Chevron Left
返回到 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的評價和反饋

4.4
947 個評分
271 條評論

課程概述

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

熱門審閱

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

篩選依據:

226 - Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的 250 個評論(共 266 個)

創建者 Roger T

May 01, 2016

This is not a beginner's course unless you already have previous programming experience. The Python lessons are just samples taken from a completely different curriculum on Codecademy and poorly integrated into the bio-centric course content. The lessons are disjointed, taken out of context, and some of the examples are using the wrong version of Python and missing parentheses. It would be a lot better if they took the time to actually craft custom Python lessons designed specifically for this course instead of using ill-fitting lessons from other classes.

創建者 Joseph B

Oct 23, 2019

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

創建者 Renée H

Jun 15, 2020

If you have no experience with programming, I definitely recommend completing the Learn Python course on Codecademy first. I think Biologists will find the concepts introduced later in this course difficult to grasp, and I still don't fully understand them. Nonetheless this course is a good introduction into programming for bioinformatics.

創建者 Nethraa K

Jun 14, 2017

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

創建者 Laura B

Jul 07, 2020

I'd give it a 2.5, but I managed to learn something in the end, even though it was through the other students rather than through the course lecture itself. The professors should really consider renaming the course to be a more accurate representation of the content. We learned more about DNA that coding in this course.

創建者 Xiaoyu L

Mar 31, 2018

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

創建者 Prashant M

Jul 23, 2017

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.

創建者 Grzegorz A K

Nov 04, 2016

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

創建者 Clive T

Mar 26, 2020

Disappointing lack of feedback from any course organiser (most recent response seemed to be about two years old). The biological content tailed off to become much more of course in programming for search algorithms

創建者 Akinyi O

May 19, 2020

Some background knowledge on coding is definitely needed for this course, despite the info saying none is needed. The progress expected is way too fast for an actual beginner with no coding experience.

創建者 Saadman K

May 26, 2020

This is not for beginners. You need to know more about python to complete it easily and the time limits of Stepik is not correct. It needs far more time than mentioned.

創建者 James O

Sep 16, 2019

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

創建者 Pablo R M

Mar 13, 2020

Not truly for beginners. If you don't have previous knowledge of Python and algorithms expect to invest a lot more than 4 hours a week

創建者 Osimhiarherhuo A O

Apr 28, 2020

This course although well taught does not take into account those that know nothing about programming

創建者 Linyi Z

Jun 21, 2017

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

創建者 Isiaka B A

Jun 19, 2020

This course is not for beginners. It is for those with background computer knowledge

創建者 Rubén d S I

Feb 20, 2017

Very interesting but i don't like switching e-learning platforms

創建者 Laura D C L

May 04, 2020

Useful but terribly difficult, it is not for beginners

創建者 Dr. A A M

May 20, 2020

The coding is too tough for beginners

創建者 Zsuzsanna Z

Apr 30, 2019

You have to be very dedicated and have high frustration tolerance if you are actually a beginner in programming. This course expects you to complete the Codecademy Python Course in advance (which will take you several weeks) but it still won´t be enough to really keep up with the bioinformatics concepts that are introduced. Also, the explanations in the course itself are very, very rudimental, although the optional videos do a better job here.

All in all, I am glad I had the possibility for learning something new and I fought myself through the course but please don´t believe that it´s suitable for beginners.

創建者 Rohit P

Jun 04, 2020

Not one i would recommend to a beginner. I feel not so well by this course haha. It was tough, very tough for a biologist [ Primatologist/Zoologist ] like me but ofcourse i fought through & finished it. However, if any beginner wants to start this, i would recommend they learn Python atleast to the advanced level before approaching this course. That would make this fine. Also, the hours denoted to all weeks are not correct. Some weeks have 4 hours mentioned as the required time but those were the weeks that required me to put in 16+ hours. Cheers for the efforts to the team though.

Thanks!

創建者 Daniel F P

Feb 15, 2020

As a biologist without any programming skills, I found this course REALLY difficult. That was totally unexpected as the description of the course states that no programming skills are necessary. I thought really hard to learn the Python by resolving Codeacademy exercises while trying to implement the language to solve the book problems. In other words, I felt that the platforms used in this course were very disconnected. In my opinion, it would be easier to learn python by directly learning how to solve simple biological questions instead of complicate ones presented in the book.

創建者 Graham

Sep 06, 2017

This course replies heavily (almost entirely) on codeacademy to teach the coding material. Unfortunately, the material chosen for this course does not line up with the courses supplied by codeacademy. If you want to follow the lesson plans as outlined here, you need to do multiple extra courses on codeacademy before you can reach the material discussed in the coursera lesson. As such, the estimated time for completion is drastically lower than the actual time to completion for people new to coding.

創建者 Shyam P

Jun 16, 2018

The quizzes were extremely annoying, they weren't hard but for example with the final quiz: I would properly calculate the normalized probabilities but every possible version of me rounding it was incorrect. I proceeded to show a friend who has a PhD in mathematics and he was equally stressed by questions like this

創建者 Anhiti S

Jun 10, 2020

The external tool was too complex for a beginner in programming, which defeats the purpose of the exercise. This made me lose interest very quickly.