Chevron Left
返回到 Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Computational Thinking for Problem Solving 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,136 個評分
388 條評論

課程概述

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

熱門審閱

J

2018年12月18日

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

2019年2月3日

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

篩選依據:

326 - Computational Thinking for Problem Solving 的 350 個評論(共 391 個)

創建者 SHUBHAM P

2021年9月7日

5

創建者 Jennifer S

2021年7月25日

PROS: The course description appropriately targets beginners to the world of computational thinking and problem solving. The instructors provide a variety of universal examples to help students understand the step by step process leading to an introduction to python programming. The units are broken into very manageable lessons followed by quizzes and projects to assess understanding and provide an opportunity to apply what was incrementally learned.

CONS: There are jumps in content area knowledge when asked to move from instructional to mathematical logic. Personally, I had to do some googling to relearn basic mathematical skills to complete tasks successfully. It would have helped to have a transition or an example to refresh my math skills from over 40 years ago. Also, as an educator, I'm all for a peer review - especially, when peers are offering constructive criticism. Unfortunately, in this forum (not just UPenn Coursera courses), most students are just racing to get through the course and clicking on complete. I haven't any qualms with losing points to learn the error of my ways, but I lost a point to someone that commented, "Great Job!" without further explanation. With that said, there is also some discrepancy between the prompts and the rubrics. However, once you learn what to look for in the pattern of instruction and assessment, it's fairly easy to adjust.

創建者 Kingshuk D

2020年7月24日

The first 3 weeks were good content and testing, though i would request more questionnaires to test all concepts introduced. though i believe the content visuals & explanations could be improved, but that generally applies to most things we do anyway. Improvisation is a continuous process.

There is something humourous about the 4th week. The content and exercises appear to have been squished in with the same amount of haste like that of a student wanting to just finish the course( I was one of the students myself , so there!). The forum response rate went down as well (understandably!). In my humble opinion, the 4th week needed to be a bit more elaborate by at least 1 more week. More exercises with smoother notching up of complexity of exercises, testing out all possible concepts so that they get embedded deeper into the students' thought process irrespective of whether they take up computing later or not.

Thank you big time, Professors! :)

創建者 Reece M

2020年2月3日

Overall I thought this course was very well done. It was at a basic level, so much so that you didn't need a background in computational thinking or mathematics to take the course. This was very nice!

The explanations were very helpful and the videos were well done. The instructors were overall quite engaging and the concepts were well-motivated.

I think the capstone problem (the Corpus example) could be modified to make it more engaging and interesting. I think a different problem would be more suitable, as the description of the problem was somewhat difficult to digest.

Some of the compiling and checking of the solutions was a little challenging at times. Sometimes you had the correct answer, but needed to alter the solution somewhat to fit the criteria of the test. This was not necessarily a bad thing, but it was frustrating in Module 4.

Overall nicely done!

Reece

創建者 Daniel C

2020年8月16日

Very interesting course for beginners. In my professional environment, I am rarely exposed to this type of problem solving through coding (I am a CPA), yet, this course took me from zero to having a better understanding about how to "think" like a computer. One recommendation I would make is to somehow show students, onscreen, for each example on the PowerPoints, how each line of code is interpreted by the computer. The latter would clearly show things like why indentation is so important or how the computer understands a loop. Lastly, although I received multiple emails from the available support, it comes a point where you need somewhat of a live chat. Again, I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to wet his/her appetite for programming. Thank you for all the support and patience.

創建者 Christopher T

2020年11月22日

For the most part, the course is well paced and the content is explained clearly. However, the python module felt a bit rushed to me and the problem sets did not feel appropriate for someone with no prior python experience. I had to complete two other intro level python classes outside of this course in order to be ready to solve the final assignment in Computational Thinking. In the end, this class did challenge me quite a bit and I have learned about Python coding as a result, which was my ultimate goal in the grand scheme.

創建者 wharheit g

2021年4月26日

This was a great intro to algorithms. Definitely take notes and screenshots or refer back to the presentations for assistance with the quizzes and assignments. I definitely got to see how Computer Science can be applied to day to day activities and real-world problems to find solutions. I will say the only concern I had was that the examples provided in the presentations are way easier than what is asked of students in the assignments. It can be very time consuming but when you figure it out you feel amazing!

