Chevron Left
返回到 Data-driven Astronomy

學生對 悉尼大学 提供的 Data-driven Astronomy 的評價和反饋

4.8
566 個評分
180 條評論

課程概述

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

熱門審閱

MC

Feb 29, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

TS

Dec 15, 2019

This is a great course for anyone wanting to do data science with astronomical datasets. The lectures are clear and interesting and the activities are well structured. I really enjoyed this course!

篩選依據:

151 - Data-driven Astronomy 的 175 個評論(共 178 個)

創建者 Syed Z R Z

Jan 18, 2020

Its gerearatttt

創建者 Rohit N

Jun 12, 2019

I'm loving it!

創建者 Jiqing H

Jun 12, 2019

great course!

創建者 Israel d S R d A

Feb 07, 2020

Very helpful

創建者 唐怀金

Apr 23, 2019

very good

創建者 Kristina I

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent

創建者 Victor M

May 17, 2017

This course lies in the confluence of both my professional experience (software development in the IT industry) and the science that interests me the most: astronomy and astrophysics. Just a glance at the syllabus was enough to convince me that the course would be worth taking, due to its good structure and wide scope, covering current trends in both data science and computational astronomy.

From previous online course experience in these areas, I knew at the beginning that contents can be hard to grasp if the theory and practice are not well balanced, but it turned out to be a great run, with enough depth to pique one's interest while at the same time feeling comfortable using both past and newly acquired knowledge.

The course sports an excellent tool to solve and test the programming assignments that constitute most of the grades you will earn. Thanks to it, you will be freed, as a student, from the most common hassles in online courses involving coding (mainly environment setup). Which means more chances to focus on the main subjects covered and a pleasant wading through the challenges posed.

Beware that if you are already comfortable ín the programming language used (Python), you may easily be craving for more advanced assignments, but this I'm sure is easy to request from the helpful professors and staff. If you are instead a novice with regards to coding, additional parallel effort may be required, but the course contents will guide you well in the endeavor.

One aspect of the course that may be specially challenging is the relatively speedy run through the theory and concepts of Machine Learning. A myriad other online courses on the subject exist already; the course focusses instead more on the application of the techniques and nicely shows real world (or more appropriately, universe :-) ) applications which will help cementing the theories behind. I would expect that if you have not had previous contact with the subject, the contents can feel a bit daunting. But with some extra commitment (check the numerous online resources, take a parallel course...) I am pretty sure this can be overcome.

創建者 Tomislav P

Jan 27, 2020

Generally, I liked the course and really enjoyed it; I think it is really well made. However, I decided to give it 4/5 stars, because it is a bit short, covers only a small part of astronomy and machine learning and because exercises are not that challenging and too much help is sometimes given. I'd give it 5 stars if the course was a bit longer (2-3 times as long), covered more astronomy and machine learning topics (with exercises as well), and maybe most importantly forced the participant to go through more materials to be able to finish the course. Nonetheless, I'd like to thank the course's creators!

創建者 Pavel K

Oct 20, 2018

Overall the course is great, I highly recommend it to astronomers who want to learn some new tricks in data science. Meanwhile, it is not so useful for everyone else - lections are super brief and superficial, coding assignments are very easy and not challenging at all, not only you have a pretty self-explanatory template (do A, do B), but it is possible to view a complete solution right away, which is rather strange approach.

創建者 Rene F

Sep 04, 2017

So far, the first week has been interesting. Challenging because I am new to Python (I am a C/C++, Swift and ABAP developer) . The assignments are well guided - challenging but far from impossible.

I would like the videos to be a little longer or give a little more theoretical background but mostly it has the right amount of info.

創建者 Adam S

Jun 25, 2017

I thought this class was a great application of Python Programming to an interesting topic that I otherwise would not have learned. However, coming from a computer science background, the programming was pretty easy. If you are looking to strictly learn more about programming, I would suggest a more difficult course.

創建者 Antoni C M

Oct 07, 2018

I've really enjoyed this course! There are a lot of new things to learn in it. Just to say something not so good from my point of view is that in the exercises sometimes the libraries or code to use could be a bit more explained or documented. But in general it's very good. I recommend it.

創建者 Doug

Jan 29, 2018

Good course, with fun examples to work with. I'm not an astronomer, and mainly took the course for fun,but the things I've learned here will be useful for my own research. About the only thing I would have liked to see was more background material on each topic.

創建者 K S R

Sep 25, 2019

A really good course covering a variety of subjects in both astronomy and data analysis which is exactly the combination I was looking for. A final exercise covering all the topics taught would have been a fitting end to the course.

創建者 Vibha

Dec 08, 2019

Well-taught, good supporting resources, and heavily rooted in application. The external grading tool exceeded expectations as well. Next time, would prefer more of the code being explained by the instructors.

創建者 Federico T

Jul 24, 2017

A good introduction in Data Astronomy with Python. I missed some lessons about python to finish some of the volunteer exercises and some contact with astronomy data from the web, but it is a great course.

創建者 Gautam B

Apr 22, 2017

Great and quick way to learn things. Thanks for the troubles taken to put this together. Some of the computational exercises could do with a little more clarity of language. But, overall, Great!

創建者 Francisco

May 15, 2019

Interesting introduction to machine-learning techniques applied to astronomical data. I think very adapted to astronomers willing to learn about this topic or to astronomy students.

創建者 GAVIN W

Sep 30, 2019

If you want to learn Python and a bit of Machine Learning in the context of Astronomy then this is a great course to give your skills a boost and learn more about modern Astronomy.

創建者 John I

Aug 31, 2019

I enjoyed the course.

The only issue was with a couple of the python labs not having the data to try within my own environment.

創建者 Ignacio d L A G

Dec 27, 2019

He aprendido cosas, hasta ahora, desconocidas para mi. Me ha abierto la curiosidad por investigar

創建者 Anand K

Jan 31, 2020

So the course is of introductory type. Not much in depth. Great for beginners in Data Science.

創建者 Alastair K

Jan 07, 2018

great course with practical python programming. very informative and easy to follow

創建者 Jordi G P

Dec 10, 2018

Pretty good introduction to both Big Data treatment and modern astronomy!

創建者 Enrique J E B

Sep 08, 2019

Nice introduction to machine learning using an interesting topic.