Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 的評價和反饋

4.7
938 個評分
277 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

熱門審閱

EG

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

篩選依據:

1 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 的 25 個評論(共 270 個)

創建者 John L

Mar 25, 2019

I recently completed the 5-course specialization in creative writing. For the most part the course material presented was good, especially the courses on plot, on setting, and on style. The course on characterization was a little vague. From the syllabus, it looked like it would be a good course, but the instructor did not follow the syllabus and was often very unfocussed in her presentation.

The weakness with this specialization is that all the feedback to the writer is provided by peers in the course. This I found very disappointing. Many of the other students were honestly very poor writers, and as a result, the feedback I received on my assignments was very superficial. In addition, rather than being able to learn from reading the writing of others, I found for the most part that the pieces submitted by others were very lacking.

If you take this course, know that it will provide you some good information about writing fiction, but the feedback you receive on your assignments will not help you learn. You will need to find another peer group of writers to help you with that.

創建者 Anuranjan R

Aug 29, 2019

The content of this course gives enough basis for aspiring writers to improve the settings and descriptions in their writing. The only improvement I would suggest is to have some input on the student's work from the faculty themselves. I understand that it would be a massive challenge to review all of the work submitted but only peer review feels a bit like a cop-out.

創建者 salima h

Mar 23, 2016

Clear lectures with practical advice, and very good assignments. The assignments in the plot class and the character class were too confusing and structured, but the assignments in the craft of setting class were perfectly designed to help the student practice whatever was taught in the modules. I know it sounds unimportant, but we're here to write, and when we're given awkward assignments, the peer reviews go haywire and the writing quality declines for everyone.

I read some of the best work, peer work, in this class and in the style class.

創建者 Aiden T N

Jan 18, 2017

Just as the Amy Bloom's course, this course has no descriptive arch and one is left to try and grasp the teaching points in a flood of reference material. Teach theory in a clear structure first please then provide reference. See Brando Skyhorse course, very structured.

創建者 LeAttol ( E L

Jan 18, 2019

In regards to the specialization, I found the Brando Skyhorse course more "technical" but this course seems to evoke talent from students. The peer grading was a pleasure to do. -leattol

創建者 Kristin L

Mar 06, 2017

The same as I have written for the other courses in the specialty. The course information was great and the assignments were very helpful. What lost points for the course was not the content provided by Wesleyan, which was good, but the poor effort on the part of many of the fellow students to really work on constructive critiques. For each assignment I had at least one of the three peer reviews that was useless to me to improve my writing, sometimes more. There should be a way to rate critiques so that students can't move on if they don't do the work of critiquing well.

創建者 Jeff

Jan 24, 2019

Content was great, the app and peer feedback could be improved on

創建者 JEANYVAH D

May 10, 2020

Amity Gaige is amazing. Sh goes a step further to make sure you understand the topic and she also gives thoughts and questions that make you think, about what you are doing.

I feel honored to give her a five-star rating.

創建者 Gaby S

May 17, 2020

I loved Amity Gaiged format. She made the sessions dynamic with interesting readings and videos, despite being an online course. It was fund and very instructive. I learned much more than what I expected. Thank you.

創建者 Juanita J

Jan 27, 2018

The course was very well organized and quite challenging. Each week gave me the opportunity to develop a piece which I have further developed into longer pieces which I am looking at publishing.

創建者 Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

創建者 Joe M

Feb 11, 2019

Each step I take along this specialization gives me more and more to think about. This course continued to expand my knowledge on the writing process and helped me hone my skills a little more.

創建者 Orjuwan M A J

May 23, 2020

I would very much like to thank Amity Gage for her wonderful course , it was such an amazing experience and inspiring indeed.

創建者 Abdelkader A K

May 28, 2020

Simply Amazing. The instructor was very motivational; she asked the right questions and came up with insightful answers.

創建者 John O

May 09, 2020

This course was well organised and easy to follow, the assignments were very relevant and enjoyable to do.

創建者 Leita H

May 03, 2020

A brilliant course ... great communication, enthusiasm, readings and exercises

創建者 Deleted A

Apr 19, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I wish you offered more on creative writing.

創建者 Aggie H

May 14, 2020

I love this course! Thank you for making me a more confident writer.

創建者 Lavaniya D

Mar 26, 2020

This course made me look at setting differently.

創建者 Gonçalo F G G

May 11, 2020

Amazing course with an amazing teacher.

創建者 Luisa S

May 28, 2020

Great teacher and great course!

創建者 David T

Apr 25, 2020

Good learning experience

創建者 Marilyn G

Apr 06, 2020

This was the first course taken in the specialization and I enjoyed the format -- videos, readings, assignments. One aspect I found a little cumbersome was the peer review process. The feedback I received was just enough to meet the criteria of conducting a review. I could have benefited from more useful feedback and I also would have liked to get some 'instructor' feedback, if not on each assignment then perhaps an overall assessment. The lack of valuable feedback is why I rated this course a 4/5 and not 5/5, otherwise I really enjoyed the course. Thank you!

創建者 Keith G

Oct 21, 2019

It's a good course. I learned a lot. For me the peer reviews are a weakness for a number of reasons: students don't always have the same understanding of the assignments; it would be nice to have feedback from an 'expert' e.g. the course convener; some of the students have a limited knowledge of English which reduces the value of their feedback;

創建者 robin b

Mar 25, 2020

I do wish I could have seen the reviews of my work. I very much needed to see them.