Chevron Left
返回到 EDIVET:如何成为一名兽医?

學生對 爱丁堡大学 提供的 EDIVET:如何成为一名兽医? 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,180 個評分
308 條評論

課程概述

This course is for anyone interested in learning more about Veterinary Medicine, giving a “taster” of courses covered in the first year of a veterinary degree and an idea of what it is like to study Veterinary Medicine....

熱門審閱

SK

Dec 15, 2019

The course has been really fascinating and interesting, covering a variety of aspects in the veterinary profession. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of becoming a vet in the future.

NR

Feb 25, 2018

This course is very suitable for A level students who want to study Veterinary Medicine at university as it covers the role of a vet as well as teaching some basic skills and knowledge. It is bas

篩選依據:

1 - EDIVET:如何成为一名兽医? 的 25 個評論(共 306 個)

創建者 Giacomina R D

Aug 12, 2019

I took it out of curiosity, as I'm already in the profession, and I'm on the fence about this rating.

It provides a few introductory lectures about animal care, anatomy, clinical activity and history, which are fairly interesting, but it also leaves out all the difficult sides of the profession (which I think aspiring students _needs_ to know about beforehand).

There is a lot of emotional investment in being a Veterinarian, often you have to walk the fine balance between animal's welfare and owner's economic capabilities, or find yourself before some ethical conflicts. This is a moment with rising attention to vet's issues as burnout, 'compassion fatigue', etc. that mostly stem from the fact our profession is (sadly) not all about animals.

All in all, it is a fun course, maybe a bit of a self promotion from the hosting university (which is understandable and didn't influence my rating), but to me it doesn't deliver on the question: "Do you have what it takes to be a vet?"

創建者 Raphael A

Sep 03, 2015

If you are wondering if you want to become a vet or if you only want to learn the base of the veterinarian profession, I greatly recommend this course. I never got bored during this course.

創建者 Angelina B

Apr 09, 2019

A very good course for students that are interested in becoming a Vet. It pairs with A-level Biology studies very well and gave me a good insight into what the next 5 years will be like.

創建者 Thomas Z

Dec 12, 2016

The course is uneven at best, with some modules providing insights and knowledge and others not so much. The presentation in some of the modules is perhaps an example of how not to do it, reading fro a script in a monotonous voice. Some of the material, like the lengthy historical review of Edinburgh's vet school, might be good advertising and interesting, but does not fall under the scope of 'what it takes to be a vet'. Good idea, but, with a few exceptions, less than average execution.

創建者 Sadie C

May 24, 2019

very interesting! I've been looking at a career change and this course has been an excellent insight. highly recommend.

創建者 Ariel A

May 12, 2020

My 12-year old daughter who is in 6th grade took this course using my account. Her regular studies were interrupted by the community quarantine imposed in our country. She seized this opportunity to pursue a subject that she is passionate about. Since her first rescued kitten a few years ago, my daughter has dreamt of becoming a veterinarian. She was extremely happy to take this course. She religiously spent her mornings attending her "classes", which she would excitedly report about over lunch! I still recall her animated lecture about the heart of a fin whale! I wish to extend my and my daughter's gratitude for making this course available. You have made her dream of "matriculating" at the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies come true! More power to you!

創建者 HAMMAD U R B

Oct 05, 2018

I HAVE ALMOST COMPLETED THIS COURSE, AND ACCORDING TO TITLE OF THIS COURSE NOW I CAN SAY THAT I HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO BE A VETERINARIAN. THIS WAS A GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO CLEAR MY BASIC CONCEPTS AND LEARN SOMETHING NEW. I HAVE LEARNED A LOT. I WOULD REALLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE TO OTHER VETS AS WELL. THANKS TO COURSERA...........

創建者 Pamela A

Oct 06, 2015

This course is taught by instructors with the most monotone of voices. I literally fell asleep during each lecture. I have worked in the medical field, specializing in cardiology, for 40 years. My love of animals was my reason to explore this course. But I am getting nothing out of it and am giving up on it.

創建者 Mary K M M

Jan 21, 2017

I loved this course and was pleased that my faulty science was not a huge stumbling block.

The history aspect of the course provided tremendous context and I cannot agree with students who might believe it to be irrelevant. In order to progress to the future, one must always have an eye on the past. Having said that, long ago I studied the Enlightenment as an integral part of a BA in English Literature!

Realistically, I am too old and lacking in science qualifications to become a vet - but were I to be 35 years younger - I'd strongly consider working hard towards gaining Science A Levels and aim for veterinary school.

Nevertheless, I feel that this course has given me some insight as to how to get the best out of future consultations with my very lovely local veterinary practice.

In addition, I was pleased to see Dr Andrew Gardiner presenting the final part of the course.

Dr Gardiner's book, The A-Z of Cat Health and First Aid is a wonderful resource, particularly in respect of abscesses, a problem which certain other books only cover in connection with dental ailments rather than the very common problem of abscesses on a cat's back, shoulders and face as a result of fighting!

創建者 Laura S

Nov 07, 2016

This course was very interesting and gave insight to the kind of material first year veterinary students would be learning plus history of the profession (mostly the school). The professors present actual anatomical (dissected) organs and histology slides. I also thought the husbandry section well done. The clinical portion is a little weak but understandably, given the medium and safety issues. I still enjoyed it. The history portion is a bit too in depth, I feel, and though interesting, spends a great deal of time on the history of the school and founder itself. They are very enthusiastic though, which is a plus. The course does a lovely job of presenting some of the various studies that go into this rigorous education/career, such as client interaction, anatomy, histology, animal husbandry, and examination skills. It is so much more than just a love for animals. I will certainly look into some of the other animal science-related MOOCs offered by Edinburgh. I had no difficulty in completing this course in one week although I do have a medical background.

