Chevron Left
返回到 Advanced Neurobiology I

學生對 北京大学 提供的 Advanced Neurobiology I 的評價和反饋

4.1
435 個評分
112 條評論

課程概述

Hello everyone! Welcome to advanced neurobiology! Neuroscience is a wonderful branch of science on how our brain perceives the external world, how our brain thinks, how our brain responds to the outside of the world, and how during disease or aging the neuronal connections deteriorate. We’re trying to understand the molecular, cellular nature and the circuitry arrangement of how nervous system works. Through this course, you'll have a comprehensive understanding of basic neuroanatomy, electral signal transduction, movement and several diseases in the nervous system. This advanced neurobiology course is composed of 2 parts (Advanced neurobiology I and Advanced neurobiology II, and the latter will be online later). They are related to each other on the content but separate on scoring and certification, so you can choose either or both. It’s recommended that you take them sequentially and it’s great if you’ve already acquired a basic understanding of biology. Thank you for joining us!...

熱門審閱

DC
2020年8月16日

The information on this course is so useful and helped me to understand the brain functions and many process.

LM
2017年7月3日

really nice course to understand the principles and knowledge of the neurobiology,

篩選依據:

76 - Advanced Neurobiology I 的 100 個評論(共 110 個)

創建者 Mohamed G M S

2016年4月26日

before discussing genetic mutations occurred in Alzheimer disease that mentioned when discussing AIS, i think some refreshment about protein synthesis and the normal pattern that if disturbed by certain ways as mutations causes particular diseases.

some arrangements of material needed to prevent information overlapping

interesting courses, go on

thanks for your efforts dear professors

創建者 Tamara L

2017年5月28日

The teaching technique of using past research to explain how different molecular mechanisms at the synapse were discovered in order to understand their function is excellent. For an English speaking Westerner, however, the lectures were difficult to interpret and the transcripts were not helpful.

創建者 ILAYDA A

2020年11月22日

subtitles in English were not really not and I was sometimes hard to understand instructor. Other than that, course was really teaching lots of things, especially second part was beneficial, not the anatomy part.

創建者 Adriana V V

2016年8月2日

So far the topics are very interesting but the accent of the teacher is sooo difficult to follow and distracts me! Also, she is looking down to read all the time and this doesn't reflect her knowledge.

創建者 Anushka K

2020年9月12日

The course syllabus was great however the teachers failed to do justice to the course. The quiz was irrelevant to what was taught.

創建者 Navneet

2019年8月23日

Although the topics and course framework was interesting but i didn't like the instruction that much.

創建者 Soumeen J

2021年3月3日

Download pdfs must be revised. It is not matching the lecture.

PDFs has to be better edited.

創建者 Sofia

2020年3月15日

Lectors don't speak English good enough. But It probably is good enough for Chinese

創建者 Tracy W

2018年1月19日

I enjoyed this course but found the male lecturer hard to understand.

創建者 CAROLINA R V

2020年5月19日

It wasn't clear, but I learned a lot.

創建者 Camilo H

2021年1月10日

As other users have mentioned the course lacks the expected quality. I´d like to give as description as to why this is.

First, The first three modules are given by proffessor Yan Zhang, she seems to be reading a text that she has just seen for the first time, makes many mistakes, and even contradicts herself at some points, it´s obvious that she posseses the knowledge, but unfortunatly it´s also obvious that´s the first time she saw the paper she was reading, she even seems to be surprised at some points. I think the university could have tried a second or third shot when filming the classes, instead of just presenting the first shot with all its mistakes.

Second, the course is classified as requiring an intermidiate level, I´m a psychologist with great interest in neurosciences I´ve done other neuroscience courses ( the three EdX courses on nueroscience) so I thought I would classify as an intermidiate level student. To be honest throughout the whole course many times I saw videos talking about themes I had studied in the past, and every time I thought to myself " the only reason I´m understanding is because I already know what they are talking about, If I didn´t know the subject the explanation given in this course wouldn´t had sufficed". And so, when I was faced with themes I had never studied before, for example the role of calcium in the creation of new NMDA receptors in the post synaptic membrane, I found myself completely lost. I had to go to other resources to find proper explanations. Two things surprised me about this. First, the amount of users mentioning the same problems as I was having was astonishing, I just had to go to the forums to see every question I had had already been asked multiple times, at the beginning I thought I wasn´t paying proper attention, but seeing this, made it obvious, the videos weren´t clear. The good thing about this is that in the forums you will easily find external resources that explain the subjects properly. The second thing that surprised me was the fact that this so complex subjects that I wasn´t understanding, weren´t that complex at all, and with some papers, videos or even explanations from other users I could easily understand what the teachers were trying to explain.

