Chevron Left
返回到 Age of Cathedrals

學生對 耶鲁大学 提供的 Age of Cathedrals 的評價和反饋

4.7
396 個評分
153 條評論

課程概述

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

熱門審閱

CL
2019年1月7日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

JK
2021年4月13日

Really enjoyed it. The information and way it was presented was very interesting. I would even do it again as it had a lot of information in it...cant wait to visit the cathedrals we studied about.

篩選依據:

126 - Age of Cathedrals 的 150 個評論(共 154 個)

創建者 francisco v r

2020年9月6日

nice

創建者 Claudette D

2019年8月27日

T

創建者 Leonie K

2018年1月14日

.

創建者 Harry M

2020年7月24日

The "Age of Cathedrals" course was a very good introduction to Gothic architecture in general and Gothic cathedrals in particular. The professor obviously knows his subject matter and was mostly able to convey the material in an interesting manner. However, there was less personal interaction than there could have been. These were simply well thought out, well prepared and well delivered lectured but the presentations lacked spark and enthusiasm and humor....Which is not as much a criticism as a statement of fact. Considering that Notre Dame in Paris has been decimated by a fire, the course needs to update the course to at least mention that Notre Dame, as we knew it, is no longer. Even a reference to a well constructed video on the Notre Dame fire on the National Geographic Channel would help bring this course up to the present.

創建者 Alan G

2021年4月15日

Although an enjoyable course, it didn't quite live up to what I was expecting. probably more on the architecture and less on the biblical quotations, I know it is about cathedrals, would have been more enjoyable. I also felt that the qiuizzes/peer reviews did not seem to be in sync with the relevant week's lecture.

And as for peer reviews and this is a constant bugbear with me on Coursera courses, why have them?

創建者 Debbie B

2020年5月15日

I enjoyed the material and learned quite a bit about this time period. I am sure the developers of this particular course do not read the reviews. BUT would someone tell the developers, apparently not for the first time, that the essay question for Week 7 does not have anything to do with the course materials for that week. It is a waste of time to write an essay to a question that has already been asked.

創建者 Kate S

2017年12月24日

Great course! I really enjoyed the first 3 weeks and the detailed information on the history of cathedrals and how they were built. Instead of so much interpretation of stained glass windows, panel by panel and scene by scene, I would've appreciated a comparison of different cathedrals in different parts of Europe. But over all a good foundation for history-oriented travelers to France!

創建者 Joao C B

2020年7月21日

I liked the course and enjoyed many chapiters of it. But, I think that the Urban Phenomena's week could focus on more interesting topics than Peter Abelard and sexual behavior - why not, for example, St. Thomas Aquinas, or the guild's system? The suggested readings are not very specific too: entire works with hundreds of pages.

創建者 Catherine S

2018年4月15日

A little heavy on French history, but very interesting. I’m not a fan of peer reviews, and this has plenty of them, but at least the grades were a combination of quizzes and peer reviews.

創建者 Sharon M

2021年1月28日

A good course! I was hoping for more in-depth information on the actual design and construction of the cathedrals, but a lot was covered in the course and it was well worth it.

創建者 Andrés B

2020年6月2日

Un curso IDEAL para quien está fascinado por el período gótico y desea conocer más profundamente de la época y de sus construcciones y su vida

創建者 Stanislava F

2017年11月29日

Very interesting, but I would prefer more animated lectures and more details about the structure, since it is very important

創建者 Jo N

2018年2月23日

A most enjoyable course - I've learned a lot, some of which I never really wanted to know.

創建者 Oleg P

2021年4月4日

Great overview on history of a wonderfull piece of medieval culture — gothic cathedrals.

創建者 jordi o j

2018年4月22日

learnt a lot of things about medieval cathedrals, specially from saint Louis life.

創建者 Alexandra C

2018年6月13日

Lots of peer assessment but a very informative and enjoyable course!

創建者 SJ T

2018年1月25日

great crash course on Gothic cathedrals and French history.

創建者 Olofin J P

2020年6月29日

LECTURER WAS PHENOMANAL

VIDEO PRESENTATION WAS EXITING

創建者 Joanna S

2018年6月28日

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting.

創建者 George P

2020年5月2日

Very interesting course and I love the teacher

創建者 Jéssica M

2020年12月14日

Very good!

創建者 Ygor K B

2019年6月6日

Very good.

創建者 Fatosin J F

2020年7月8日

Good

創建者 Merete M

2017年12月19日

I have participated in another course at Yale, and there were not the many faults as in this course (wrong answers in quizzes). I find that questions in the essays were very different from the titles, and I find the questions in the four essays were very alike. I would have liked to write about "Biblia Pauperum"! Too many videos were more guide material than university level. Anyway it was interesting and I will look at the cathedrals in another way. Thank you.

創建者 Susan A

2018年1月28日

Mostly interesting overview of the building and architecture of a few of the great cathedrals, with a lot of sidebars about the lives of the kings and saints.