Chevron Left
返回到 Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding

學生對 斯坦福大学 提供的 Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,380 個評分
354 條評論

課程概述

Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding was designed for new mothers and the people who support them. This engaging, one-week learning experience, provides participants with everything they need to know to more successfully establish breastfeeding – or support a new mother who has decided to breastfeed. We created the course because we recognize that there is a very small window in which successful, exclusive breastfeeding can be established, and that many new mothers are mastering this skill during a busy and sometimes stressful time. Brought to life by beautiful illustrations and interviews with international mothers, we hope to reach the broadest spectrum of mothers, helping them understand the current recommendations, challenges, benefits and practical considerations around breastfeeding - while simultaneously inspiring them to consider breastfeeding as the first choice for feeding their babies. And now for the legal stuff... Disclaimer of Warranty and Limitation of Liability THE INFORMATION IN THIS COURSE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY REPRESENTATION, OR WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED. DIGITAL MEDIC AND STANFORD MEDICINE ARE NOT LIABLE FOR ANY TYPE OF LOSS OR INJURY, OR ANY DAMAGES WHETHER DIRECT OR INDIRECT, ARISING FROM USE OF THIS COURSE. This course is not a substitute for the advice, diagnosis or treatment by an appropriately qualified and licensed physician or other health care provider. Copyright 2018 Stanford University. The course videos must be used according to the term of our Creative Commons License available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/: free distribution with attribution, no commercial use, no derivatives....

熱門審閱

LL

2018年3月19日

This course is very helpful to me to prepare for my baby's arrival. I have learned a lot from the benefits of breastfeeding and will absolutely choose this practice in raising my own child.

NB

2018年3月24日

Excellent course! The information given in the course is relevant, accurate and very important for the health and future of our babies. Congratulations on the 100% Breastfeeding campaign!

篩選依據:

326 - Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding 的 350 個評論(共 357 個)

創建者 YELSI P

2020年4月18日

It's a course that promotes breastfeeding and try to educate about the benefits of this practice. But the course name suggests that it will have a lot more information about the breasfeeding practice itself, such as best positions, techniques, advices, troobleshooting. So, it could be a little disappointed for mothers or moms-to-be.

創建者 Daniela S

2020年5月22日

Could go more in depth with help on latching, cracked nipples. They abide by 6 months but should put out there that if a mother really has to go back to work and pumping causes a decrease in milk production that by 4 months IF the baby has lost de extrusion reflex and can sit upright they can start introducing food.

創建者 Debra D W

2022年1月2日

Good for those with a short attention span. Gives information in very small bites. The questions in the quiz require a much deeper understanding of breastfeeding than the 2-4 minute video clips can convey. Curious about the coars and took it because I have appreciated Stanford Videos on youtube.

創建者 ana

2020年3月2日

Even thought it provides good information, it's very basic and it's a more global perception of breastfeeding more that myths, techniques and challengues of the practice of breastfeeding, that is basically the reasons why this practice fail sometimes.

創建者 Nina L

2018年6月12日

I didn't learn something new during this course. I think for people who have no experience at all with breastfeeding, or with the benefits of breastfeeding it is a good course. But if you already did breastfeeding before I don't think it adds a lot.

創建者 Shannan C S

2020年5月5日

This course provided an interesting background on the benefits of breast feeding from a global perspective. It could be improved by including more practical tips on establishing a good latch, storing milk, etc.

創建者 Rebecca F

2020年2月18日

great basis of information however i was hoping for a more in-depth look at the chemistry and biological functions of breastfeeding, as well as how to assist in proper latching etc as a birth professional

創建者 Courtney K

2018年3月24日

Provided only basic information, but it was still helpful to get thinking about the topic. I was hoping to learn about techniques as I don't have a person to mentor me throughout the infant period.

創建者 Mary C

2018年5月16日

This course will not help you know how to breastfeed, but will give you insight on why you should (and exclusively) and general safety guidelines if you need to use formula.

創建者 Daniel O R

2020年4月22日

No se explico las posiciones ideales para una buena lactancia materna, tampoco se hablo del tiempo que puede permaneces optima la leche extraida antes que se malogre.

創建者 Claudia R D l P

2020年4月14日

Es cierto que es un curso básico sobre lactancia materna, pero me hubiera gustado recibir actualizaciones sobre el tema.

創建者 Jennifer B

2019年11月6日

I felt like the course had good information but I felt discriminated against as a white American woman.

創建者 Maria B D D

2020年5月3日

I thought this course would provide more insights into the techniques behind breastfeeding.

創建者 ariel e

2021年7月22日

​I thought there would be more in-depth information on how to help mothers breastfeed

創建者 Constance R

2020年1月24日

I thought this would be a more of a how to course

創建者 Burcu D Y

2021年3月19日

The topics were mostly repetitive.

