Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Integration and Processing

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Integration and Processing 的評價和反饋

4.4
1,565 個評分
330 個審閱

課程概述

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

熱門審閱

AA

Mar 06, 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

DC

Oct 08, 2017

Very Interactive course. Theatrical classes are nicely drafted. Hands On exercises are interesting and some are challenging too. Overall very interesting course. Happy learning

篩選依據:

251 - Big Data Integration and Processing 的 275 個評論(共 317 個)

創建者 Vadim C

Nov 05, 2016

The final assessment somewhat not really well designed, imho.

創建者 Brandon S

Jan 12, 2017

Programming instructions were not clear, and the version of Python that was installed on my machine did not support the Jupy

創建者 Lomiarz

Feb 04, 2017

The course was good enough...but exercises were very simple. Only the final course was little bit challenging. For a guy that sits in IT business for a while it's rather too simple. Besides, I've learned spark basics which is super cool...so thanks for that

Maybe you could consider to build docker image instead of using virtual machines. VM is ok, but I think that docker can simplify all the stuff without necessary downloading, installations etc.

Looking forward to the next spark challenges :)

創建者 Joren Z

Jul 05, 2017

The course covers interesting materials and seems thorough. It's mostly lectures and reading, and not so much actually working with the technology. Since the latter tends to be the hardest part, the overall difficulty remains on the low end of the scale.

創建者 Silvia C R S

Oct 28, 2017

I think that there should be more exercises for MongoDB and Spark assigments.

創建者 Nester P

Sep 10, 2017

The last assignment of Week 6 was far more advanced than the rest of the material.

創建者 Konstantin K

Mar 01, 2018

All is good except the Splunk case

創建者 Francesca S

May 06, 2018

the explanation for the hands on exercises are poor. Had to waste a lot of tie and consult forum discussions as well as other inline tutorial a lot.

創建者 Tina L

Jan 16, 2018

The elaborations in video lecture sometimes are too complicated to understand. It should consider all students comes from different industry. For example, the disease/gene relationships, actually it can replaced by GeneA, DiseaseA, etc. Also, the slides are not clear enough for students to capture the outstanding points. It's not good for students to review since it's truly vague of the relationships between the list items. Overall, the lecture is just different to understand, even causing confusion sometimes.

創建者 Tatiana M

Feb 28, 2017

A little slower than the last ones, not my favorite but great use of hands-on projects and enagagement

創建者 Ashish J

Aug 25, 2017

spark hands on should have been more instructive.

創建者 Shalaka M

Oct 16, 2017

I wish that the Spark programming should have been covered in more details as was the MongoDB and Splunk covered.

創建者 Ken C

Oct 15, 2017

Lots of technical issues with assignments. Spent a lot of time troubleshooting issues that have been around for 9 months or more and never addressed. Seems like this course has been abandoned by creators.

創建者 Tomas M

Jul 27, 2017

While the contents are very interesting and the lectures very thorough the practical side has many draw backs. For instance: Connections to PostgresSql did not work even reading the FAQs, same with streaming data in spark. There are not enough examples on syntax and coding to correctly do the assignments. Overall I am happy with the course but it needs some improvements.

創建者 shruthi r

Jul 07, 2019

The hands on dataset installation had lots of problems while installing and spark and mongodb hardly worked even after multiple installations and i had tried many ways to get it to work but there was no benifit.

創建者 JAMES F

Aug 05, 2019

Good info, just a lot of info to digest.

創建者 Ivan M H C

Sep 08, 2019

So, in general, the course provides you with significant knowledge about big data integration processing, however there were simple exercises that could be done faster if there were no problems executing the commands. This problem leads students to quit the course.

I request the staff correct those errors in order to increase the approval rate.

創建者 Ahmed R

Sep 19, 2019

Content was up to date but practice exercises are limited to Cloudera platform as well as too old. Need to be updated with more use cases and more exercises.

Thanks Coursera :)

創建者 Johan A P O

Nov 10, 2019

Last week was a disaster in terms of giving the necessary educational resources. I found it extremely hard to finish the assignment because I couldn't understand the knowledge set required to do it.

I think you must work on making sure students are getting tailored to the functions that you will request them at the end. It was tremendously underwhelming to me to find such interesting tasks and finding myself unable to understand any clear path to perform even the first actions.

I had to research a lot out of the platform and dig up old replies in the forum just to have hints about what I had to do to find the answers you were requesting. If you consider that it's sufficient with what you explained, you're applying an unfair filter to students.

If you didn't mean that, please adjust either this whole module to focus on

* pyspark syntaxis

* clear use cases in Data retrieval and analysis

* evaluating the syntaxis of each function that you will request later

Or just change the last module to make it according to what you've taught. Thanks, even though I found these struggles, I was able to learn.

創建者 Markus.schwarz.de@gmail.com

Mar 03, 2019

With deep regrets I feel obliged to share a negative rating on the course. While the course material/video lectures are average to good (no rocket science but well done introduction into the subjects), the hands-on exercises and particularly the technical environment, i.e. Cloudera VM is entirely messed-up: - setup scripts are not working/ are outdated (e.g., anaconda requires no-check-certificate); user permissions are all set wrong and need to be corrected; firefox outdated with update function not working; countless error around spark context (SC) variables.... and so on... For a course that is so prominently promoted on the platform the least expectation is that the provided environment works and that students don´t need to spend hours on google to figure out how to debug the cloudera image.... Here, imo, a much better job can be done!

創建者 Chew S J (

Jul 17, 2018

The contents seem to be fine at the beginning but the assignment on Week 6 was just way too much for me. The assignment lacks clear guideline and perhaps, lecture contents need to be updated, or the assignment task needs to be revised.

It took me two weeks to complete the last week of the course itself.

創建者 Shu H F

Aug 24, 2017

Many issues with the VM

創建者 Guillem P G

Jan 10, 2017

The last assignment of the course is, compared to the others, more difficult. In my case, I ran into several errors which I couldn't get help in solving by using the course Forum, as the end of course deadline was just a few days ahead. I had to analyze the tweet texts for the last graded assignment without using Spark framework (nor any of the other "Big Data" tools explored in the course).

I also found some of the videos by PhD. Amarnath Gupta were difficult to understand, his examples were unclear and, in my opinion, too complex and difficult to follow and understand what was the reasoning thread.

創建者 Erwin v R

Dec 24, 2016

I miss a proper buildup from the theory to the practical exercises. Especially the last quiz I found very difficult based on the limited number of exercises presented upfront.

創建者 Matt M

Nov 17, 2016

I had many problems with the final two programming assignments with running Spark in the VM and there isn't a lot of help available online.