Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Introduction to the Arctic: Climate 的評價和反饋

4.6
388 個評分
108 條評論

課程概述

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

熱門審閱

DM
2020年5月12日

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

TO
2016年6月15日

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

篩選依據:

76 - Introduction to the Arctic: Climate 的 100 個評論(共 106 個)

創建者 Guillermo I

2016年3月14日

Content was very good. I didn't liked the assignments, they were too short and the answering options were too narrow; sometimes they could be misinterpreted and led to a confusing missing point. I would recommend to add several more questions for each assignment, chosen random for each attempt, put a limit on total attempts and give feedback on answers. Thanks for the course, I enjoyed it a lot; short but precise.

創建者 David D

2019年1月8日

This is a good overall picture of the arctic covering a wide range of topics that are being affected by climate change. The quiz that are spaced throughout the videos are a good break from just watching.

Perhaps the presentation, while enthusiastic, was a bit static and fairly long in length. This could possibly be improved by having different presenters or more visuals during the lecture.

創建者 Rosie B

2017年10月28日

The course was enjoyable and I definitely learned a lot more about the arctic and climate change. I felt the content was a bit static and having done Mountains 101 with University of Alberta, I thought it would have made a big difference to visit some of the places mentioned, to show the problems occurring, and see interviews with researchers working in the Arctic.

創建者 Sophie J

2016年5月9日

Very interesting course on the Arctic. As an introduction, I appreciated the broad overview of the things affecting the Arctic and thus the global climate. As a neophyte, some of the more technical, scientific aspects were hard to follow but were just as interesting to understand; having the course notes to go back to was helpful!

創建者 Sheikh K R

2016年4月19日

Very interesting course that covers the the Arctic and how it has been impacted by climate change. Overall a qualitative discussion of the Arctic climate that references more detailed quantitative data. The summary sheets for each week are a really helpful reference for the class and beyond.

創建者 Joy S

2016年2月12日

Good info. Instructor had rather odd body language, but friendly. Had trouble passing a couple of section tests due to "check all that apply" questions. Sections on ocean and atmosphere circulation and global warming rather boring and a little harder to follow. Interesting class overall.

創建者 Gabriel H

2018年12月3日

Surprisingly thorough course, although the lectures can be improved and more material can be included in the lecture notes. I personally wasn't keen on watching the lecture material and only studies the notes, maybe a point to improve.

創建者 Sasha B

2020年5月16日

This course was great, but I can't find the other UArctic courses mentioned, particularly the one about Arctic Cultures! I would love to learn more, any info would be much appreciated!

創建者 Robert C C

2016年4月25日

I found the course informative, but the quizzes to be a problem as there were too many multiple answers, so was near impossible to complete the quizzes correctly

創建者 Linnéa R

2021年2月11日

Good course, very informative.

Professor was a little stiff, but this is the first MOOC I've ever taken - so maybe that's the way you have to teach.

創建者 Graham K

2016年10月4日

Nice overview, gives a good appreciation for changes happening in the Arctic. Sometimes the lecture material is a bit dry and repetitive/slow.

創建者 Roberto D

2016年6月10日

A very good review of the main topics related to the Arctic and climate change. Final lesson tests are sometimes confusing.

創建者 Franck L

2017年2月16日

The content was good and very instructive but the videos and graphic material could be more dynamic and interactive.

創建者 Ron G

2021年2月20日

Very well organized and presented. Good visual aids accompanying the lectures. Highly recommended.

創建者 Jonathan D

2017年8月20日

Great introduction to the artic region, its people, economy, environment and global importance.

創建者 Gina W

2020年8月20日

it was a very informative course. The presenter was easy to listen too and likeable.

創建者 Anne G

2018年3月17日

Very interesting. Easy to understand. Prof seemed very enthusiastic about the topic.

創建者 Shannon A C

2021年1月28日

Love the open-book quizzes but hate the time limit as someone with test anxiety

創建者 Kirsten W

2020年6月9日

very informative and thorough, though some videos were a bit too long

創建者 Elvis A

2019年7月27日

This is very well informed course about Arctic sea-ice. Thank you.

創建者 Tom A

2020年12月19日

Difficult course as not a scientist but explained well.

創建者 Antoni B

2016年1月22日

Cool

創建者 Jocelino R

2016年8月11日

The course content was very interesting, however, the way it was presented was very dull and monotonous. The script was great - very insightful and informative, but having the presenter talk for the whole lecture without more frequent use of diagrams, figures, etc. to help understand the concepts is not helpful and incomprehensible to me. Specially when it comes to a course with so much geographical content, it would be good to have a more consistent depiction of maps. Furthermore, with all the new concepts, visual aid would help students understand what things are and what they look like since the backgrounds chosen for the lectures have little or nothing to do with the course whatsoever.

On the other hand, I do think that the questions throughout the videos are extremely useful as they (usually) tackle problems that were not mentioned previously and gets the student to think independently. Finally, the end of lesson tests always have one or two challenging questions which is great. This course has a 5 star potential, so I hope the reviews are being read so they can work towards that goal!

創建者 Robert H S

2017年11月12日

I very much understand the course material may be "dry" at times and difficult for the instructor to keep the attention of the student(s) focused. However, at times during the course, the material was a bid much in the sense that the presentation made it very difficult to follow along and completely understand the material - monotone presentation. Perhaps the material could have been described by more examples and made more understandable. On a technical front, the audio went out in video 4.2b between 12:07 and

創建者 DARYL D

2020年10月3日

The information was rather basic but good for an introduction. The biggest issue I had with the course was the way the instructor presented the material. The voice inflections made me feel like I was sitting in an elementary school class. It was clear the instructor was reading from a script. A more conversational speaking approach would have been much more effective.