創建者 Lori F

Nov 08, 2015

I couldn't have enjoyed this course more. If it had existed when I was in college, I might've chosen veterinary studies. As it is, this course gave a fascinating glimpse into all the different veterinary specializations and their joys and challenges. It was rigorous enough that I felt like I was really learning about animal anatomy and physiology and veterinary care, but not so much so that I couldn't keep up. Also, it gave me a lot of empathy for my cat's veterinarians, with all the challenges and stress they can experience on the job. And a bonus: I learned how cats "smile," and have now successfully traded smiles with my cat!

創建者 Javier M M M

Oct 16, 2016

Hello, good day you have:

I think it is an excellent course because it gives us a very broad about what is the career of Veterinary Medicine scene. Thank you very much for making it accessible to the person who wants to take it.

If I may make a suggestion I would like pusierna subtitles in Spanish for people who are not fluent in English.

Thank you very much to the University of Edinburgh, the Dick Vet and veterinarians who developed topics. Much success in any endeavor they undertake. THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Sincerely:

Javier Martín Montelongo Montoya from Mexico

創建者 Elizabeth A R

Dec 21, 2015

Great course! My only complaint is that on the last quiz, the information given in the lesson and the quiz questions do not match up, making it a guessing game between two answers on some questions. Such as, the lesson might say something happens between the 1940's and 60's, but then possible answers on the quiz might be 1940-50's or 1950-60's. You get many chances on the quizzes though, so it's really not a big deal, just a nuisance. The heart and lung anatomy section was explained better in the videos than in my university lectures!

創建者 Jonathan D

Jul 19, 2019

A very well presented course that explores the past, present and future of the veterinary profession and gives some insights into how teaching methods are developing today. Though short, the MOOC gives a broad-spectrum look at many aspects of the Veterinary Medicine course at Edinburgh University that students can expect to cover in greater detail if successful in attaining a place. I would strongly endorse this course and recommend it to anyone considering a career in veterinary medicine.

創建者 José Á R F

Dec 03, 2017

En general es un curso bastante integral, que puede pasar de lo generala lo particular, algo que personalmente me gusto bastante es que te da a conocer algo sobre la historia de la Veterinaria, además de ciertos principios que la población normalmente ignora sobre la práctica y sus antecedentes.

Los últimos temas para un hispano-hablante pueden llegar a ser algo complejos y algunos materiales puede costar trabajo su traducción, ya que no cuentan ni con subtítulos.

創建者 Efstratia M

Jun 13, 2016

It practically helps you figure out if you really want to become a vet, while learning useful things about animals and tips that make someone a respectable professional.

I believe that not only future vets, but also owners of pets or animal production owners, benefit watching the course or some parts of it, as they get in the shoes of the vet (especially during week 3) and so they become more conscientious about their pets or animal production !

創建者 SAMYUKTHA M

Feb 01, 2020

Thanks a lot Coursera! This course was very much informative. Becoming a vet was a dream from childhood for me. This definitely serves a base. One can get to know if they truly want to be a passionate vet or can choose some other career instead because taking up this course we can get to learn how vets are trained(just the basics, of course) and stuffs like that. I loved this course and this one will always be close to my heart .

創建者 Elizabeth O

Jan 06, 2016

Very interesting course. I do not aspire to be a vet (I am a research assistant an FE/HE education institution farm), but did the course to increase my knowledge of farm animal husbandry. The section about farm animals was very relevant and interesting, and I found the rest of the course to be fascinating as well. Highly enjoyable and would recommend to anyone interested in animals, not just in becoming a vet.

創建者 Vanessa N

Apr 06, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, it was especially insightful and gave a lot of information about the veterinary field, as well as some of the background to the field itself. It was very centred around the city of Edinburgh and the development there, which I found to be especially interesting. I definitely recommend this course if you want a small taster for a broader insight into the veterinary field.

創建者 Nina F

Jun 04, 2018

This is a very informative course and I have learnt a great deal. It has cemented my hopes to become a Vet. The tutors were very clear and I would like to thank every one of them for their time. Even though I sway towards dogs and horses more, my favourite lecture was the one on Cats in week one, because I think the tutor was incredibly interesting - they all were of course! Thank you SO much 💋

創建者 Yuva

Dec 22, 2017

PHENOMENAL! That's all I really have to say about this short, yet information rich course! The lecturers in this course are truly great, in the sense that they are able to convey important facts & ideas with relative ease in an easily digestible form for a student!

I look forward to more courses from the University of Edinburgh pertinent to veterinary science & medicine!

Cheers :D

創建者 Sophia P

Jun 03, 2017

This was a fantastic course, it really opened up my eyes to what it takes to be a veterinarian and just how much really goes into the study of this speciality. It really takes a special person to become a vet, there is so much more to it than one would think and this course has shown me just how much I want it. Thank you to everyone involved in making this MOOC available!

創建者 Alice K

Aug 03, 2017

Very interesting insight into the world of Veterinary Medicine. The final week, focusing on veterinary history was particularly engaging since it looked at a completely different side of the subject that I had not previously considered. Highly recommended to anyone with an interest in animal care and husbandry, as well as the scientific principles underlying disease.

創建者 Me

Aug 22, 2015

I have been wanting to pursue a career with animals since i was a small child, and let me tell you, I loved this course. This course gives you the opportunity to get a taste of veterinary school and it is completely free. I can not thank Coursera and The University of Edinburgh enough for giving me this wonderful chance to learn about animals.

創建者 isabella s

Jun 02, 2020

The course does provide a good insight in to what modules you may cover in veterinary school. Amazing resources and interesting well done. I really enjoyed completing this course, as I do find the anatomy and physiology interesting, but I am still unsure whether the training and career for veterinary surgeon or vet nurse suits me best.