Chevron Left
返回到 Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

學生對 斯坦福大学 提供的 Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms 的評價和反饋

4.8
4,629 個評分
901 條評論

課程概述

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

熱門審閱

KS
2018年9月13日

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
2020年5月26日

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

篩選依據:

851 - Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms 的 875 個評論(共 884 個)

創建者 Thành N K

2019年6月29日

very hard

創建者 Prachi M

2017年6月25日

Excellent

創建者 E.Naveen K

2016年11月30日

Great

創建者 Bianca D

2019年1月26日

Took me way more than 7 hours/week to go through course materials and complete the problem sets and programming assignments. Closer to 10. In general the estimates for how much time each assignment takes is way off (often claiming on the order of minutes, when the reality is for most students (myself included) it is likely on the order of hours).

That said, the programming assignments were challenging and fun (especially trying to do them in JavaScript), and I feel much more comfortable with recursion and Big-Oh.

The forums for the current session are not very active, but there are a lot of old posts from past offerings of the course, and I found that most of the time others had similar questions to me.

The textbook was helpful, but it pretty much has the same content as the lectures with maybe some extra practice and challenge problems. Unfortunately not all solutions to those problems are available, which can be very frustrating (I noticed at least one practice problem with no solution was used on the final exam, so that’s probably why...).

This course is a little more academic than practical in my opinion as a software engineer, but you have to start somewhere.

創建者 TAI C W

2020年1月1日

The idea and the content are excellent in terms of mathematic analysis. I would recommend people who want to do software engineering or computer science to pick up this course. However, I couldn't give stars higher than three because the videos aren't cut well; After week 2, a lot of written explanations in the video don't follow the audio; i.e., The teacher speaks faster than his writing. That is extremely confusing, and I have to go back to the lecture and read the subtitles back and forth a lot of times, to fully absorb the ideas. Otherwise, it's an outstanding lesson, and I recommend students to download the optional textbooks to get a better understanding.

創建者 ALI H

2020年7月19日

for programming assignment please ask two question for each assignment

for example you ask to count no. of comparison in quicksort contain 10000 distinct integer. I urge mr. professor to provide this question as an example with just 20 integer only along with answer. So that we can check our program answer with this example and after then we will solve it with 10000 integer.

Thanks for this informative explanation and i m happy to learn other part also.

Sorry for my bad english.

I dont know wether my feedback is right or wrong

but Its just a humble request from a student to a teacher

創建者 Peter C

2017年2月12日

I was glad to get exposure to famous algorithms through this class, but I don't feel like I really developed an intuition for reasoning about their runtime. The class was challenging, but mostly for the wrong reasons. I spent more time and energy pouring over the answers to tricky quizzes and having to implement algorithms exactly as described in the lecture notes rather than really truly learning. It also took me much longer than the 4-8 hours per week advertised to complete each week.

創建者 asem a

2019年10月10日

the course is great at the level of information , but has some issues:

1 - The sound of videos and instructor is not good.

2 - Some times the lectures were boring and not entertaining at all .

3 - you have to do an extra extra extra work to understand the related materials due to bad illustration during the course .

4 - if your math background is not ok or outdated don't rely on the course materials or the instructor illustration because they are not good

創建者 Alex P

2016年11月7日

It would be nice to see more examples especially were we have too many formulas. I still confused with probability.

Also hadwritting isnt really helping. I am most of the time decoding scripts. In addition he is reading the formula at one moment and in around 3-4 seconds it appears on the screen. So I kind of listening him while trying to read what is happening on the screen. horrible experience.

創建者 Riqiang W

2018年1月17日

This is not very beginner-friendly course, and what made it worse is that all the videos are out of sync (I don't know why this problem has not been addressed for 5 years), and the instructor's speaking manner is not easy to follow for a foreigner. Also a lot of the subtitles are just wrong. Otherwise a great course, if you keep on it you can learn a lot.

創建者 伊洛

2017年12月23日

I do believe that feedbacks are very important during the learning section. Without feedbacks I would not understand whether I am doing ok or not. The Quiz and Homework would not handout the answer key and explanation after I have done. How am I suppose to be successful with the class if I don't understand which part I should strengthen.

創建者 Sheng B

2019年1月28日

This is a good course. I recommend everyone to take it. There are many details useful for you to learn. But it is not friendly. The words the professor used are not easy to follow for a non-native English, the way the exercises are designed is not reasonable. It could have been better.

創建者 Mike L

2017年5月9日

The professor is very good. However, pictures and graphics mean a thousand words. These lectures rely too much on words. It makes it how to visualize the concepts. Hope to see more pictures. Animation will be the best.

創建者 Mohammadmahdi H

2020年12月17日

The bad handwriting of the instructor is not a trivial issue as he pretends. He also talks very fast that makes it hard for people whose native language is not English to follow.

創建者 Joern K

2018年8月9日

Seems a bit dated, videos are reused from older courses and sometimes don't fit well together anymore. Content is great and lots of fun to work through.

創建者 Daniel Y

2020年11月7日

This course requires mathematical backgrounds. The professor talks super fast and sometimes he makes you asleep..

創建者 Hardik A

2018年12月22日

Great course theory wise, but the programming problem is unrelated and gives too little practice

創建者 David A

2020年10月19日

Audio out of sync, sometimes material climbs in difficulty without the climb in explanation imo.

創建者 Neelesh K

2020年4月25日

The explanation could be better. The hand writing must be improved.

創建者 Kamil K

2017年10月5日

Not practical enough, too academical approach for me.

創建者 safa k

2020年12月17日

I wish the lecture videos were shorter and clearer

創建者 Wai C C

2020年8月22日

Too few examples but too many verbal explanations.

創建者 Yash R

2020年4月23日

The course goes too fast and it skips the basics.

創建者 Nishtha

2020年6月20日

i want to unenroll in this course. how to do so

創建者 Mubin A

2020年3月2日

concepts explanation need to improve