Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,301 個評分
1,102 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

MM

Dec 01, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

SD

Jul 14, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

篩選依據:

926 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 950 個評論(共 1,084 個)

創建者 James B

Mar 16, 2016

It's a good course. The explanations of plot and scene have made me understand for the first time what writing fiction is all about, and for the first time I was bale to write fiction that is better than anything I had ever written before.

創建者 Eric W

Oct 08, 2020

While Peer Review is a great tool, and for the most part is implemented well in this course, it would also be nice if at least one assignment received instructor feedback of some kind. Otherwise, the class was very helpful and concise!

創建者 Dominique S

Apr 26, 2019

This was a decent class. There was a lot of interviews with other writers which I felt took up a lot of the class and was a little unhelpful. But it was a pretty decent class. I learned from it the sequence of what belongs in a scene.

創建者 Aditi C

Aug 30, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and it was really helpful to learn the basics of plot. I especially liked all the assignments. One thing that I would like to suggest is that maybe one final assignment should be graded by an instructor.

創建者 Khushi A M S

Apr 22, 2020

I really do love this course, it has taught me so many different things about writing. Being able to understand certain things from the point of view of an actual real-time author has helped me grow as an amateur writer.

創建者 Mogeeb A R M

Dec 26, 2019

Very useful. Very simple, with a very warm atmosphere throughout the sessions videos, and the way of grading, and it gives a great importance for sharing grades, stories and ideas which is very nice. I really enjoyed it.

創建者 Alexandra L

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed it very much. Having tried my hand at writing, this was very helpful to see my mistakes and where I needed to pay more attention to my own writing. And SHOW! don't tell. OMGoodness, makes such a difference.

創建者 Katrina C

Oct 02, 2019

I have enjoyed the course and liked the weekly flow of assignments. i have also enjoyed the tasks each session. i would have liked to receive at least one or maybe two professional reviews, instead of just peers.

創建者 Fred R

Dec 21, 2017

I think I miss somehow contact with teachers, maybe because I have the sensation some of my peers live in a different galaxy. Maybe it would be a good thing to scale the reviews. But anyhow, an excellent course.

創建者 Eyram D

Aug 01, 2020

This course was amazing and the professor gave us the necessary information required to write our stories. Also all the GUEST writers who shared their experiences and opinions with us gave us a stepping stone.

創建者 Francois C G

Sep 18, 2020

A good enough guide for lower-level writers, but all of the information can be found for free by listening to the Writing Excuses podcast. The real value is the crash course in peer review and receiving it.

創建者 Teresa S

Mar 23, 2018

I really enjoyed the course and felt I learned a lot. However, the reviews often were not helpful or very well thought out. I would be nice if there was some type of review from a professor or professional.

創建者 Ramesh I

Jun 18, 2020

many new ideas but with a limited scope. it is an interesting course where one can learn the basics well. I feel it can be stretched a bit more with a couple of more exercises and submissions as an option.

創建者 Cornelia M L

Mar 14, 2016

The course modules are helpful and easy to follow. I wish to give it 5 stars but because we, students, failed to experience the professor's feedback even in some of our thread, I think 4 stars are enough.

創建者 Harsha V

Sep 27, 2016

I loved doing the course, and especially while doing each assignment of writing a story. The short guiding videos were to the point and interviews with personalities was engaging, Thanks for the course!!

創建者 Naima M

Feb 16, 2016

Extremely innovative exercises and guidelines. Really opens one s brain to think creatively. The intructions for assignments need a bit more clarification.

A worthy ue of hard earned money.

Thanks Coursera

創建者 Victoria C L

Oct 24, 2016

Love the clear direct explanations. Would have enjoyed more examples, more robust practice examples and a longer class overall, to l earn more plotting, but love the prof. Brandon knows how to teach!!

創建者 sebastian o

Aug 30, 2020

Great intro course. Picked up a lot of things an excited to learn more. Only thing is that Brando Skyhorse takes things a bit too methodically for my taste. Good guidelines but would like more freedom.

創建者 Victoria C

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I was hoping for some direct teacher contact with the assignments. Peer reviews are great, but it would be nice to get feedback for major assignments from the instructors.

創建者 Andrea E M

Apr 23, 2018

This course really allowed me to grow as a writer. The content was adjustable for a range of levels and the assignments challenged participants to put into practice that week's lectures. Thank you.

創建者 Deepak S R

Jun 23, 2020

First of all, I would like to thank Mr. Brando Skyhorse for bringing this electric course for aspiring writers. Next to all peers. Meticulously, It is a well organised one. Highly recommended.

創建者 Andrea R C

May 17, 2019

I enjoyed the lectures, but it can be challenging to peer-review others and to be peer-reviewed when there is such a huge range in terms of writing skill and/or English fluency in the class.

創建者 Andreas J

Jul 25, 2017

It was rather good.

Delivered a lot of information on how to construct a plot, and some good basics on how to build a character.

Learning about the ABDCE structure in particular was helpful.

創建者 David C

Feb 01, 2018

The content of the course is very informative; however, the reviews from peers were, at times, unhelpful. For example, I was told by one reviewer that he/she liked that I used paragraphs.

創建者 Andreas W

Aug 03, 2016

I learned a lot about doing it the better way, than I did. What would have been cool: The essential graphics from the videos and some school material to print out and work with it.

THX!