Third, similar to what happens with the first three modules, were in doesn´t look like they placed much effort in recording a proper video, just went with the first try, its similar with the other 5 modules. These modules on the other hand are videos of professor Yulong Li dictating a class. Once again the audio is not very clear and the subtitles don´t help that much, they are automatically generated, so in every video you will frequently find the INAUDIBLE word, or words wrongly subtitled, I think every time professor Li said Voltage gated, the translation read “wattage”. On the other hand the quizzes, in some I found very tricky but interesting questions, in one I found a direct contradiction with what professor Zhang said, and in others, specially towards the end I thought I had spaced out of the classes, the questions they were asking, I had absolutely no idea, just to find out that some questions corresponded to information of modules that hadn´t been studied yet, so I was trying to answer questions I didn´t understand because they were wrongly placed.

There is no doubt I learned a lot with this course, a lot. But I did so through external sources. The course should be the source of learning, but in this case the course gives you the subjects you should study and then you go to other sources. I learned I had to learn about the role of the SNARE complex in a deeper manner, and I did so with other videos, the same goes for many other themes studied. To finish, it just looks as the Pekin university didn´t have a second look at this course to try an correct any mistakes, ( there is even a class were professor Li says to camera, while talking about the Nobel prizes, “edit that out”, not even that they took out of the videos, did they actually do any editing? I think Pekin university has to check a lot of this course before offering in a platform as coursera. That being said, and reading other feedbacks I will take the advanced neuro biology II course, knowing I will learn a lot, and hopping I do so with the course and not through external sources.

創建者 ELENA M

2017年9月17日

Hy

I just finished THE INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY -UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO.

Till now I can say that the professor from PEKING UNIVERSITY needs badly to improve her teaching skills.

Why?

- she does not speak with confidence

- no eye contact almost 99 % with the camera (we the students) - she is looking down in her laptop ... almost all the time

where is no slide in the right side, she is looking either left or right

there is no emotion, no excitement delivered by the professor

no examples about what she is presenting in context

no photo of historic people she is talking about - just lines and many words (F,J. GALL)

- images/ slides are passing very rapid

- instead of us looking to her standing (she can sit to be more comfortable for example) I would like to see the slided with information

she can see how to use BETTER the MOOC software for making these videos - she needs to take example from other teachers that have 4.5 + rating -

- she can use the example of professor STEVE JOORDANS - amazing style, charisma, way of explaining

- all these are CONSTRUCTIVE comments

- no comment for her English is just - the way she speaks is very difficult to follow - she is MONOTONE no pause no diction ... very hard to keep people interested

- the slides are not easy to download from THE OUTLOOK live with the credentials - this should be uploaded on COURSERA website

this is an example of others with the same issue:

https://www.coursera.org/learn/advanced-neurobiology1/discussions/forums/DMOIOvU5EeWdIhI-GrEcAw/threads/99gY45gNEeaUZA6quzxRvg

- no ORIENTATION TO THE COURSE about link ressources

THANK YOU

創建者 Ishmael W

2019年7月19日

I don't want to be mean to the instructor, but all she's doing is reading off of slides that should be downloadable without me having to send an email. Her accent is good, but the way she speaks is like nails scratching a chalkboard. Also, she's incredibly mono-toned which makes her speech dreadfully boring. She doesn't go into much depth - she just says "This thing here" and "this also here." I wish she'd just speak in her native language because I feel like that would be more helpful for the Mandarin students and I'd rather just read subtitles anyways. I hope another course related to neuroscience comes out onto here because I'm really interested in this subject and want an instructor that has a good presentation and goes further in depth than this one.

