Chevron Left
返回到 Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation 的評價和反饋

4.9
199 個評分
68 條評論

課程概述

Chimpanzees are one of our closest living relatives, yet almost nothing was known about their behavior in the wild until Jane Goodall started her groundbreaking study of the chimpanzees of Gombe, Tanzania in 1960. This study continues today, following the same chimpanzee families that Jane Goodall first encountered over 55 years ago. Guided by three course instructors who have lived and worked with the Gombe chimpanzees, you will learn how Goodall’s early discoveries changed our view of human uniqueness. By completing the course, you will gain a new appreciation of the deep similarities between chimpanzees and humans in intelligence, tool use, hunting, personality and social relationships, as well as some key differences. You will learn how chimpanzees interact with their environment and how their behavior is influenced by ecology, as well as the severe conservation challenges they face today. And you will employ your new knowledge of chimpanzees to construct a persuasive argument for their protection. This course is open to everyone interested in learning more about these fascinating and complex beings. Knowledge of high-school level biology is beneficial but not required. Please keep in mind, however, that the content of this course will cover all aspects of chimpanzee life, including scientific discussion of sexual and aggressive behaviors....

熱門審閱

AK
2020年5月8日

I knew some about chimpanzees, but this just furthered my love and knowledge even more. The course was clear and easy to follow. You get what you put into the course, so take the take and learn!

JJ
2019年4月10日

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

篩選依據:

1 - Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation 的 25 個評論(共 68 個)

創建者 Jessica K

2019年7月29日

Whether you're a zookeeper, anthropologist, or simply a great ape enthusiast, this course is great for learning about and/or furthering your knowledge about chimpanzees.

創建者 Petra F

2019年8月20日

I REALLY enjoyed this course. The instructors of the course are very knowledgeable and they presented the material in a clear and concise way; short videos followed by practice quizzes, discussion forums, occasional readings, and the weekly assessments. The videos were just the right length and the entire structure of the course made it possible for me (working a full-time and a part-time job) to complete this course. I wish there would be more courses offered by the same professors on this topic. Excellent course!

創建者 KateLyn M

2019年5月13日

Very much enjoyed the new information learned and the way that it was presented. Each video and activities were informative and interactive. Overall a great experience! Next, I would love to see Duke do further classes on other ape species.

創建者 Joseph B J

2019年4月11日

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

創建者 Sophie W

2019年9月8日

This style of learning fit perfectly with my current work/life routine and the course content was very thorough and easily accessible! Loved this 5 week course.

創建者 Christine C

2019年9月10日

Great course! I learned so many things about chimpanzees. It will help me as a new caregiver aid in a chimpanzees sanctuary. Thank you very much!

創建者 TIFFANY J

2019年5月22日

This course was so interesting and helpful! I really hope more courses like this are designed for the other great ape species!!!

創建者 John C

2019年4月29日

I learned so much from this course. Very excellent information.

創建者 TATIANA V R H

2019年5月8日

The best course about chimpanzee

創建者 marly u r

2019年3月21日

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!

創建者 Editha S

2020年11月12日

I taught primatology at the University of Calgary from 1986-1991

and was curious to see new techniques or information from the field. I disgraced myself by not acing all the tests but you might want to examine the wording on the questions that I missed. In the question about advantages of group hunting I would agree that, in the long run, a lone hunter gets less meat but ,if he is successful in a single hunt and doesn't share, he gets more meat. Of course by age 76 my mind isn't what it used to be. Thanks for an interesting course.

M.E.Stephens

創建者 Abby L

2020年5月31日

I am a high school student, and this class was perfect. It was a fun and informative course that had its challenges but was understandable and wasn't too much of a time commitment. I learned so much and loved the professors of the course. This class inspired me to pursue some type of major in college that has to do with conservation/sustainability. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about chimpanzees and what they can do to help them.

創建者 Skye

2021年2月19日

I really enjoyed this course , I found it interesting and fun and I recomend it to people with a passion for wildlife , the environment and of course chimpanzees . This course has helped me understand more about maybe what I want to do as a caree in the future and it also taught me how I can help out with the environment. Also the instructors for this course are great and all their instructions are clear , so 5 stars,

創建者 Emily T

2020年8月18日

Incredibly informative, helpful and easy to digest. I know so much more about Chimpanzees and the important conservation efforts underway to preserve them and their environment. Considering how similar these great apes are to humans, learning all about their behavior was so interesting. I definitely feel a lot more informed. The modules were not difficult to follow and kept my interest throughout the whole thing.

創建者 Lynn H

2021年2月3日

I really enjoyed this course, it was well presented, in a level that was accessible and was enlightening!

Highly recommend this to anyone who has an interest in conservation, Chimpanzees, or rainforest.

This course interested me so much, that I went on a singed up for a degree in Animal Behaviour, welfare and conservation!

創建者 Jessii p

2020年5月7日

Very interesting course, I learned a lot that I really had no clue about, especially how cell phones affect Chimpanzee populations and how hard they are to track and study. The professors made all the course work easy to understand and retain, and the peer review projects we had to do at the end were great.

創建者 Kylee S

2020年6月7日

All three instructors explained the information very well. The course was easy to follow, in a format that made it very easy to look back at any information or notes I needed to review. I took this class for fun, but I learned a lot of information that I believe will help me in my future career path.

創建者 Snigdhodeep M

2020年5月8日

This course was extremely helpful. I gained a lot of valuable knowledge from this. The course materials were very comprehensive and provided a lot of insights. This also shares a lot of information which has changed my perception on chimpanzees. Highly recommended!

創建者 Billie H

2020年2月7日

Up to date and relevant information throughout the 5 weeks, various topics are covered and it was fun to complete. This is a great course for any body instrested in Chimpanzees, Chimpanzee conservation or becoming a zookeeper. Thoroughly enjoyed this course.

創建者 Khalid A

2020年5月18日

I liked this course a lot. It was informative, mind opening and actually fun. I was enjoying each lesson. The instructors are well spoken and the material is clear. Nevertheless, don't expect to learn a lot of skills, it is mostly information.

創建者 Lorenzo G

2020年7月27日

Brilliant. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Just a shame you don't talk about other sanctuaries other than the JGI ones. Still, I strongly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in knowing our hairy relatives.

創建者 Laura I

2021年2月14日

This was great! I have started a number of other courses just for fun or to learn about a certain topic covered within that course. This was the first one I finished and it was excellent! I am so sad that it is done.

創建者 Martina

2020年5月26日

Beautiful and really interesting course where you will learn so much about this beautiful creatures. It was pleasure to listen lectures of great teachers and to be part of this journey with chimps. I will miss it!

創建者 Erma A

2020年9月13日

I found the class very informative and learned a lot of new information about chimp behavior and conservation. My admiration for Jane Goodall was already high and it has only been confirmed by this course.

創建者 stephanie a

2021年2月23日

Good, interesting. I liked how you involved us in monitoring real footage and how you made it warm and personal. My only question is why are there no male researchers? thank you for these great 5 weeks!