Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,922 個評分
1,318 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

BM
2019年11月4日

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

DA
2016年11月30日

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

篩選依據:

1276 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1300 個評論(共 1,303 個)

創建者 Sharon A D

2021年1月8日

The instruction is clear and quite good, but what good is feedback if you cannot read it. I can see my grade but there is nowhere to see what my peers had to say about my work.

創建者 Justin S

2020年9月9日

the grading system could improve star selection process such as grammar; clarity; congruency; originality; captivation may broaden the critque of the story

創建者 katherine l

2018年4月2日

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

創建者 Youssef A

2020年6月10日

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

創建者 S. J W

2016年2月27日

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

創建者 Paul C

2018年10月28日

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

創建者 Jesica M E D B

2016年8月22日

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

創建者 Nima Y Z

2020年11月8日

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

創建者 Mariana C

2020年3月28日

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

創建者 Priya

2016年12月21日

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

創建者 ahmed i

2017年1月17日

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

創建者 Digant K

2016年3月27日

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.

創建者 Michael K H

2021年5月26日

Very very good assignments. Peer grading was poor.

創建者 Zamzam A

2020年3月19日

I feel we need professional assignment reviews.

創建者 Mohammed A

2016年8月18日

Nice, informative, but basic and short.

創建者 Juliana C

2021年2月17日

The course is interesting, but the videos are not enough. The instructor is charismatic and friendly. I received very poor feedback from peers ('yes/no/good' answers without any useful information). I did get some useful feedback. And on the last assignment, the program algorithm doesn't match a reviewer which could force you to pay another month, just to get the last review and the certificate. The course is worth the $50, but the review/feedback system is terrible. I will not proceed with the remaining 4 courses (which would mean spending an additional $200). This is very sad, as I was excited about taking writing classes online. Maybe they can limit the number of participants and add a few TAs/mentors to give more valuable feedback.

創建者 Veronica K

2021年7月19日

The videos are useful, but the peer-graded system of assignments is not. I don't think that the feedback from people with the same (or worse) writing skills is in any way helpful. I've had to review very poorly written pieces, and I don't think that being reviewed by their authors in return can enhance my writing skills.

創建者 Sofía G M

2020年8月6日

I feel like, even though it is a course about PLOT, they should give you suggestions and advice when it comes to developing other parts of your story (characters, for example). Also, I think there should be multiple SHORTER activities for us to practice more instead of just one HUGE assignment at the end of each lesson

創建者 JENNIFER G

2020年8月16日

The pre-recorded lessons were good, but the assignments were unhelpful, as the peer critique process is highly flawed. Students need opportunities for professional critiques and face-to-face encounters with a cohort or associate professor...someone with some credentials or skin in the game.

創建者 Paulo S

2016年3月29日

I hope the instructions were cleary and not too vague that it was open to many interpretation. An example would have helped and the rubrics/criteria for grading should have been shown beforehand so students would be guided what points they would consider when making their piece.

創建者 Akshat J

2020年7月1日

Not all assignments were related to what was covered in the lectures, they were actually quite random. I enjoyed the course but I think I would have learned much more had this not just been about the very basics and discussing film plots! We already know that

創建者 Rachel C

2021年4月17日

Did not find this course engaging, definitely struggled to finish

創建者 Kathleen B

2019年6月27日

I completed my four assignments...I reviewed the work of others. Every time I log in I get a message that tells me I can finish in another two hours.... Finish what? I think I am finished, and can't find what more is required. I contacted Coursera. I chatted...the lady told me I was finished and that I would get a grade. I haven't gotten a grade.

So I'm out of here. I loved the coursework. It was excellent. I absolutely hate the website. Udemy works!

創建者 Song L

2020年10月27日

I only wanted to try the course but was charged $49 and non refundable! as soon as I heard the instructor started to talk about Harry Potter I was not interested and wanted to quit. Why was I charged $49 and cannot unenroll, and found nowhere to contact Coursera for refund?! This is cheating.