Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,386 個評分
1,134 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

MM
2016年11月30日

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

SD
2020年7月13日

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

篩選依據:

101 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 125 個評論(共 1,113 個)

創建者 Ricardo P

2019年6月17日

Well presented lectures by Brando Skyhorse and useful assignments with prompts to make you exercise the writing concepts laid out throughout the course. This is the first time that I have done a Coursera course and I am pleasantly surprised with the results. Thank you Brando, and thank you Coursera for allowing me to improve my creating writing skills from the comfort of my home.

創建者 Kalin Z S

2020年6月10日

Very useful course. Initially, I thought that lecture-wise it was very brief but actually it is very nicely condensed to the essentials that you need to write engaging stories and content. I have written 4 stories as part of each week assignments and have noticed an improvement in my writing and the feedback from other learners was quite good and constructive for the most part.

創建者 Joe M

2018年12月8日

Very well put together course. Gave me great insight on plot but especially editing and revision. I was pretty directionless when it came to revising my own work and the last week of this course was a excellent eye-opener. I have a way better idea how and what I should be changing instead of just re-writing everything a bunch of times. Looking forward to the next course!

創建者 Abdelkader s

2020年6月7日

I really enjoyed every moment of this course. What I have learned during this four weeks is extremely valuable and I hope that it will be benefecial for me in the near future. I would like to thank Mr Brando for his efforts, Wesleyan University who gave me this priceless experience, and all the other students with whom I exchanged reviews and opinions. THANK YOU ALL !

創建者 Nicolás S D

2020年5月28日

Realmente un curso muy interesante y dinámico. El tutor desarrolla muy bien los temas y el contenido es realmente provechoso. Las tareas son acorde al desarrollo de las lecciones y van generando un acumulado que permite reconocer el avance del estudiante en su escritura. Es un curso muy bien estructurado y el tutor está a la altura del mismo. Muy agradecido, saludos.

創建者 Muhammad Z

2020年5月14日

It was an amazing course. I was almost zero in creative writing when I started this course, and, now, I got the last assignment reviewed by my colleagues, and they were surprised and loved it.

Sir Brando Skyhorse made things look so easy.

Another surprising fact, I joined this course by mistake, but, now, I am thinking of taking the next courses in this specialization.

創建者 Akanshya A

2020年9月8日

The Course taught me things that I feel like I wouldn't have to know if not for the course. It taught me the right way of doing things that I love. It helped me understand the concept of the plot in a story better and how I can make mine interesting. I recommend it to everyone who is confused about how to start. This course is all the guidance you need. Thank You.

創建者 Federico B S

2018年5月30日

I liked this course a lot. It helped me get a better sense of the formal structure of narrative and what each part of a story is supposed to achieve. The exercises are great. The constraints the instructor set for them make them useful tools for grasping the concepts he explained during each module. Make sure you stick to the instructions and just try to have fun.

創建者 Karsen

2019年10月29日

Lots of practical advice to consider for beginning writers. I did not value the editing parts as much as the other parts, especially since this is the first course in the specialization, but the analysis of plot construction was useful. I liked how Brando used Harry Potter as an example of structure because I know that series well (and probably most people do).

創建者 Beth

2016年6月20日

I audited this course so I was locked out of submitting assignments; however, I would recommend this course to any creative writing beginner (like myself). The course was well organized and concise and the concepts were clear. It was easy to apply the concept to the assignments and I was surprised at what I was able to write as a result of auditing this course.

創建者 David F

2018年9月8日

Very informative and helpful introduction to scene construction. I now enjoy watching TV and reading stories which involve the ABDCE structure and I ask myself questions based on the 21-point revision process. It adds a whole new dimension for enjoying stories which makes this course worthwhile even if you have no intention of ever writing anything yourself.

創建者 Rain v S

2020年8月29日

This course was really well put together! I'm a content editing intern at a small indie publisher, so I wasn't sure how much I'd really learn- turns out a lot! Taking this course has already improved my editing and my ability to communicate with authors, as well as giving me more opportunities to flex my reviewing skills for my peers. Wonderful, thank you!

