Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的評價和反饋

4.4
2,399 個評分
386 條評論

課程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

熱門審閱

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

篩選依據:

176 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 200 個評論(共 379 個)

創建者 Mayank C

Apr 10, 2019

G

r

e

a

t

創建者 Lisbeth R S

May 05, 2017

great

創建者 Saurabh K

May 26, 2019

good

創建者 Aleksandar R

Jul 02, 2017

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

創建者 Wayne S

Apr 06, 2019

This material in this course seems to be based on a belief that the student has significantly more knowledge than assumed for the first course in the Big Data series. Because of this unfounded assumption, without regard to explanation, I have marked it down to four stars vice the five for the first course.

I think by providing the student with an adequate background, or additional resources, this course could easily be ranked as a five-star course.

In short, for no apparent reason, it quickly becomes more difficult than the first course; and instead, I wish it had been more of a natural transition from the first course.

創建者 Bhanu H

Oct 17, 2019

Course material is very good. Instructors are great and talk clearly and explain well.

My only difficulty is with peer reviewed assignments. There is no answer key. So how one grades depends on what he/she thinks is the right answer. I understand there is no easy solution to this problem for online courses. It is not a show stopper though since you can submit multiple times. But why not just grade using Assistant or by instructor themselves.

創建者 Johannes V

Dec 10, 2017

All in all the course was very good as the first one. However it is not clear for me what I can do, if I feel myself unfairly graded by my peers at the Peer-Reviews. Furthermore it would be helpful, if the peers had to justify their grading by giving helpful comments to their grades. It is pretty discouraging doing the extra effort, when grading and receiving no constructive feedback at all. Therefore you should be able to challenge grading.

創建者 Don M

Oct 10, 2016

This course is a valuable introduction to Big Data Models and Management Systems for a variety of data types. The hands on exercises and company use case examples provide helpful context and application of the concepts. This knowledge also provides the learner with more confidence in navigating big data conversations in a professional environment.

創建者 Siphephelo B G

Jul 08, 2018

I loved how it built on knowledge obtained from the previous course and even had a recap video as a reminder of what was covered then. My only real gripe is how the felt like a bit of a curved ball - it was tricky to understand what was required of us. Overall, the course content is solid and I would recommend it to anyone

創建者 Spencer

Oct 16, 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.

創建者 Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

創建者 Koyel G

Jan 13, 2017

This course captures the overview of Big data modelling concept in a very simple way. I found this course very useful. Instructors are good to explain the concepts. Though it would be good to add one or two (add-on or optional hands on exercises) handson for graph and tree data modelling.

創建者 Harshan J

Aug 02, 2017

Excellent intro to the subject. The instructors explain the material well. I deducted one star for the grading treatment of the Peer-Graded Assignment (Catch the Pink Flamingo). It's understood that there is no one "right" answer, but peers should be given a range of possible answers.

創建者 Devon E

Aug 10, 2018

Another excellent course.

The only thing I would have liked (and maybe this comes later in the upcoming courses) is for the course to take a look inside the python and Lucence scripts so that we could be talked through how these are actually processing the data with guidance.

創建者 Vinod S

Jan 19, 2018

Great course on concepts of Big data modelling.

Great opportunity to learn from 2 people who are actually working on Big data issues in the Live world.

The assignment in week 6 can be improved in terms of more objective questions and the spaces provided to write the answers.

創建者 Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

創建者 Snehal B

Sep 08, 2018

I would rate it 4/5.

First 4 weeks, we can still relate and keep up to pace with context. But week 5 onwards it becomes difficult to understand. Please come up with more real life scenarios to explain different BDMS models.

創建者 Apurva T

Feb 03, 2019

Course was very good, some concepts were a little tough to understand, like the graph network and other topics of first 3 weeks. But on the whole a very good course to understand basics of data modeling and management.

創建者 Xing Z

Jul 09, 2018

The content is good overall, but the final project assignment is awful. It's not about whether the questions are too easy or too hard, it is the way in which the assignment is organized that seems confusing.

創建者 Putcha L N R

Mar 07, 2018

Pretty good course. The peer corrected assignment is avoidable. Instead, a little bit of programming may be introduced! The course becomes extremely boring due to only theoretical aspects and quizzes.

創建者 David R D N

Nov 23, 2016

Pretty good overall, although some exercises are a bit difficult to understand from the descriptions and instructions given, some graphs and initial reference documentation for exercises might help

創建者 Yaniv G

Oct 31, 2016

Overall relevant and clear presentations. Course material quite general, but I guess this is expected from an introductory-level course.

Peer-reviewed assignment's instructions can be clearer.

創建者 Nwogbo b C

May 11, 2020

Was a very hands-on experience with the Hadoop ecosystem streaming and analysis of live tweets from twitter gave a general outlook on how to perform simple operations with the HDFS

創建者 Bhola N R

Oct 11, 2018

It was a difficult module, although trainer tried to convey but seems it is more complex it took time for me to understand the concept and apply the same while doing my assignment.

創建者 CHANDAN J

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.