創建者 Mike H

2017年2月16日

I greatly enjoyed the material presented in this course and while I do not doubt the proficiency of it's creators the poor standard of spoken English of its two main presenters prevents me from recommending it to colleagues. As another reviewer has remarked, their English may be quite sufficient for day to day use with other experts but for inadequate for teaching students who are hearing many technical terms for the first time. The transcripts are no better and also contain many mistakes. I believe that this course should be stopped until these problems are corrected.

創建者 Srushti B

2020年9月27日

Poorly designed course. Instructors have a lot of knowledge about the topic, but unfortunately isnt well organized or well-communicated. Transcript for the videos is poor. Quiz questions are messed up and unrelated to the section content for most weeks. Many other learners have pointed out problems with this course, seems like coursera is just ignoring it. Can't believe this course is rated with 4 stars, it barely deserves 2.

創建者 Renaldas Z

2017年6月20日

Course contains very interesting information, but presentation is problematic - if transcripts wouldn't contain that many mistakes, it would've been OK.

Course assumes that students have more knowledge of microbiology than neuro science.

At least for me beginning of this course was more interesting, than several last weeks.

創建者 Yael H

2020年9月1日

It is difficult to understand the English because of the accent, and also not being transmitted interestingly.

創建者 Basel

2016年5月2日

Boring and can't make sense of the presentation / language and idiom use.

創建者 HERAIZ-BEKKIS D

2017年2月27日

The professor is reading long texts. It is not really attractive.

創建者 Sara

2017年9月3日

Really hard to follow/understand the lessons.

創建者 Paul K M

2017年11月7日

T

創建者 Ashley M

2020年4月15日

This course should be taught in Chinese, not English. While I appreciate the effort, and the content is useful, the structure of the course is very disorganized. Information is listed rather than explained, making it very difficult to draw connections, which is VERY important in teaching something as complicated as neurobiology. For example, the entire first lecture is the instructor showing diagrams of the brain's sulci/gyri and simply listing what the diagram shows. Ideas are not expanded upon; many times an important point is simply skipped. If you cannot understand the instructor (who is not fluent enough in English to be teaching this course in it), the notes that have been transcribed are inaccurate, i.e. words misspelled, poor syntax. I'm quite disappointed in this, as it has the potential to be a great course and I was very eager to learn from a foreign institution.

創建者 Jonny G

2017年4月10日

This course is a discreditation to coursera, and it's low standards are appalling. From a purely certificate based perspective, the only requirement to complete the course are completely the quizzes. They are short, and can easily be googled, or the slides can be downloaded and the answers simply CRTL+F for keyboards. There is zero need to watch the lectures ( at least for the first 2 weeks).

The lectures are terrible themselves. The English is beyond horrible, and I don't understand the modern culture of having teachers teach in languages they can't speak. It is purely reading off the slides in any case, word for word. I learned more about the basics in neuroscience in a 20 minutes lecture from a separate course, "Computational Neuroscience" than the entire first week here.

If you actually want to learn neuroscience, check out HardvardX's intro course.

創建者 dr

2017年3月22日

This is the worst, most pathetic course I have taken online. If Peking University believes this is their best - I'll not be taking another course with them. The instructor's command of the English language is awful and the sub-titles are some help, but not a lot. Instructors are just talking faces up front - they cannot teach. They may be great in the lab, but keep them out of the classroom. I toughed out the course, but it only got worse. I had originally signed up for parts 1 and 2 of this course. Canceled part 2. The use of slides that are not clear / too small and not on the screen long enough to digest the information did not help. Do yourself a favor - avoid this course. As a side note - I have taken in excess of 25 online courses, this was the most painful.

創建者 Dani J

2019年6月11日

I work with international students all day and have done for years, but this was painful to listen to. I really appreciate the effort made to present a course in another language, but I just couldn't follow along with this course. The obviously strained and slow pronunciation was so distracting. In addition, I couldn't make sense of even the simplest explanations as complex concepts were just referred to as "things" and "go like this" when we often could not see the accompanying hand gestures. The same thing has been explained in another course, and made sense right away. I highly advise anyone considering this course to take the course by either the University of Chicago or Duke University instead as I've tried them both out, and they are great.