Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的評價和反饋

4.4
2,282 個評分
374 條評論

課程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

熱門審閱

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

篩選依據:

251 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 275 個評論(共 364 個)

創建者 Yogesh P

Mar 17, 2018

Good Course covering Modelling systems

創建者 Piero T

Nov 23, 2016

Peer Assignment is not too clear

創建者 Aman S

Aug 04, 2018

No practical approach for BDMS

創建者 Jorge d l C

Feb 11, 2019

Basic for database developers

創建者 Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

創建者 Ismail A I

Feb 20, 2017

Very well explained

創建者 Iskan S

Nov 28, 2019

it is very helpful

創建者 Antonia I

Jul 24, 2018

It was fine.

創建者 Keith B

Jul 05, 2017

Good module.

創建者 Jyothi k

Mar 19, 2017

good cource

創建者 ahmedossama.201461

Apr 23, 2017

Tool !

創建者 Marwan E M

Mar 28, 2018

Interesting course and valuable theoretical notions. However, i would have preferred that it contains more practical (challenging) tasks especially that most if not all classmates have sufficient IT background and the hands-on were too simple. Moreover, it is easier to understand theoretical knowledge when we apply them in practice. The course creators might have thought to leave all challenging practical work for the final project but i would suggest to include mini-projet at the end of each course. Another point regarding the final assignment of the 6th week, it would have been better to do something similar before it, many classmates and I were confused and unsure about how to answer some questions and we had to evaluate each other's work while being unsure if our own submissions were correct or not.

創建者 Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

As far as the content is concerned, this is a very good course. Concepts are explained well.

What I disliked about the course is the final peer-reviewed problem.

1. The instructions were unclear about what was needed to be done.

2. When submitting, the HTML of the problem got badly garbled.

3. When reviewing peer submissions, for the first part nobody could read their submission because of the garbled format.

4. Most people did not get the second and third questions right but instead of there being a way to evaluate how much they understood, it was a yes/no option to grade them (which amount to either them passing or failing).

I think this is a promising specialization but the instructors need to pay heed to the bevy of complaints in the various forums.

創建者 Cyprien H

Dec 25, 2017

The course in itself is quite good, although there are many concepts presented in a few videos only.

The bug flaw is the final peer review assignment. Questions are unclear; It is a pain to complete. When reviewing your peers, expect the same issues: you are left alone to interpret if what was done corresponds to what is expected. I guess instructors intended to make something simple but it is definitely not.

And the most frustrating thing is that this has been a recurring complain (see the forum), and nothing has changed so far.

創建者 Seyyed E S

Jan 23, 2017

1. The course is very general and high level introduction.

2. During the lectures there are some examples that in some cases are presented as very small images and briefly. I personally could not understand some examples presented in week 5.

3. I found the hands-on lectures very helpful. I wish there was more that would delve into more examples in more details.

4. The course was very overpriced given the amount of information offered compared to other courses I have taken at coursera.

Thanks.

創建者 Richard W

Aug 21, 2017

The topics addressed in this course are very valuable and cover a wide range. The presentation of the material unfortunately often misses clarity and sufficient detail. Backup material with a concise treatment and optional readings would be helpful. In addition it would be good to have several guided exercises that train hands-on skills, show practical features and integrate topics. The final assignment fits in this category, it however comes late and as a hike.

創建者 Juan P

Jul 30, 2016

A good course taking into account that it does not require previous knowledge. I am giving "only" 3 stars because for a basic (no previous requirements) course I would expect much more additional readings. On the other hand, if you have programming or database experience you will find some topics too "basic".

I have liked it more than the first course on the specialization but I would expect more details (I think general topics are well explained).

創建者 David T

Oct 28, 2016

I really wish I could give this course more stars, the content is great and well delivered and at a perfect level for someone like me who last worked with big data sets when 20Mb was absolutely enormous and Windows 3.1 was cutting edge technology. But and this seems to run across the whole specialisation, support from the course team varies between very patchy and none at all. Technical questions aren't answered for days if at all.

創建者 Mike D

Apr 13, 2017

Good information overall, but the "peer graded" assignment at the end is poorly designed and seems unnecessarily arbitrary. Not a clear value add over a "final exam" format to justify waiting days for someone to "grade" your work. Instructions for this assignment are poorly written and unclear - for example, completely NOT clear you are asking us to identify a primary key versus stating there is no primary key, etc.

創建者 Tamás-Marosi P

Sep 05, 2017

The course was okay, but the last Peer-graded Assignment was totally unclear. A lot of other students reported this problem on the discussion forum, but nobody handled this. Some students tried to ask questions, but any menthor answered back in merit. Of course if nobody understand the task then how can we rate each other? It is not fair. I think some examples can help on this problem.

創建者 Shalaka M

Aug 31, 2017

I feel the assignments were a little vague and such assignments should be reviewed by mentors and not just fellow colleagues. Also, the concept on which the questions were based, were not covered that widely.

Additionally, if someone wants to refer to the slides in future they should be able to get the information they want from the slides itself, so they could be made more descriptive.

創建者 Tamalika M

Nov 21, 2016

This course offers very useful high level overview of concepts and ideas which make you feel confident in the long run. However, the course is extremely basic and does not go deep beyond the high level concepts. The hands on exercises are boring and do not engage students. The course needs to be improved to make it more useful for students. This course is not very worthy of the money.

創建者 Dan K

May 08, 2017

This is ok. There is some light theory and application of it, but even less hands-on. There is also too much of an emphasis on different big data systems and each brands specific uses. This is good information, but I think it could have been presented on a two page comparison chart. The next course is supposed to be more more hands-on, so I am looking forward to that

創建者 Muhammad S

Sep 27, 2019

Thanks for offering this course. The course is not so good because most of the portion is theoretically based. We join the Coursera for hands-on courses. We study a lot of courses in our Homeland universities which are 90% theoretical. so I join Coursera to implement the concepts practically but this course is not so practical.

創建者 Aniruddha J

May 20, 2018

Definitely could have used more hands on practices. The hands on practice examples could've delved deeper into 'how' instead of just giving you the command lines to run. Majority of the times were spent on lectures talking about abstract concepts. While useful, more of that time would've been better spend on hands-on examples.