創建者 Ahmed S

2020年12月22日

This course learn you using Pillars of Computational Thinking (Decomposition, Pattern recognition, Data representation and abstraction, Algorithms ) to tackle problems and use flow-chart in case studies and write an algorithm to solve it to practice on it and this course ended by explaining computer history and architecture and teach you python but it needs more case study to work with it to enhance your this skills and some mentors to tell you what you miss and what you need to focus.

,

創建者 Wei Q

2022年2月6日

Overall, it's a great beginners course to develop a novel mindset when people consider problems. I like it's big idea and the high level of thinking methods, the four pillars of CT, except for... the last week's lesson. I guess it would too challenging for novice learners to finish the codes by themselves if some knowledge is not taught in the lecture. But, it's still a rewarding learning experience for me!

創建者 Igor P

2021年2月22日

Most of the course was helpful and understandable. Although the criteria for one of the examples remained unclear and controversial for real application.

Writing scripts in Python is not easy for beginners. Quite a lot of additional materials had to be done to really consciously complete the tasks. The support service responds for a long time, does not meet the deadlines set by them.

創建者 Alon H

2020年5月19日

Really well put together course, clear audio and beneficial visuals. The earlier phases of the course didn't provide clear guidance on what was looked for in grading, so it took a while to get adjusted. Sometimes explanations on why something was done in a video were skipped over, leading to a need to read the forums to get clarity. Learned a lot, and enjoyed the exercises!

創建者 Angelie X

2021年9月12日

It's a very beginner-friendly course for computational thinking. I like that the content is structured, interesting, and easy to follow. I also like that it doesn't jump straight into coding like most other courses. I do feel like the two case studies used in the course were a little confusing. I already know Python before so the second half of the course was easy for me.

創建者 Omar A

2020年12月9日

Was honestly a great course but the auto grade system was very tough for some quizzes. Where even if you had the correct answer but it displayed in a different way it would be considered a 0. Otherwise the instructors were wonderful to learn from and the one time I needed help I received it within 3 days and was able to finish the last quiz because of it.

創建者 Thaddeus P

2019年12月17日

A well thought out, progressive walk into python programming and the paradigm of computational thinking. There were a few exercises that left a few details slightly fuzzy, and some instructions that were not 100% clear, but not impossible to work through. Presenters spoke clearly and slowly, and were helpful in understanding topics.

創建者 Như P A N

2019年7月29日

Overall the course is interesting and informative to beginner. And this way of thinking is truly practical and helpful in the real life. But the last part of the course including the coding part is not truly adequate for the beginner, making the beginner has to go extra miles to be able to do it but I wondered its necessity.

創建者 CHUAN W

2020年7月9日

Great course!

I learned a little bit about python before, so this program really broad my eye about algorithms. The 4th week is somehow challenging especially for 4.7. but after complete it. I enhanced my knowledge about some key point in Python programming like class and object.

創建者 Robert B

2020年2月24日

Enjoyed the course very much. Only had issues submitting Assignments 4.7 and 4.8 to the Autograder. Running the code in the window would provide a correct answer but it wouldn't be accepted once submitted. Otherwise, I highly recommend this course.

創建者 MAURICIO C

2021年2月6日

This is not so easy, like some technicians could think, It requieres skills like order, method, and intuition about procedures, elements, steps, etc. I really recommend this course for beginners and intermediate programmers.

創建者 santiago p

2019年8月17日

Great course and content. The responsiveness to questions and issues in the forum was not the best and could be improved. Overall the course was well structured, engaging, and insightful. Feel great to start coding in Python.

創建者 Yash K

2021年8月13日

This course is helpful for learn and understood solution of any problem although by this course we got some knowledge of python programming. But at some point I'm also stuck but I completed it successfully. Thank you penn.

創建者 Nidhi A

2021年1月15日

IT is a very good course. That being said, week 4 should be spread over two weeks, and have more explanation in order to make the projects more manageable. I struggled with the last two projects.

創建者 Lluc R S

2019年1月18日

Useful course taught at an adequate rate. I recommend it for people who are interested in learning the basics of computational thinking, i.e. a systematic approach to problem-solving.

創建者 Elise N

2019年8月18日

The autograder can be somewhat of a pain and some of the solutions in the peer-review sections aren't the most efficient. Otherwise it helped teach the building blocks of coding.

創建者 Jessica K

2020年7月1日

Prior basic python knowledge will help with this course. Instructors were great. However the last week and its assignments need to tie in better with the overall course.