Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Introduction to the Arctic: Climate 的評價和反饋

4.5
217 個評分
58 條評論

課程概述

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

熱門審閱

TO

Jun 16, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

DG

Feb 18, 2018

Very good course. No previous Arctic knowledge, and now thanks to this course I can understand things much better. Looking forward to more Arctic related courses. Thank you.

篩選依據:

26 - Introduction to the Arctic: Climate 的 50 個評論(共 57 個)

創建者 Yet K

Jan 01, 2018

Informative and useful.

創建者 Bart S

May 16, 2016

very thought provoking

創建者 tj3waldo@telus.net

Nov 03, 2017

i

n

t

e

r

s

t

I

n

g

m

a

t

e

r

I

a

l

創建者 Andrea A

Feb 07, 2017

Very interesting

創建者 Ryan M

Oct 09, 2017

O

u

t

s

t

a

n

d

I

n

g

!

!

創建者 Virginia N F C

Jul 19, 2017

Great

創建者 Kimberly K

Aug 09, 2016

I was really excited about this course. I thought the information was of high quality and well presented. However, I did have trouble staying focused. I would have liked more graphics depicting concepts. The presenter had a very monotone voice with a very active face. It was hard to sit through someone just talking at me even if the subject matter is interesting. I look forward to the other Arctic courses and hope they are just are well thought out but a bit more lively. You guys did a great job, keep it up!

創建者 Bruno-Pierre C

Mar 02, 2016

really interesting, it's a really good base for all to understand the Arctic and a rebound to understand the climat change. I would like to learn more in the pdf lesson, if you'll be able to add some optional lessons to read I would appreciate, but for sur I'll take the next course. It well structure and explain. The other thing is about the test it will be interesting to have all the good answer after we've pass it. Just to understand our mistake

創建者 Guillermo I

Mar 14, 2016

Content was very good. I didn't liked the assignments, they were too short and the answering options were too narrow; sometimes they could be misinterpreted and led to a confusing missing point. I would recommend to add several more questions for each assignment, chosen random for each attempt, put a limit on total attempts and give feedback on answers. Thanks for the course, I enjoyed it a lot; short but precise.

創建者 David D

Jan 08, 2019

This is a good overall picture of the arctic covering a wide range of topics that are being affected by climate change. The quiz that are spaced throughout the videos are a good break from just watching.

Perhaps the presentation, while enthusiastic, was a bit static and fairly long in length. This could possibly be improved by having different presenters or more visuals during the lecture.

創建者 Rosie B

Oct 28, 2017

The course was enjoyable and I definitely learned a lot more about the arctic and climate change. I felt the content was a bit static and having done Mountains 101 with University of Alberta, I thought it would have made a big difference to visit some of the places mentioned, to show the problems occurring, and see interviews with researchers working in the Arctic.

創建者 Sophie J

May 09, 2016

Very interesting course on the Arctic. As an introduction, I appreciated the broad overview of the things affecting the Arctic and thus the global climate. As a neophyte, some of the more technical, scientific aspects were hard to follow but were just as interesting to understand; having the course notes to go back to was helpful!

創建者 Sheikh K R

Apr 19, 2016

Very interesting course that covers the the Arctic and how it has been impacted by climate change. Overall a qualitative discussion of the Arctic climate that references more detailed quantitative data. The summary sheets for each week are a really helpful reference for the class and beyond.

創建者 Joy S

Feb 12, 2016

Good info. Instructor had rather odd body language, but friendly. Had trouble passing a couple of section tests due to "check all that apply" questions. Sections on ocean and atmosphere circulation and global warming rather boring and a little harder to follow. Interesting class overall.

創建者 Gabriel H

Dec 03, 2018

Surprisingly thorough course, although the lectures can be improved and more material can be included in the lecture notes. I personally wasn't keen on watching the lecture material and only studies the notes, maybe a point to improve.

創建者 Robert C C

Apr 25, 2016

I found the course informative, but the quizzes to be a problem as there were too many multiple answers, so was near impossible to complete the quizzes correctly

創建者 Graham K

Oct 04, 2016

Nice overview, gives a good appreciation for changes happening in the Arctic. Sometimes the lecture material is a bit dry and repetitive/slow.

創建者 Roberto D

Jun 10, 2016

A very good review of the main topics related to the Arctic and climate change. Final lesson tests are sometimes confusing.

創建者 Franck L

Feb 16, 2017

The content was good and very instructive but the videos and graphic material could be more dynamic and interactive.

創建者 Jonathan D

Aug 20, 2017

Great introduction to the artic region, its people, economy, environment and global importance.

創建者 Anne G

Mar 17, 2018

Very interesting. Easy to understand. Prof seemed very enthusiastic about the topic.

創建者 Elvis A

Jul 27, 2019

This is very well informed course about Arctic sea-ice. Thank you.

創建者 Antoni B

Jan 22, 2016

Cool

創建者 Jocelino R

Aug 11, 2016

The course content was very interesting, however, the way it was presented was very dull and monotonous. The script was great - very insightful and informative, but having the presenter talk for the whole lecture without more frequent use of diagrams, figures, etc. to help understand the concepts is not helpful and incomprehensible to me. Specially when it comes to a course with so much geographical content, it would be good to have a more consistent depiction of maps. Furthermore, with all the new concepts, visual aid would help students understand what things are and what they look like since the backgrounds chosen for the lectures have little or nothing to do with the course whatsoever.

On the other hand, I do think that the questions throughout the videos are extremely useful as they (usually) tackle problems that were not mentioned previously and gets the student to think independently. Finally, the end of lesson tests always have one or two challenging questions which is great. This course has a 5 star potential, so I hope the reviews are being read so they can work towards that goal!

創建者 Robert H S

Nov 12, 2017

I very much understand the course material may be "dry" at times and difficult for the instructor to keep the attention of the student(s) focused. However, at times during the course, the material was a bid much in the sense that the presentation made it very difficult to follow along and completely understand the material - monotone presentation. Perhaps the material could have been described by more examples and made more understandable. On a technical front, the audio went out in video 4.2b between 12:07 and