創建者 Rachel N

2020年9月7日

This course taught me the basics of crafting, and I learned that my story needs more revision than I wanted to admit before. The instructor is awesome, and I look forward to hearing more from him. His lessons were structured and based on his journey to be an author, which improved the positive vibe of the whole course, making it easier and more enjoyable.

創建者 Mihaela G

2020年5月7日

As a beginner to creative writing, the structure and the interviews the Professor used in this course helped me a lot with understanding. I could see myself improving my writing from one assignment to another. Also I became very aware of the writing structure when I am reading books written by well-known authors, which is a great way to learn further.

創建者 Rida K

2020年4月19日

This creative writing course got me out of my comfort zone and made me realise that your weaknesses in writing can become strengthens if you work hard enough. The people who graded my assignments were very helpful and always left comments on not only how to improve but also what they liked about the stories, this was a great confidence booster.

創建者 robin b

2020年7月6日

I had a hard time with this one.

I understood the rules, but sometimes writing about something you yourself find interesting doesn't necessarily fit easily into the required format.

Also, on one of assignments, half my summary got cut.

Plot is hard. I appreciate all the learning modules, found them quite inspiring.

I myself have a long way to go.

創建者 Maria-Isabel C

2017年12月5日

This was the first subject of the Creative Writing Course I took and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to write. After completing The Craft of Plot I was encouraged enough to continue with the other subjects of the specialization. Prof. Brando Skyhorse is clear and his teachings easy to follow and to understand. I really enjoyed it.

創建者 Cecilia F

2017年8月27日

Highly inspiring, comprehensive and interesting course. I learned a lot from the interesting lectures and talks, and was challenged to develop as a writer. The level of the assignments worked well for the timeframe, and the peer reviewing added a lot of new insights. I would really recommend this course and am looking forward to next module.

創建者 Ma. C D

2018年5月8日

This course was really helpful. It helped get my creative juices flowing again and give me direction. I love literature and I know the basics, but application is different. The assignments helped me implement not just the basics but the advanced knowledge I gained about writing literary pieces in just the first course of the specialisation.

創建者 Stephanie F

2020年5月13日

Content was presented clearly and with great details and examples to refer to as well. The professor was easy to follow and his ideas were helpful. I really enjoyed the conversations with other authors in the videos. They all provided great insight and were able to teach, but still inspire since they are active writers'/authors themselves.

創建者 Sasha M

2016年8月2日

Putting aside the use of the Coursera apps on Ipad and Iphone (which are beyond awful and made the experience of taking this course utterly frustrating), this course was outstanding. The student will be given sold information on how to organize, structure, and edit a story. All of the material was approachable and extremely useful.

創建者 Najwat R

2018年4月12日

Great course for aspiring writers. I had never written even a few sentences of fiction and I felt this course very effectively introduced me to all the basic elements needed to put a story together. The assignments were especially thoughtful. Thanks Brando and fellow learners who shared their valuable feedback and their own work.

創建者 Shellie K

2018年9月25日

I enjoyed the assignments and felt the instructor, Brando Skyhorse, was clear in his explanations and assignments. This course helped me organize and pace my stories in a meaningful way. It also reminded me of the power of revision. If you have to pick 1 course out of the entire series, this one is probably the one to pick.

創建者 Andrea C C S

2020年7月16日

This course is really good for starting, getting to know and think about some aspects about writing. Most importantly, you get to actually start writing, week after week. It also really makes a difference when you not only do it, but also share it with other people. That's the actual craft of the story after all, isn't it?

創建者 Ibrahim N

2016年11月11日

An excellent course which will lead you to the significant entrance into creative writing. I am a beginner writer and I think this course helped me a lot to understand the general philosophy and some methods in creative writing. I strongly recommend this course to every person who is interested in any kind of text writing.