創建者 Neha T

2020年9月23日

I need more advanced level course

創建者 Ekin E

2021年4月13日

The course is about 20% information, 15% repetition of information, and 65% breastfeeding propaganda. I personally agree that breastfeeding is preferable to formula feeding in an overwhelming majority of cases, but I do not see why presenting the scientific data in a concise, easy to understand manner was considered insufficient, and the authors felt the necessity to fluff up the content by opinions of apparently random people of different ethnicities from around the world. "People like us", I presume. So, should we be making such decisions based on opinions of others? And if you show people the opinions of only pro-breastfeeding mothers, that should be helpful in tipping the balance of opinions they receive and make them supporters of breastfeeding because... we assume that they cannot think for themselves based on facts alone, and need ready-made opinions to be bottle-fed to them, too? Is the case for breastfeeding so weak that it cannot be supported on facts alone?

Parts of the advice was well supported by reasons, but the rest was just offered as the best practice without any evidence as to why. Why is it best to keep breastfeeding until the child is 2 or older? Because this provides passive immunity for the child. OK. Perhaps we should keep it up till the child is 5? 7? 12? Maybe there is a critical cut-off point, considering the development of the child's immune system, around age 2, but we do not need to know. Opinions are all we need. It is stated that breastfeeding is the best option for an HIV positive mother to feed her child. Period. No alternative views are possible. It may well be the case. But I am not convinced. Please tell me why. Or maybe just have a random woman tell me that it is the best thing to do without indicating why, and I will become a believer.

The quizzes provide good examples but why was it necessary to give names to mothers in those scenarios? Is it a psychological aid? Would people not be able to empathize without it? Will the people in rural villages in Brazil, who may or may not have access to clean drinking water, but somehow have access to the internet, enroll in this MOOC, but might feel a bit alien so we help them out by making the protagonist of the case "Maria Eduarda, a 21-year-old woman living in a rural village in northern Brazil"?

The cause is good, the intention is good, but the course is not. I believe people are smarter than this. Yes, people outside of medical profession, too. Yes, people outside of first-world countries, too. So no need to patronise so much. Cheers.

創建者 Zarah F

2021年5月14日

While I found this breastfeeding course very simple and informative, all of the examples of mothers who were unsure of breastfeeding/practicing unsafe practices were from Eastern countries. This course implies that Eastern societies are the only group that are misinformed about breastfeeding practices, although this is very much present in Western countries like the US, Canada, etc. Using a diverse range of names from around the world would improve this course and improve stereotypes, biases, and assumptions. Additionally, the course mentioned that a non-breastfeeding mother would not have a comparable bond with their child. While breastfeeding remains the goal, it is important to be understanding of others’ decisions and sensitive to this.

創建者 Bonner C

2020年10月5日

There's a lot of "breastfeeding is better" with very little science to support that information. It has a couple helpful tips on how to properly latch the baby and the mechanics behind how breastfeeding works, but I'd like to see more data and scientific research to support what they're saying.

You would think that a Stanford course would teach critical thought, rather than just do as I say. To be clear, I agree that breastfeeding is better, but tell me what data led you to this conclusion (otherwise it's just an opinion).

創建者 Olga B

2021年11月9日

Unfortunately, no useful information at all. 2 main points from this course - you should exclusively breast feed and the latch should be wide. Absolutely no information regarding why some women don't have milk or enough milk, what to do if latch is correct but breastfeeding is painful, what to do if your child is in intensive care unit for 1-2 weeks, what to do if you have mastitis and so on and so on.

創建者 Gladkova D

2020年2月3日

The main mind of this cours was "Breast-feeding is right choise for every mom''. I'd got usefull information about the beginning of breast-feed. But for me also interesting would be know how to care about breast in this time, how to choose spesial bra maybe, and if you'll want to stop your brestfeed - how to do this more comfortable for baby.

創建者 Sarah D

2021年5月8日

Focused far too much on why formula feeding is bad... I was hoping for more tips and tricks on successful breastfeeding.

If someone is taking this course it is clear they are planning on breastfeeding, but this course spent 95% of its time telling you should breastfeed.

創建者 Deborah m

2021年4月27日

I would have like to see more techniques on how to breastfeed correctly, only one video taught about baby positions during lactation and how to do a proper latch. I would have like to see more on that and more tips on how to breastfeed.

創建者 Ryden A

2021年9月13日

Does not mention that it's focused on exclusive breastfeeding, several statements are inconsistent or incorrect, and language (kind of everything) should be updated to be more inclusive. It was kind of uncomfortable, to be honest.