materials. Printed learning materials are also important for me, in addition to the video lectures. The latter are of course vital as the medium for the initial exposure of the material.

創建者 Stefan K

2017年3月21日

I think this one is the best from the Specialization as it is the most Practical one (more than Practical Machine Learning).

Can be taken without the others if you have basic experience in R and want to learn about cool R applications.

The reason I don't give full rating is for not having practical assignment every week. So there wasn't enough effort put into the course. Of course, we can do optional homework and make more applications, but assignments like these should be mandatory. There is no package building and no swirl course building - So why do we have week 3 and 4 at all? The quizzes are also laughable - no knowledge testing at all.

So although I liked this course from the Specialization the most, I still can't give full rating because of the mentioned issues.

創建者 Fernando S e S

2016年8月22日

The skills taught in this course are fantastic and I'm sure using them will blow my colleagues' minds away. However, I must say that the lectures on Rcharts and other interactive plot builders sound kinda sloppy, poorly prepared. I know the documentation for those packages is bad and it takes effort to figure out what they do, but that is precisely why a well-prepared lecture would be so useful. I would also talk about license, since we have been dealing with packages that are completely open for use, but these have some restrictions.

創建者 Alessio B

2015年12月7日

Taken this course in its old fashion style. Now reviewing the new design was a little bit displacing, but I ascribe this to the fact I've done all the specialization courses in the old design.

However the structure of the course is quite good. Some typos were reported, as well as a bug on the unanswered questions in quiz 3. Main worst point was the missing format of several text boxes. I would have appreciated paragraphs, bold and italic, some links, picture, not only raw plain text.

Overall review is nonetheless over the average.

創建者 Winnie M

2020年12月17日

The course content was great, but from the peer assignments I reviewed, hate to say that the percentage of plagiarism in other's assignment is unbelievably high, some didn't even check the code they copied and included link to source code in their submitted work. This will unavoidably degrade and depreciate certificates issued by Coursera and Johns Hopkins University. Please review the existing evaluation machanism so it is fair to the students who put time and effort in completing their assignments.

創建者 Gerrit V

2017年7月31日

Great course, I just missed some material on distributing data products as files or objects. Data Science environments are getting connected to traditional BI-environments more and more, now that organisations are getting more used to DS. So it is starting to be important to also deliver data products as files to the e.g. data warehouses, ArcGIS, or open data platforms. I know this is mentioned in Getting and Cleaning Data. But some further elaboration would be nice.

創建者 Ariel M

2016年10月30日

This is an excellent course that will teach you plethora of new things! The only gotcha is that things move too fast in the world of Data Science. Some of the topics and code might not work exactly as shown when you take the course, and many things will change. It's up to the student to make-up for the missing pieces, but I guess that is the only caveat when you work in a still-evolving field.

創建者 PL Y

2015年12月3日

This course gives a good introduction on how to develop an application.

It gives all the available tools in the field out for us to try and use them.

The course is enjoyable and not stressful. I find the assignment as meant to get us to do the project and not really there to fail us. It is difficult to fail to course as only the minimum is required.

創建者 Greg A

2018年2月22日

Analysis is useless if done for its own sake. Once you have found something interesting the challenge is finding engaging ways to share your insights. This course is a bit scattered since it covers so many different ways of publishing and presenting data, but it is a really nice survey of what is out there.

創建者 Joana P

2018年5月10日

I lost myself a little bit, because the materials were a little over the place, we did shiny in the first week lectures and only in the last week the project was about it.

Same with leaflet, I think ti could be structured differently.

But i find them very relevant so that is the reason why I rated it with 4.

創建者 Kim K

2018年8月8日

You will need to be familiar with the subject in order to keep up with the assignments or put in a large amount of time to learn. The forums are helpful and other students are great. Visit the shinyapps.io website for Shiny Apps and slidify research. Rigorous and rewarding when you put the work in.

創建者 Justas M

2021年9月2日

T​he course is on the easy side of the DS specialization. But I believe its very usefull especially in terms of communication of research results. The Rmarkdown part could have been more thorough as well as included how to work with LaTeX, non the less, a great course overall.

創建者 Raul M

2019年2月14日

It is a nice class but many of the topic were already covered on previous class of the specialization. If this is the only class you will take, it is okay but it you are taking the whole specialization this is like doing few (not all) things again

創建者 Matthew C

2018年1月5日

Good course, but it was a little light on content. Probably the easiest month of the specialization aside from the first one. The assignments were too easy too pass. Good intro to some very interesting packages (leaflet, shiny, google vis) though.

創建者 Erika G

2016年8月22日

I enjoyed the class, but was frustrated when it came time to get my Slidify to work on GitHub (since RPubs wasn't publishing them correctly.) I had to convert it to RPres (which was easy, thankfully) in order to get my project submitted in time.

創建者 Yuriy V

2016年3月10日

I liked the course and found it informative, but wish there were more stuff on Shiny Widgets and Input/Output/Render topic. R Shiny tutorial is pretty good, but I was hoping more relevant info about those topics from this course.

創建者 Rishabh J

2017年8月23日

This was just a quick overview of different technologies out there to help creating various types of interactive graphics in R. But I would have preferred if at least one of those technologies were explored in more detail.

創建者 Daniel J R

2019年2月12日

This class includes a lot of introductory content an a good measure of hands-on practice. It also provides a great amount of resources and reference material for the learners to expand their knowledge further.

創建者 VIPULKUMAR P

2017年4月10日

Nice course and good classmates. It's very focus oriented and gives very good idea of Shiny, Rmarkdown, plotly and how to publish documents on github, Rpubs and other online sites. I learnt power of R

創建者 Jason M C

2016年5月4日

Compared to the other classes in the JHU Data Science specialization, this one is pretty laid back. It's useful information, and teaches a few nice tricks on how to present data analysis results.

創建者 Sreeja R

2018年2月14日

This course lacked required information of help to get started. Now thanks to some posts by mentors i was able to successfully complete the Capstone project. Overall a very good experience!

創建者 Ramy H

2018年1月28日

Interesting topic, touching on many field. I believe it was quite informative as it applies on the previous modules knowledge into this one. However it didn't touch deeper on each topic.

創建者 Jeffrey T

2016年3月28日

Good overview of available tools. Lack of practice exercises makes preparing for quizzes difficult. However, the course project does a good job to get your feet wet with Shiny Apps.

創建者 Andrew V

2017年5月31日

Good course, but I felt it was a bit easy to get good marks on the assignments with a minimum effort assignment. Some of the ones I marked were very little to do with data-science.