Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的評價和反饋

4.4
2,898 個評分
494 條評論

課程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

熱門審閱

MP
2017年10月16日

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
2017年3月27日

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

篩選依據:

1 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 25 個評論(共 484 個)

創建者 sandeep d

2019年7月16日

Just a basic overview. Not much hands on

創建者 Sergey K

2019年10月4日

There is no enough practice, for final exam it is impossible to understand what is right and what is wrong even when making peer-review

創建者 Alberto R

2019年11月19日

Material is very high level with very little practice examples. The attached documentation doesn't really add anything to the course and the quizzes are quick and simple.

創建者 David P G

2019年11月15日

No extra readings are provided to deepen the knowledge. Hands on are not maintained as outdate info is presented in the Hands On labs. Twitter HandsOn is not correctly explained.

創建者 Nishant U

2019年2月18日

informative, descriptive with hands-on experience on updated tools.

創建者 Massimo M

2018年1月27日

Sorry to say, but the course's topics are superficially explained. Teacher provided an overwhelming quantity of concept at the speed of light with very few practical examples. The entire course is not very explicative for someone that is not already a subject matter expert (that any case would define this course no more than a quick review). The assignment requirements are unclear and, in my opinion, teacher has not sufficiently explained the concepts required in order to straightforwardly perform it. More over, the assignment requires to use tables and graph, but the learning platform embedded editor does not allow to design this kind of graphical elements.

創建者 Kuldeep K S

2020年6月4日

It is the One of the best courses available for BigData Modelling . Even if the learner is beginner he/she can easily grab the things. I enjoyed this course a lot and got a lot of skills..

創建者 Hendrik B

2017年12月17日

Sorry, but I don't think this is a very good course. Here are some reasons why: The time said to be needed for the course is artificially increased, because there are ten minutes appraised for each set of lecture slides. At the end, there is almost no reading material, which is not obvious when looking at the course at the start. I think this is almost fraud. Ultimately, there are basically only lectures, no other media to learn, except for some multiple-choice quizzes. There are Coursera courses which are way more diverse. Additionally, the lectures are not particularly good (not speaking of the horrible design and colouring). Especially, when talking about some examples for BDMS, it is difficult to follow because some of the concepts have not been explained properly prior to that. The quizzes are not very good, and it is very obvious that there is not much thought behind the answer options. Also, for the quizzes you almost exclusively need to memorize learned stuff, but not to transfer knowledge or to apply knowledge). The final exam was a joke, because there was NO attempt by the supervisors to give students some intuition about the right answers after they submitted. Still, they were expected to rate others’ submissions. Meaning, when you didn't know how to answer a question, you were still expected to rate others submissions. Seriously? In general, so far it feels like the lecturers attempted to make a shallow course for a big topic, meaning big data, in order to get some money (after all: it is expensive to earn a course certificate). There are courses on other topics (e.g. “Game Theory” by Stanford University, where the quizzes are relatively hard but you get a feeling that you learn something, “Improving your statistical inferences” by Eindhoven University, which has many different media to learn, not just lectures, and has exceptionally good quizzes, as well as “Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis” by Santa Cruz University, which has very modern style of presenting the lecture). Sorry, but I think this course needs improvement, especially since the topic is so important.

創建者 Aldo F B

2017年4月3日

I've learned a lot of things about data models and new ways to process the information. I want to learn new knowledge of big data because I want to apply in my professional life

創建者 Nwogbo b C

2020年5月11日

Was a very hands-on experience with the Hadoop ecosystem streaming and analysis of live tweets from twitter gave a general outlook on how to perform simple operations with the HDFS

創建者 Kamran H

2020年6月5日

Too much talk and less practice.

It is like you are at university class. If I needed to get bunch of unnecessary information in big data,I could have go to get proper diploma in some university. The purpose of doing online course is to have practical points about big data, not to get all those information which I am going to forget after few days.

I would suggest to change the structure of course, reduce number of examples and talks in videos, and increase more practical things on Big Data field (ex, doing some exercises in cloudera etc.)

創建者 Isaac L

2018年5月7日

The quizzes tested superficial knowledge, and basically just required you to memorize bullet points from the slides. The final project had incredibly confusing instructions, and the discussion forums didn't really clear anything up. The course materials seem to be about 5 years old, and I'm sure a lot has changed in terms of tools and technologies since then.

I've learned some useful information from this series of classes, but it doesn't seem like much effort was put into the content beyond the lecture videos.

創建者 Raivis J

2019年2月11日

Some topics swing wildly from high level to very technical or in-depth math, which in my opinion is not needed, this is not a DB administrator course.

The hands-on exercises seemed loosely connected to the course topics. I would have liked to see practical tasks based on real-life problems and situations in big data applications.

The final graded assignment is for someone completely new to the concept of databases, and has no relation to big data, or tools used in big data, which is unfortunate.

創建者 NOVELLA P

2017年10月12日

Course content clear and concise- but assignment directions were too open to interpretation. Also presentation of the assignment results for review where the answer was requested in table format the table overrides the scoring section and the visibility of the responses appeared scrambled. Peer review on week 6 assignment needs a rethink-this need some process of challenge where a mentor or instructor can intervene to correct faulty peer reviews

創建者 Jens L

2017年11月16日

It's too superficial and the required skill level and required background knowledge is changing from video to video. Especially the walkthrough of different named database systems, was to deep, and I didnt get much out of that. I was like if you just like trying to teach me how to operate my tv by walking through the complete manual from start to end. I was often wondering, how is this relevant in this module...

創建者 Ryan H

2017年6月7日

My primary concern with this course are the mentors and the final assignment. The final assignment was particularly vague in exactly what it wanted and when asked on the forum, mentors would respond with comments like "you should just understand it." The mentors through each week were altogether unhelpful and that culminated in a vague final assignment with little way to understand it without a bit of guessing.

創建者 Zaher A H

2017年6月22日

The course is not structured well. I hope if the course provides the skills needed to build noSQL data models such as Columnar - KV - Graphical etc. but the course keeps jumping from notion to notion with no clear and smooth structure.

The lecturer presentation style is terrible.

創建者 Nimal J K

2017年1月10日

The course content was not very appealing. Explanations were not that engaging. What I really missed was the actual practical aspect where you don't work with command prompt but an much more user friendly interface that is more up to date with current standards.

創建者 Stanislav D

2019年1月24日

Final task has numerous problems ranging from Coursera site formatting limitations that have not been accounted for to lack of master-answer to peers (e.g. peers unfamiliar with industry can't grade what they don' know)

創建者 Robert H

2017年9月8日

Tedious exercises through VM where instructions oftentimes do not work out of the box. It is a hassle to download the slides in small sets and their design awful. Definitely one of the worse courses I have taken.

創建者 David S

2017年2月3日

I don't feel this course is always very clear. I Feel that I usually am missing the big picture. I follow it in details, but the pace does not match in terms of how you can view the big picture of it.

創建者 Francisco J

2017年8月6日

Lectures are not really useful for real examples. Indeed final task related to the graphs is not explained in the lectures about how to declare properties for nodes/edges in a graph.

創建者 Floyd C

2018年12月31日

Compared to the first course this one is not as good, especially Week 5. You can see lots of people complaining about week 5 which does not make sense to the students at all.

創建者 JOHN G

2020年5月16日

Slides were minimally helpful, lectures did not track well with quizzes, assignments were poorly designed and difficult to imput into the tool.

創建者 Guillaume V

2017年6月16日

Disappointing course. Poor language level, many mistakes (grammar, words, in examples shown). Poorly explained and confusing final assignment