Chevron Left
返回到 双语大脑

學生對 休斯敦大学系统 提供的 双语大脑 的評價和反饋

4.6
213 個評分
43 個審閱

課程概述

This course explores the brain bases of bilingualism by discussing literature relevant to differences in age of initial learning, proficiency, and control in the nonverbal, single language and dual-language literature. Participants will learn about the latest research related to how humans learn one or two languages and other cognitive skills....

熱門審閱

ZR

Jan 18, 2018

This course helped me in understanding various aspects of how brain and mind works and how we can use these knowledge for studying different languages and also when we multitasks

SC

Oct 31, 2016

A great course for those who are interested in the fascinating bilingual research going on in area. Clearly stated, up-to-date literature shared.

篩選依據:

26 - 双语大脑 的 43 個評論(共 43 個)

創建者 Angelina L

Feb 15, 2017

Very useful and scientific oriented

創建者 Vita d G

Apr 06, 2018

Loved it. I hope there will be a follow up. I still have many questions about bilingualism

創建者 Lisa G

Jul 03, 2017

I would have liked deeper explanations of the charts and diagrams that were used so it's easier for those of us not familiar with the studies or brain images to understand.

Overall I really enjoyed the class! I'm getting my MA in Linguistics and Language Acquisition in the fall, and this was a great warm-up into that.

創建者 Isabel F

Jan 12, 2018

I enjoyed the course and learned quite a bit, yet I agree with all the improvements suggested by others here in the review section. Just videos and the same quizzes over and over is a bit monotonous. But still, I would recommend the course for anybody interested in the subject matter.

創建者 Elena A

May 04, 2017

Very good context, yet the modules could be better distinguished.

創建者 Luna L

Dec 17, 2016

The content of this course is really interesting and intriguing, but it would better if there are additional sources and information. Also, instead of mainly picture the teacher in the video, it would be nice if there could be more graphics and diagrams to illustrate the idea that the professor is trying to convey. Besides those minor deficiencies, I would say that this is a really good course and will worth your time.

創建者 Carolina A V S

Jun 09, 2018

Very interesting information. Good course.

創建者 Djana R

Jun 02, 2018

Good course.

創建者 Tyson P d M U

Oct 07, 2019

Very interesting and informative. Many aspects make you think of language, the mind, and the brain in a different way. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

創建者 Fleur V

Jun 04, 2018

Nice to get basic information. For me it was a bit too basic.

創建者 Timo C

Jun 19, 2017

The information in this course is excellent, and the lecturer and his assistant explain things very clearly. As a bilingual person and teacher of bilingual students, finding out about what research tells us about how the brain operates when using more than one language is super interesting.

I would give this course more stars, but the problem is that the interactive features of the course are dead. There is a weekly forum, but posting there will not result in a reply, neither by students nor by the professors. There are weekly 'office hours' videos, but these reference questions from an earlier run-through of the course, so that feels a little strange to watch. Other areas for improvement are that there are no reading materials at all, though lots of research is referred to (Prof. Hernandez is very knowledgeable in his field). Also, the quiz/exam system becomes very predictable, and someone taking notes in a smart way can easily score 100% on the exam, provided questions 53 and 56 are fixed. At the moment, it is not possible to score higher than a 98% in total for the course.

創建者 Olga D

Feb 26, 2017

Thanks for providing lots of interesting materials! As for me, i would prefer having more advanced tests and tasks as the given ones did not really help me remember the materials. I would also appreciate having some additional materials on the brain areas in this course, since this area was completely new to me.

創建者 Anna C

Apr 21, 2018

When it comes to the material, the presentation, the structure of the course I really liked it. However I would prefer different tasks for weekly quizzes not just questions and their repetition at the final exam.

創建者 Carla L R

Nov 27, 2017

While the topics in this course are very interesting and Arturo Hernández does an excellent job explaining each topic in great detail, the tone of voice in the lectures can be a bit unpleasant and so the focus of attention may vary sometimes.

創建者 Anna D

Aug 16, 2018

Interesting insights to the (hypothetical) works of a bilingual brain; however, not practical enough and not giving insights into actualization of the second language or indeed any practical implications whatsoever. I'd much prefer a practical course on how to work with multilingual children and adults, developing their skills and deepening their ability.

創建者 Ema N

Mar 02, 2018

I think the subject matter is fascinating and am imagining that Dr. Hernandez's research in the field is cutting edge. However, he isn't a very good lecturer (rambling and not very clear). Sometimes his message is not clear (even listening a few times and reading the transcript), and it was difficult trying to locate the original research that he's talking about, because no written references are provided and one can't even really be sure of how the authors' names are spelled.

Having taken several Coursera courses, I was also severely disappointed in the lack of interaction with other learners. The forums are mostly abandoned, and there appear not to be any humans behind the running of the course. It's like on autopilot since after its first run in 2014.

All in all, I think the content would be most interesting if presented better, but it was a disappointing, if not downright frustrating, Coursera experience. I do hope the University of Houston System considers updating and improving it.

創建者 olivier h

Feb 24, 2018

The subject taught in this course impassionates me. Maybe it's the reason I'm so disappointed by the course. Please consider this highly negative review as an sting, an encouragement for the authors to make it better !

In my opinion, the course lacks some material, I would expect more links to external articles or sources.

Then I would expect more interesting videos : most of the time, Prof Arturo Hernandez speaks to the camera, and there is almost no illustration to support the discourse, and when there is some, it is sometime difficult to understand or even to read. The course could have as well been offered as an audio podcast!

Asking a question after each video is a good thing, but unfortunately, I had many times the feeling that it could have been better chosen or formulated. I would rather have first a quiz testing if the student understood and memorized the main facts presented, to then have maybe questions requiring more thinking. More disturbing: there seems to be some errors in the final quiz (which is easy to spot because the questions are the same as those in the intermediate quizzes each week), those errors have been reported in the forum one year ago, and are still there! No staff seem to actually read the forum/

But the most disturbing in the course is the lack of a good solid structure. Some videos last 1 minute , others 19 minutes, it give a feeling of inconsistency. When Prof Hernandez lectures, he seems sometimes not fully prepared, as if improvising, hesitating ... He too often cites research papers or refers to studies results for adding then that the results were inconclusive, subject to caution, questionable, or even rebutted by some later study. What's the conclusion then?

One thing I liked are the office hours videos! Interesting questions addressed in a more natural and agreeable way.

創建者 Chantelle N

Apr 25, 2018

I would have given a 4 star rating but there's a glitch with 2 answers in the final exam. You'll be marked incorrectly even if you answer correctly. According to discussion forum posts, this problem has been going on for at least 10 months. Hopefully, this one star review will make someone notice and and fix the problem. Otherwise, it's an informative and interesting course.