Chevron Left
返回到 Astro 101: Black Holes

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Astro 101: Black Holes 的評價和反饋

4.8
631 個評分
218 條評論

課程概述

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

熱門審閱

SK
2020年7月30日

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB
2020年7月26日

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

篩選依據:

201 - Astro 101: Black Holes 的 220 個評論(共 220 個)

創建者 Steven G

2019年7月9日

An excellent introductory course into the physics of black holes. I only gave it four stars since I felt it could have had more mathematics content for students that want to dig a little deeper into the material.

創建者 Shivanshu K

2020年7月5日

This is a pretty good course give you a really good insight into the Black holes. The only problem I had was that most of the queries are unanswered, which is a little problematic in cementing the foundation.

創建者 Kirubarani.T

2020年5月16日

Super course...there are many informations about black holes are presented. and their communication language was easily understand to all..thank you so much for offer the course

創建者 Lionel L R Q

2020年7月5日

Pretty decent course for an introductory level. However, the teaching assistants aren't that responsive so you got to wait a little longer. Overall a satisfactory course.

創建者 Harry B

2020年9月5日

Lots of interesting information about black holes and ongoing research about them. Only very rudimentary math needed for the course.

創建者 Simone A R

2020年12月28日

This is an incredible course through all the different aspects of black holes. I recommend it to anyone interested in astrophysics

創建者 Mikaeel S

2019年9月16日

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

創建者 keith b

2019年7月2日

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science

創建者 Vincent W L

2020年7月26日

Prof. Morsink and team, very educational and easy to understand course.

創建者 Abdessamad M

2019年5月10日

Good course, it introduced me to the black hole theory in a easy way.

創建者 Joy S

2018年9月3日

Fascinating. Plus they get into Star Trek. Pretty technical, though

創建者 Pattadon N

2020年6月15日

I think the lecture should have pictures and colors.

創建者 KAUSTUV L

2020年5月28日

Could involve a little more mathematics.

創建者 Oleksandra O

2020年5月10日

All movies were cool.

創建者 Marc B

2019年1月26日

This course is very well produced and interesting. However, it is not challenging enough. It should at least propose a weekly set of problems (possibly on a voluntary basis) requiring a modicum of physics and math skills. As it stands, it tells a pretty story but does not allow a student to grasp how the story was put together. I gained much information about BHs and other celestial objects, but zero new skill. In addition, I find that lecturers reading prompters make for lifeless presentations that are not clearly superior to being assigned to read a transcript or book chapter. I thought that the staff engaged very effectively with the students on the forum.

創建者 Joseph C

2020年11月24日

Oftentimes one gets the impression that some of the lecturers have no idea what they are talking about; they appear to be reading from scripts off their computers. I also have the feeling that the overall course can be more "instructive" if the material is organized differently. This is a class for novices, not for experts, and it may not be necessary for a course lasting "10 weeks" to give the novice a useful overview of the subject.

創建者 Jessie A

2020年8月14日

Im convinced some of the questions have all wrong answers regardless. Its a very detailed course which is good but found myself getting bored often.

創建者 Salman A N

2018年12月22日

A good course, with satisfactory content, good for physics undergraduate students and others fascinated by the beauties of the cosmos.

創建者 Dennis M G

2020年12月14日

Too many instructors. Exams do not qualify what is taught. Poorly constructed.