Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的評價和反饋

4.4
2,205 個評分
364 個審閱

課程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

熱門審閱

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

篩選依據:

301 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 325 個評論(共 353 個)

創建者 Manik S

Aug 11, 2019

LOW QUALITY VIDEOS, OBSOLETE RESOURCES, VIRTUALLY NO TECH SUPPORT

創建者 Diwen

Aug 19, 2019

Peer-graded assignment is very badly described.

創建者 Ra'ed A

May 07, 2019

Fix the mistakes!

創建者 Muhammad S

Sep 27, 2019

Thanks for offering this course. The course is not so good because most of the portion is theoretically based. We join the Coursera for hands-on courses. We study a lot of courses in our Homeland universities which are 90% theoretical. so I join Coursera to implement the concepts practically but this course is not so practical.

創建者 Francisco J H

Oct 06, 2019

It was useful but I was expecting more specific exercies and practices with state of the art tools, instead of only a very high level conceptual resume of the frameworks and data types. I hope that in next specialization courses will go deeper into the specific uses.

創建者 Saulet Y

Jan 11, 2019

Very boring and not interesting course. The slides are just tedious. Additionally, there are some mistakes in week 4 if I'm not mistaken with evaluating weights and coSim(). Many users mentioned in the forums, but nothing has done.

創建者 Cyprien H

Dec 25, 2017

The course in itself is quite good, although there are many concepts presented in a few videos only.

The bug flaw is the final peer review assignment. Questions are unclear; It is a pain to complete. When reviewing your peers, expect the same issues: you are left alone to interpret if what was done corresponds to what is expected. I guess instructors intended to make something simple but it is definitely not.

And the most frustrating thing is that this has been a recurring complain (see the forum), and nothing has changed so far.

創建者 Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

As far as the content is concerned, this is a very good course. Concepts are explained well.

What I disliked about the course is the final peer-reviewed problem.

1. The instructions were unclear about what was needed to be done.

2. When submitting, the HTML of the problem got badly garbled.

3. When reviewing peer submissions, for the first part nobody could read their submission because of the garbled format.

4. Most people did not get the second and third questions right but instead of there being a way to evaluate how much they understood, it was a yes/no option to grade them (which amount to either them passing or failing).

I think this is a promising specialization but the instructors need to pay heed to the bevy of complaints in the various forums.

創建者 Christine G

Aug 09, 2017

Capstone assignment was disappointing.

創建者 Konstantin K

Feb 14, 2018

I'm not sure I got the topic Big Data Modeling and Management Systems from material of the course. Quite redundant and dissimilar lectures

創建者 Clemens W

Nov 20, 2016

The course takes a broad approach to the subject.

What I miss: the study material should provide more and better organized (theoretical) information (e.g. on topcis like database design, data structures, etc.)

What I like: presenting of current software projects around big data

創建者 Henrique S C

Apr 26, 2018

The content is good, but the final assignment is ridiculous. The instructions are horrible, the peer reviewers are a joke (there are many people there with 0 experience with databases giving wrong feedback), and you don't get the answers for reviewing other people's works.

創建者 Aniruddha J

May 20, 2018

Definitely could have used more hands on practices. The hands on practice examples could've delved deeper into 'how' instead of just giving you the command lines to run. Majority of the times were spent on lectures talking about abstract concepts. While useful, more of that time would've been better spend on hands-on examples.

創建者 Congcong Z

Nov 07, 2017

it would be better if there is person to person explanation of homework

創建者 Yanpei L

May 03, 2017

Expecting more hands on experience with big data frameworks like Hadoop or Spark. Instructions of the final assignment is very confusing, you don't actually know what it really want you to do until you go through all the Q&As in the discussion forum, which is really wasting time.

創建者 Lucas A H

Jan 19, 2019

Too simple for a persona that's already in the BI industry

創建者 Floyd C

Dec 31, 2018

Compared to the first course this one is not as good, especially Week 5. You can see lots of people complaining about week 5 which does not make sense to the students at all.

創建者 Raivis J

Feb 11, 2019

Some topics swing wildly from high level to very technical or in-depth math, which in my opinion is not needed, this is not a DB administrator course.

The hands-on exercises seemed loosely connected to the course topics. I would have liked to see practical tasks based on real-life problems and situations in big data applications.

The final graded assignment is for someone completely new to the concept of databases, and has no relation to big data, or tools used in big data, which is unfortunate.

創建者 Stanislav D

Jan 24, 2019

Final task has numerous problems ranging from Coursera site formatting limitations that have not been accounted for to lack of master-answer to peers (e.g. peers unfamiliar with industry can't grade what they don' know)

創建者 Andrew C

Dec 11, 2018

Level of content between week four and five is vastly gapped. Too big of a jump. No explanation of BDMS and DBMS in between

創建者 Izabelle A

Apr 11, 2019

Cannot finish Twitter activities as commands shown in the video apparently don´t work with the most recent pyhton version. I am very disappointed about it, since I am mostly focused on Twitter-related data.

創建者 Nimal J K

Jan 10, 2017

The course content was not very appealing. Explanations were not that engaging. What I really missed was the actual practical aspect where you don't work with command prompt but an much more user friendly interface that is more up to date with current standards.

創建者 Kaddoum R

Nov 16, 2016

Too high level. Last assignment too ambiguous, peer assessment was completely random and not reliable to pass the course.

創建者 Isaac L

May 07, 2018

The quizzes tested superficial knowledge, and basically just required you to memorize bullet points from the slides. The final project had incredibly confusing instructions, and the discussion forums didn't really clear anything up. The course materials seem to be about 5 years old, and I'm sure a lot has changed in terms of tools and technologies since then.

I've learned some useful information from this series of classes, but it doesn't seem like much effort was put into the content beyond the lecture videos.

創建者 Zaher A H

Jun 22, 2017

The course is not structured well. I hope if the course provides the skills needed to build noSQL data models such as Columnar - KV - Graphical etc. but the course keeps jumping from notion to notion with no clear and smooth structure.

The lecturer presentation style is terrible.