Chevron Left
返回到 C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals

學生對 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals 的評價和反饋

4.5
5,379 個評分

課程概述

This course is for everyone. In the new world we live in, coding is a universally valuable skill, whether you're a scientist, artist, or a humanist. Algorithms are everywhere, and we all have to understand how they work. The C language is particularly well suited as an introduction to coding: It's a tried-and-true language, and it allows you to understand computing processes at a deep level. No prior knowledge of coding is needed for this course. We'll start at the beginning. The time estimated time commitment for this course is five hours a week for five weeks....

熱門審閱

MA

2020年6月21日

I am really happy I did this course. The instructor is a really experienced teacher. This course gave a good start for learning the fundamentals and moving onto complex programming languages like C++.

VD

2020年8月19日

Great course to gain a foundation in C programming! The video lectures, coding examples, and peer reviewing of assignments allows one to learn quick and in real time. Would definitely recommend it.

篩選依據:

1451 - C for Everyone: Programming Fundamentals 的 1475 個評論(共 1,521 個)

創建者 Leandra M

2022年5月3日

Very disappoining course. I give this course a 2 on a scale of 0 to 5. Instead of this course, I recommend potential students look at other C programming courses.

Teaching Style: The course is taught in an old style, where there are many lectures covering theory without practical examples. The newer and better teaching style is to teach a bit of theory, practice writing code with some practical exercises, then present more theory, then more practice writing more code. In this course one of the weeks in this course is only lectures. For that week it would have been nice to get some breaks between the lectures to practice writing code using the concepts that were just presented.

The concept of presenting lecture material hand written on a white board is terrible. It is difficult to read the scribbling and cursive writing. The lecture material could be much better presented if it was printed in a Word document or on a Powerpoint slide, or in a graphical computer tool.

The whole course is poorly assembled. There appear to be missing lectures. One of the lectures refers to another lecture that does not exist in the course. The assignments are poorly defined. To complete the assignments outside research is required to learn about functions and concepts that are not taught in the course. In two of the quizes, answers are incorrect. The final exam has questions that have nothing to do with writing C code.

An example of a much better Coursera course for teaching style is "Python For Everyone". I can highly recommend that course. The material is presented in a practical manner, the lecture presentations are easy to read and follow along, and there are many opportunities to practice writing code.

創建者 Deleted A

2021年7月8日

I found this course hard to follow, the instructor is quite aged and while he was a very accomplished instructor and author of several books on the C and C++ programming languages he can be difficult to follow and the content very dry. It consists solely on video lectures and writing code with virtually no instruction or support.

The course is also structured on his book 'A Book on C' which was last published in 1998. There is no link to the book, no pdf of the book available and the book is ~$70 to purchase new. I was able to find a used one online for about $10 luckily but was still of little help. In addition this course does not cover any of the fundamentals of programming, it just goes straight into programming in C.

In addition, the discussion forum is of little value or use. On this platform there is peer reviews for your work and the discussion board is filled with people trying to circumvent the review process by getting others to review their code before submitting for review, it defeats the purpose and inundates the discussion board. When you do post up a real question there is virtual silence, no instructor, no one to help you so you feel totally left out and on your own.

It is a shame, I was really looking forward to this course and there are certain aspects I do like and I wish I did not have to drop the course, but paying $50 per month for a course I find myself falling further behind with zero support system is not a smart financial or educational investment.

創建者 Darren K

2021年1月4日

While it does teach the fundamentals as claimed, it's pretty lacking in quality. There are typos, poorly explained assignment prompts, and poorly formatted questions. One good thing about this course is that it goes into a bit more detail about the specifics of the language. However, it is not enough to make up for the lack in content quality as well as poor explanation of the more advanced concepts. Also, the course teaches C89, which can be helpful to know. However, it would be more helpful to teach more modern versions of C, and even then, this course does not clearly spell out the requirements of C89, which means that students do not properly learn the stricter syntax demanded by C89. Overall, this course is not one I would recommend for someone just entering the field of computer programming.

創建者 Saptarshi B

2022年5月26日

Prof. Pohl is obviously a very scholarly person and he knows his stuff. The lectures are also good if you can get past the handwritten stuff. As others mentioned, you need to listen to this at 2x speed. What makes this course poor are the following:

1. Not covering many important topics or covering key topics like pointers,makefile, memory managment very superficially.

2. Lack of many programming practice problems and no automated testing to really test your solution. So you do not learn much unless you practice elsewhere.

To contrast, the Dartmouth C course in Coursera seems to be better organized.

創建者 Neon D

2021年4月14日

I wish this was advertised or titles just a little differently. Im somoni who is very new to programming so i expected that we'd be starting out going over the fundamentals step by step. Unfortunately, around video 2-3 of the course, i was smacked in the face with some programs that the instructor made and...how am i supposed to take notes when i dont even know what im being shown on an even fundamental level. Maybe i misinterpreted the course wrong, but ill leave the review based on my experience for now.

創建者 Austin Y

2020年5月24日

while while early weeks of the course are good for genuine beginners, later weeks are really annoying due to assignments that have absolutely no background on how to code various required elements. if you are looking to code but be annoyed at the same time take this course. might as well teach yourself by using google just like how this course forces you to do anyway.

創建者 Supantha R

2020年7月21日

I do not like this course.The instructions are not well enough for online course.The contents are not clear enough to understand.They should have made this course more user friendly.There must a different way for assessment.

創建者 Ralph H

2022年2月2日

The gap of skill level for the tasks is very high. First very easy and then you a task where you need some skills. The quality of the videos is better at some "youtube" tutorials which are for free.

創建者 Oriol V P

2021年2月3日

El curso bien....

Otros estudiantes de habla inglesa no facilitan ..... todo el nivel de adaptación a la comprenssión es tuyo, Por consiguiente pierdes puntos en las pruebas de codigo

創建者 Omar K

2020年12月27日

Not recommend for beginners at all. A lot of point skipped or not completely explained. Poor hand-written slides.

Don't enroll if you are a beginner and need to learn the basics.

創建者 seda.

2021年5月18日

Unfortunately I had to drop this course as it is not a beginner friendly and the syllabus is prepared for the people who have underlying knowledge about fundamentals.

創建者 Masihullah H

2020年12月12日

the lectures were hand written on a board which was not readable

I would suggest the professor to use a typed material like ppt etc

創建者 Rene A L

2020年10月22日

For a beginners course, not many basic topics are explained.Videos could be enhanced using power point slides

創建者 Zyad W K

2020年8月24日

the quality of the course drops like a snowball the more we get into the course, it started off great tho

創建者 Warda Y S

2021年6月8日

I think this course is helpful but it has some confusion so i hope you will correct it

創建者 Jacob B

2021年11月5日

The professor is just talking as he programs. You arent being taught, but showed.

創建者 Bsef19m519-MUHAMMAD H M

2020年5月28日

Your writing on the board is very difficult to understand

創建者 1ds18ee071 A

2021年9月16日

Compiler should have been integrated with the course .

創建者 Neel D

2022年1月28日

it is not good as expected

創建者 18wh1a0561 V R

2020年5月21日

the course was good .

創建者 UTKARSH A

2020年6月14日

booring explanation

創建者 Mohit N

2020年6月23日

very hectic course

創建者 ANIKET P G

2020年6月14日

NOT PROPER VICE

創建者 Aditi U

2020年12月1日

very good

創建者 Beckett C

2022年6月17日

no