Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,279 個評分
1,093 條評論

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

LB

Nov 16, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

SD

Jul 14, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

篩選依據:

926 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 950 個評論(共 1,072 個)

創建者 Teresa S

Mar 23, 2018

I really enjoyed the course and felt I learned a lot. However, the reviews often were not helpful or very well thought out. I would be nice if there was some type of review from a professor or professional.

創建者 Ramesh I

Jun 18, 2020

many new ideas but with a limited scope. it is an interesting course where one can learn the basics well. I feel it can be stretched a bit more with a couple of more exercises and submissions as an option.

創建者 Cornelia M L

Mar 14, 2016

The course modules are helpful and easy to follow. I wish to give it 5 stars but because we, students, failed to experience the professor's feedback even in some of our thread, I think 4 stars are enough.

創建者 Harsha V

Sep 27, 2016

I loved doing the course, and especially while doing each assignment of writing a story. The short guiding videos were to the point and interviews with personalities was engaging, Thanks for the course!!

創建者 Naima M

Feb 16, 2016

Extremely innovative exercises and guidelines. Really opens one s brain to think creatively. The intructions for assignments need a bit more clarification.

A worthy ue of hard earned money.

Thanks Coursera

創建者 Victoria C L

Oct 24, 2016

Love the clear direct explanations. Would have enjoyed more examples, more robust practice examples and a longer class overall, to l earn more plotting, but love the prof. Brandon knows how to teach!!

創建者 sebastian o

Aug 30, 2020

Great intro course. Picked up a lot of things an excited to learn more. Only thing is that Brando Skyhorse takes things a bit too methodically for my taste. Good guidelines but would like more freedom.

創建者 Victoria C

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I was hoping for some direct teacher contact with the assignments. Peer reviews are great, but it would be nice to get feedback for major assignments from the instructors.

創建者 Andrea E M

Apr 23, 2018

This course really allowed me to grow as a writer. The content was adjustable for a range of levels and the assignments challenged participants to put into practice that week's lectures. Thank you.

創建者 Deepak S R

Jun 23, 2020

First of all, I would like to thank Mr. Brando Skyhorse for bringing this electric course for aspiring writers. Next to all peers. Meticulously, It is a well organised one. Highly recommended.

創建者 Andrea R C

May 17, 2019

I enjoyed the lectures, but it can be challenging to peer-review others and to be peer-reviewed when there is such a huge range in terms of writing skill and/or English fluency in the class.

創建者 Andreas J

Jul 25, 2017

It was rather good.

Delivered a lot of information on how to construct a plot, and some good basics on how to build a character.

Learning about the ABDCE structure in particular was helpful.

創建者 David C

Feb 01, 2018

The content of the course is very informative; however, the reviews from peers were, at times, unhelpful. For example, I was told by one reviewer that he/she liked that I used paragraphs.

創建者 Andreas W

Aug 03, 2016

I learned a lot about doing it the better way, than I did. What would have been cool: The essential graphics from the videos and some school material to print out and work with it.

THX!

創建者 Abhinav T

Jan 19, 2017

A very good course on Plot by Brandon Skyhorse. Would have loved to go in more details into scene construction and structure. That is why gave it 4 stars, else it was a clear cut 5 star

創建者 Laura V

Feb 28, 2019

A great, easy-to-follow course that will suit anyone with a tight schedule. Navigating the website wasn't always straight-forward but I found all the information I needed in the end,

創建者 Ashlee S

Feb 27, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I would highly recommend it to new writers, old authors, editors, and anyone interested in stories. It was a great recap and refreshed the basics.

創建者 Bernat R

Aug 08, 2017

Before the course had teachers to evaluate and give counsel to the pupils. Perhaps that should be brought back. Still I see a useful point in making us review our peer's work

創建者 David A

Jun 05, 2020

Superb instruction with people who know their craft. My only reservation is this is strict "Peer Reviewed" and I would have appreciated my work evaluated by an instructor.

創建者 P. E K

Oct 06, 2018

Felt the student feedback was a little cursory and the lectures were a little too much watch and learn. But the content was wonderful and the professors were thoughtful.

創建者 Kaitlyn B

Aug 01, 2019

I have been writing since I was twelve, and this is the first time I've been able to clearly see what I need to do with my plots. This is good for writers at any stage.

創建者 Lena L

Sep 19, 2016

It makes you write a lot and that's the most important thing. However, there are some small inconsistencies in the materials, so additional reading might be recommended.

創建者 Subash G

Mar 03, 2017

Very good introduction class and i really learned a thing or two: particularly about the ABDCE structure and the guidance around always starting a scene with an action.

創建者 James D R

Feb 27, 2018

Great fun, with excellent and interesting video tutorials. I found the course to challenge me far more than I thought it would. It was a really rewarding experience.

創建者 Andrea G G

Mar 18, 2020

O curso dá uma boa base para quem deseja iniciar a carreira de escritor ao ensinar os aspectos mais importantes na construção de uma boa história. Super recomendo!