Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的評價和反饋

4.9
1,084 個評分
316 條評論

課程概述

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

熱門審閱

JC

2016年4月1日

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB

2020年4月22日

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

篩選依據:

276 - Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的 300 個評論(共 314 個)

創建者 Jhon F G L

2019年2月23日

Great !

創建者 Dillon T

2016年6月20日

Awesome

創建者 Bob T

2021年11月29日

superb

創建者 Angela S

2022年5月20日

great

創建者 Kathryn M

2021年3月31日

Loved

創建者 Mona A A

2021年5月15日

GOOD

創建者 RAGHUVEER S D

2020年7月25日

good

創建者 Jarrad R

2019年5月23日

nice

創建者 Danelle L

2016年6月7日

I'

創建者 Kym M

2019年6月1日

A

創建者 Robert C C

2016年4月25日

G

創建者 Daniel H

2022年1月18日

Review: I thought this was a nice course. Sometimes the questions gave me pause and forced me to think. One complaint I have is that occasionally statements about functional morphology lack nuance. For example, Kronosaurus is claimed to only be able to hunt prey it could swallow whole due to the lack of cutting edges on its teeth: there are plesiosaur remains with bite marks likely made by Kronosaurus (and these plesiosaurs seem to have been too large to be swallowed whole). Likewise, modern orcas and crocodiles, which also lack sharp cutting edges on their teeth, can easily prey on animals that are too big to be swallowed whole, so this inference does not follow. This course also seems to have a few bits of outdated info. For example, it is now known that Atopodentatus did not have a “zipper mouth”; this was based on a specimen that had a badly crushed skull. Overall, with just a bit more nuance on functional morphology and updated information, this course would be even better.

創建者 Carlo

2017年9月9日

Good class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in four weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, interactive geologic time scale and phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) Unfortunately, too often the course sounded too much like a catalog of facts. More scientific reasoning would have been nice.

創建者 Dorothy F S

2020年11月9日

Covers comparative evolution and explains how groups adapted to marine environments. Nomenclature-all the subfamilies, etc. was confusing and the evolutionary tree was hard to understand. It would have been good to be able to see all the groups at once on the tree. Liked the updates on research and the maps showing where specimens have been found, Could have gone into the geology a little more.

創建者 Guy M

2020年4月11日

There is a great deal of content in this course and as always the course materials are excellent. I would prefer at least two presenters to break up the style of the single presenter used. I find his presenting style quite hard. He sounds patronising when he introduces the quizzes and his pronunciation is at times rather odd. Phil Currie could teach him a thing or two.

創建者 DC

2018年6月22日

It's pretty good, though be prepared to be beaten to death with MANY often confusing and nearly unpronounceable taxonomic terms. Can't be helped I guess. Those who took the early vertebrate evolution course will be pleased to note that Mr. (Dr.?) Persons is a bit more subdued in this one with a bit less theatrical style.

創建者 Raena S

2017年8月31日

Very cheerful and concisely-speaking instructor! Although the course was vast in information to take it all in and could do better with more questions and quizzes. Very educative videos and data about ancient marine reptile palaentology. Beautiful course!

創建者 Ian A

2020年3月8日

This course is a great gateway into this fascinating part of our earth's history, I look forward to learning more from other courses that are offered and would highly recommend this course to others.

創建者 Robert P

2020年5月11日

Loved learning about these animals and learned a lot of things I didn't know already but the amount of video content each week was too much the theropod/bird class progressed in a much nicer manner.

創建者 Katherine M

2016年10月16日

Can be extremely complicated with all of the unfamiliar names, and I'd lose focus. As a result, I had a hard time keeping up. I'd recommend pausing and returning another day if you lose focus.

創建者 Stephanie V

2017年8月20日

Very informative and well presented. The videos could perhaps have been a little shorter. More videos of c. 15 mins are more readily digestible than fewer at c. 30 mins.

創建者 Brian D M

2016年6月9日

excellent course would love to see more on early crocodilians and turtles, I know turtles have a debated history but would be awesome to look at possible origins.

創建者 Marike S

2017年5月25日

Thank you for a wonderful course. Ancient Marine Reptiles isn't my main area of interest and I still enjoyed every second!

創建者 Kiran E

2021年4月17日

It was okay, could do better with explaining but still would recommend to anyone interested in paleontology.

創建者 Andres A

2017年10月24日

I would like more information about taxonomy an evolution. The couse focus mostly in the aquatic problem