Chevron Left
返回到 使用 MySQL 管理大数据

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 使用 MySQL 管理大数据 的評價和反饋

4.7
2,527 個評分
561 個審閱

課程概述

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

熱門審閱

YJ

Aug 20, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

SJ

Nov 06, 2016

It was an Awesome course. Really enjoyed doing all the exercises. Now I feel quite confident to write any queries.\n\nSpecial Thanks to Professor Jana Schaich Borg for teaching so wonderfully!!!!!

篩選依據:

526 - 使用 MySQL 管理大数据 的 544 個評論(共 544 個)

創建者 Max R

Dec 07, 2017

I brute forced my way through this class. Many new topics are shown in the exercises and not discussed. Some of the exercises have misleading (or incorrect) information which made me spin my head for a long long time. However... at the end of it I do understand SQL query formation pretty well. If I could go back in time, I'd force myself to take this class with a friend or partner instead of trying to go it alone.

創建者 Yifan G

Nov 15, 2016

there are so little video tutorials, and too many exercises without video instructions.

創建者 Christopher E

Sep 05, 2017

Managing big data with MySQL helped me learn SQL. That was my primary goal. It was thus valuable and met my needs. My secondary (a close second) was to pick up some skills regarding MySQL, which is a specific and distinct relational database management system (distinct from, say, Microsoft's version or from PostgreSQL). On this front I was disappointed. The course is taught through other interfaces, such as Jupyter and Teradata, and neither offers nor requires any exposure to MySQL. I therefore think the course should be renamed Managing big data with SQL; that is, 'MySQL' should be removed from the name. It is, as it stands, misleading to folks like me interested in specifically getting some exposure to and familiarity with MySQL and the minor-league database administrative tricks that would come with that exposure. Thanks for the chance to comment.

創建者 Jerry F

Nov 27, 2016

The course structure was well formatted. The order of the lessons and content presented made for learning intuitive. The follow along practice queries and end of lesson practice problems were also helpful interactives for the student.

However there were mistakes in the answer keys or practice problem prompts that became more frequent in the lessons towards the end of the course. This made it difficult to practice the more complicated material and queries. It was also a big time waster when as a student you were unsure whether you were answering the correct question and if so whether your answer was correct. It would also been helpful to have more open ended practice problems at the end of the course in addition to the set provided.

Finally I think this course would be better split into two parts. The first part should be geared towards querying data and focusing more on just pulling data and intermediate queries. The main audience would be analyst/data professionals that have privileges to pull data but not modify data. The second part of the course would be more useful to DBAs or professionals that have database admin privileges to insert/delete/modify data. I would also focus more heavily on database schemas in this second course relative to the first.

創建者 Haolei F

Mar 08, 2016

The video instruction are not as helpful as I wished. They were too brief, and all the learning end up with doing the exercises. The regular exercises and the quizzes use different database system, and it sometimes hard to transfer what you learn to the quizzes.

The pre-quiz exercises are more helpful imo, but no answer key is provided. Sometimes I am still confused even after passing the quiz.

創建者 Nimish K

Dec 19, 2016

reviewed. good course.

創建者 Richard H

Feb 25, 2016

too many issues with the DB's that needed to be accessed to complete the exams.

創建者 Justin F

Dec 09, 2016

This course provided a good introduction to SQL for me as a beginner and through challenging lessons forced me to learn SQL basics. After Week 3 however, I found that the level of difficulty increased steeply and not enough assistance was provided in the lessons to get through the course at a reasonable pace. In addition to providing answers to each week's exercises, further review of how the answer was obtained and the breakdown of the logic behind it would be helpful.

創建者 WenYu X

Jun 21, 2017

Good, difficult course.

Materials have errors from a long time ago and no one seems to be updating it. These errors are wasting students a lot of time. Mentors and staffs respond to posts in a polite and timely manner.

創建者 Jiahui B

Nov 29, 2017

It will be better to combine the lecture and code.

創建者 Hui Z

Apr 16, 2019

too much exercise

創建者 TE Z

Aug 31, 2019

the instructions of the final assignment seems a littble bit confusing. Many have reported the issues but the staffs didn't respond in time and the materials haven't been updated for a period.

創建者 Aleksander W N

Mar 07, 2019

Week 4 excercises are hosted on an external server which (at least for me) was impossible to be accessed. I have tried to extend the timout in my browser but it still would not work! This seems to be an inssue to many students yet nobody has looked into fixing this issue.

創建者 Stewart A

May 29, 2016

Errors in the material made it difficult to get through. All past discussions on the forum are gone, making it difficult to review posts by classmates.

創建者 Arash H

Sep 10, 2016

This course is too much doggy! Please do not use Coursera for advertising your friends´companies, or at least learn how to do it a little more professionally to look really relevant! This psychiatric lady also seems to be sexits. Looking at differences between pictures with a girl and pictures with a boy is really abominable and shows an intentional discrimination and racism. It is really shameful.

創建者 Michael A

Oct 16, 2016

Unprecedented high speaking speed.

創建者 Bertrand J d

Apr 06, 2016

The technical support of this course is just terrible: just like many many other students (see the Discussion forums), I have experienced serious difficulties to access the databases platforms we need to learn and to complete our assignments. I can only echo the innumerable complains from my co-students about the lack of efficient support and technical reliability of this course; many of us are very unhappy about this, especially as they have paid for this course ... and what is Coursera doing about it, by the way?

My advice: beware before enrolling in this course and even in this entire specialization, and search for alternative options (there are many, not only on Coursera but also on EdX and others ...)!!!

創建者 Enric C P

Feb 14, 2016

It is very interesting, but we have to face problems with Teradata, I have not been able even to log in, and a lot of students are in the same situation, and the problem persists, even in the duedate of the test.

創建者 Ryan D

Aug 18, 2019

The course content is great and I love how you get to use real, large data sets to practice queries. However, this course is ultimately costing much more than I anticipated due to technical issues, relating to issues accessing the Terradata exercises and juypter notebooks.

This makes it difficult to plan your week ahead of time, and I found myself rushing through exercises the moment I found issues were fixed to stay on pace with the course. If they had a better handle on the technical issues and better communicated those issues and progress fixing them with the students, I'd recommend this course.