Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的評價和反饋

4.4
2,793 個評分
468 條評論

課程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

熱門審閱

MP
2017年10月16日

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
2017年3月27日

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

篩選依據:

251 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 275 個評論(共 457 個)

創建者 Srinivas B

2016年9月26日

Excellent

創建者 Enrique G R

2016年6月30日

Very Good

創建者 PALAK G

2020年7月14日

Amazing!

創建者 Suraj P

2020年6月18日

good one

創建者 RAJAT S

2020年5月3日

nice one

創建者 Pedro D

2016年9月24日

Muy bien

創建者 Ерилин Н

2017年6月9日

Perfect

創建者 Sonali S

2019年5月27日

Great!

創建者 Anıl K

2020年4月24日

Great

創建者 Mayank c

2019年4月10日

G

r

e

a

t

創建者 Lisbeth R S

2017年5月5日

great

創建者 boulealam c

2020年12月3日

good

創建者 Veerabasappa

2020年9月17日

Good

創建者 RAGHUVEER S D

2020年7月25日

good

創建者 Anvitha K Q

2020年6月15日

Nice

創建者 VISHNU N P

2020年6月1日

good

創建者 Saurabh K

2019年5月26日

good

創建者 Fhareza A

2020年9月9日

wow

創建者 Drew G

2020年8月4日

The information provided is solid, but this entire specialization has issues with the peer-graded assignments. The assignments themselves are good, open-ended questions designed to test your grasp of the concept being taught. The problem is the grading rubrics and the peer-review aspect. Where the questions are open-ended, the rubric often is not, demanding that only one of the possible answers be reached, or that a conclusion be reached in their specified manner. This leads to submitting the assignment, review other assignments to see what the rubric actually wants you to do, then resubmitting your assignment after you've reverse engineered the "right way" to do it to pass peer-review.

But there's only one or two of those per course, and are a relatively minor annoyance compared the good information being communicated.

創建者 Aleksandar R

2017年7月2日

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

創建者 Wayne S

2019年4月6日

This material in this course seems to be based on a belief that the student has significantly more knowledge than assumed for the first course in the Big Data series. Because of this unfounded assumption, without regard to explanation, I have marked it down to four stars vice the five for the first course.

I think by providing the student with an adequate background, or additional resources, this course could easily be ranked as a five-star course.

In short, for no apparent reason, it quickly becomes more difficult than the first course; and instead, I wish it had been more of a natural transition from the first course.

創建者 Bhanu H

2019年10月17日

Course material is very good. Instructors are great and talk clearly and explain well.

My only difficulty is with peer reviewed assignments. There is no answer key. So how one grades depends on what he/she thinks is the right answer. I understand there is no easy solution to this problem for online courses. It is not a show stopper though since you can submit multiple times. But why not just grade using Assistant or by instructor themselves.

創建者 Johannes V

2017年12月10日

All in all the course was very good as the first one. However it is not clear for me what I can do, if I feel myself unfairly graded by my peers at the Peer-Reviews. Furthermore it would be helpful, if the peers had to justify their grading by giving helpful comments to their grades. It is pretty discouraging doing the extra effort, when grading and receiving no constructive feedback at all. Therefore you should be able to challenge grading.

創建者 Nikhil C

2020年7月26日

Overall a good course to get the basics of what the difference is between managing Big Data system, versus your more traditional systems. I really like both instructors.

I took one star off because one of the twitter API assignments that we were supposed to do in the VM didn't work. Plus there's no one to support you in case an issue like this occurs.

創建者 Don M

2016年10月10日

This course is a valuable introduction to Big Data Models and Management Systems for a variety of data types. The hands on exercises and company use case examples provide helpful context and application of the concepts. This knowledge also provides the learner with more confidence in navigating big data conversations in a professional environment.